Are heated gloves and socks HSA or FSA eligible?
One of the most common questions that reaches this site, and one almost nobody answers properly. Here is the actual IRS language, what it means for heated clothing specifically, and the one document that changes the answer.
By Scooter M. · Published September 21, 2026
How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

Usually not by default, and sometimes yes with documentation. Heated gloves and socks are ordinary clothing in the IRS's eyes, which excludes them — unless they are used primarily to alleviate a diagnosed condition such as Raynaud's or neuropathy. In that case a letter of medical necessity from your clinician is what turns a jacket-shop purchase into a reimbursable medical expense. Ask your plan administrator before you buy.
The rule that actually decides it
Skip the shopping blogs and read the source. IRS Publication 502 defines what counts:
Read that second sentence slowly, because it is the whole answer. Gloves and socks are unambiguously "ordinarily used for personal, living, or family purposes" — they are clothing. So the default is that they do not qualify. The exception is the clause after "unless": if the item is used primarily to prevent or alleviate a disability or illness, it can come back in.
Publication 502 also rules out the fuzzy middle: "They don't include expenses that are merely beneficial to general health, such as vitamins or a vacation." Being cold is not an illness. Having Raynaud's phenomenon is.
What that means for heated clothing, specifically
| Situation | Likely status | What it turns on |
|---|---|---|
| Heated gloves because your commute is cold | Not eligible | Ordinary personal use — the default in Publication 502 |
| Heated gloves for diagnosed Raynaud's | Possibly eligible | The "used primarily to alleviate" clause, evidenced by a letter of medical necessity |
| Heated socks for diagnosed neuropathy | Possibly eligible | Same clause, same evidence |
| Arthritis compression gloves | Commonly listed as eligible | Marketed and coded as a medical product rather than apparel |
| A heated jacket for winter | Not eligible | Clothing, general comfort, no diagnosis in the picture |
Eligibility is decided by your plan administrator applying the IRS rule to your circumstances, not by this page and not by a product page. The contrast in the fourth row is the useful one: the same hand, a different product class, a different default.
That fourth row is worth dwelling on. Arthritis gloves — the compression kind — are routinely listed as reimbursable across HSA and FSA eligibility lists, with Lively stating that "Arthritis glove reimbursement is eligible with a flexible spending account (FSA), health savings account (HSA) and health reimbursement arrangement (HRA)" and not eligible with limited-purpose or dependent-care accounts. Heated gloves generally are not on those lists at all. The difference is not that one works better. It is that one is sold as a medical product and the other is sold as clothing.
If you have arthritis rather than Raynaud's, that distinction may point you at a different product entirely — though our read of the clinical guidance on compression for cold-sensitive hands is on gloves for Raynaud's, and it is not a straightforward win.
The letter of medical necessity
For dual-purpose items — things with both an everyday use and a medical one — the mechanism that bridges the gap is a letter of medical necessity, usually shortened to LMN. Fidelity states the practice plainly: "Some expenses require a letter of medical necessity from a health care provider in order to be eligible expenses." Lively's eligibility list carries the same note, that "Some items are only eligible with a prescription (Rx) or letter of medical necessity (LMN)."
A useful LMN is specific. It generally names the diagnosed condition, names the item, and explains why the item is being used to treat or alleviate that condition rather than for comfort. Your clinician writes it; your administrator decides whether it satisfies them.
- Ask your plan administrator first, before buying. They will tell you whether they will consider the category at all and what documentation they want.
- Ask your clinician for the letter, naming the condition and the item. A rheumatologist treating Raynaud's or a podiatrist treating neuropathy is the natural author.
- Keep the itemized receipt, showing the product, not just a card charge total.
- Buy the thing the letter describes. A letter about heated gloves does not obviously cover a heated jacket.
- Expect to substantiate it. Debit-card purchases in this category will often be flagged for documentation because the merchant is not coded as medical.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.
| # | Product | Best for | Energy | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove LinersThe most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated … | Keeping the gloves you already own | 16.3 Wh | $107.99View on Amazon |
| 2 | SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski MittensPhysics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets… | The coldest hands on the list | 16.3 Wh | $109.99View on Amazon |
| 3 | SNOW DEER Upgraded Heated SocksThe plain button version of the same sock, and for most buyers the right one: the app adds convenience, not warmth, an… | The cheapest sock worth owning | 16.3 Wh | $79.99View on Amazon |
| 4 | SAVIOR HEAT Heated Socks with App ControlApp control sounds like a gimmick until you are laced into a ski boot and the only alternative is undoing everything t… | Adjusting heat without taking your boot off | 16.3 Wh | Check price on Amazon |
| 5 | TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperat… | The only heated glove here that publishes watt-hours | 22.2 Wh | $79.99View on Amazon |
#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
The most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated glove for anyone who has to actually use their hands.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand
- Thickness
- Liner — fits inside a work or ski glove
- Touchscreen
- Yes, per the listing
- Heat zones
- Back of hand and fingers
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Hand wash with the battery out
On wattage: No published wattage. Small packs and a small element area, so the runtime spread between settings is wide.
On the pack: Liner packs in this class are 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh. The capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listing rather than on the glove listing.
What we like
- Fits under gloves you already trust, so you keep your grip and your dexterity
- Cheapest route into heated hands by a wide margin
- Packs are small enough to live in a coat pocket
What we do not
- Smallest packs here — about 16 Wh a hand, and the arithmetic on that is unforgiving
- No wind or water protection of their own
- The fit under a tight glove can be a squeeze
Who this suits
Trades workers, photographers, anyone who has to do something with their fingers in the cold.
Who should skip it
You want long runtime. This is the smallest energy budget on the site and it shows.
Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens
Physics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets more warmth out of the same watt-hours than a glove does.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh
- Capacity conflict
- SAVIOR's own Tech Specs says 3,000 mAh instead
- Coverage
- Full hand including palm, per SAVIOR
- Shell
- Waterproof and windproof; 100D twill with laminated coating
- Format
- Mitten
- Heat zones
- "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" from "Carbon fiber heating elements", with "Added palm heating" as well as the back of the hand, per SAVIOR
- Settings
- Three, published as Low 104-113°F, Medium 122-131°F and High 131-149°F
- Care
- "Hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning", per SAVIOR
On wattage: Not published, and barely derivable — this is the worst-documented product this site recommends first anywhere. SAVIOR's own page gives THREE different runtime sets and TWO different capacities. Taking the hours above against 16.3 Wh gives about 6.5 W high, 2.7 W medium and 2.0 W low; swap in the Tech Specs hours (2-3 / 5-6 / 10-12) or the 3,000 mAh figure and the implied low-setting draw moves between about 1.4 W and 3.7 W. A 2.7x spread, entirely from one manufacturer page.
On the pack: 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh — which is the figure in SAVIOR's own body copy and matches the replacement-pack listing. SAVIOR's Tech Specs block on the SAME page says "7.4V 3000mAh battery" instead, which would be 22.2 Wh. We use the smaller figure because it is the one two independent sources agree on, and we flag the disagreement rather than averaging it.
What we like
- Mitten geometry keeps fingers warmer at any given power level
- Better for circulation-limited hands than a fingered glove
- Same pack family as the rest of the SAVIOR line
What we do not
- You cannot do anything precise in them
- SAVIOR's own page contradicts itself on capacity (2,200 vs 3,000 mAh) and gives three different runtime sets
- No wattage published, and the runtime conflict makes it hard to derive one
- Getting them on and off around a pole strap is a fiddle
Who this suits
Skiers and anyone whose hands go numb regardless of what they wear.
Who should skip it
You need to hold a tool, a camera or a phone.
Spec sources: Savior Heat — Heated Ski Mittens, the brand's own product page ("Three Adjustable Heating Settings"; "3 heat levels (Low: 104-113°F, Medium:122-131 °F, High: 131- 149°F)"; "Carbon fiber heating elements" with "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" and "Added palm heating helps warm every finger, fingertip, palm, and back of hand"; "Waterproof and windproof materials"; velvet lining and "100D twill fabric with laminated coating" outer; "hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning"; "Free 1-Year Extended Warranty"; product named "S66E Classic Heated Winter Mittens". THE PAGE CONTRADICTS ITSELF: the body copy says "7.4V 2200mAh rechargeable battery power" while the Tech Specs section says "7.4V 3000mAh battery", and it gives THREE different runtime sets — Heating Performance "High: 149°F / 65°C | Up to 2.5H Runtime", "Medium: 131°F / 55°C | Up to 6H Runtime", "Low: 113°F / 45°C | Up to 8H Runtime"; Tech Specs "High: 2-3 hours", "Medium: 5-6 hours", "Low: 10-12 hours"; and the FAQ "about 2–3 hours on high, 4–5 hours on medium, and 6–10 hours on low") · Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

SNOW DEER Upgraded Heated Socks
The plain button version of the same sock, and for most buyers the right one: the app adds convenience, not warmth, and the energy budget is identical either way.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per sock
- Control
- Button
- Sizes
- S through XL
- Heat zones
- Toe box
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery out
On wattage: No published wattage.
What we like
- Same element and same pack as the app version at a lower price
- One less thing to pair, charge and troubleshoot
- Replacement packs are inexpensive
What we do not
- The button is unreachable inside a laced boot
- Three fixed settings only
- No wattage published
Who this suits
Anyone in loose boots or waders who can reach their own cuffs.
Who should skip it
You ski. You will not be able to reach the button.
Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Socks with App Control
App control sounds like a gimmick until you are laced into a ski boot and the only alternative is undoing everything to press a button you cannot reach.
#ad No live price available, so we show none. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V per sock
- Control
- Bluetooth app plus cuff button
- Fabric
- Carbon-fiber element in a knit sock
- Heat zones
- Toe box
- Settings
- Three, with temperatures published: 104-113°F, 122-131°F and 131-149°F
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: Not published, but derivable — which is the whole reason this sock leads the page. 16.3 Wh across the published 2.5-3 h on high is about 5.4-6.5 W, across 5-6 h on medium about 2.7-3.3 W, and across 9-10 h on low about 1.6-1.8 W. The hours in the table are the low end of each published range, so the implied draws are the upper bound. A smooth descending ladder from one pack size is what a calculated spec sheet looks like rather than an invented one.
On the pack: 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per foot — about 16.3 Wh. SAVIOR publishes both numbers, which is more than Lenz does for a sock costing four times as much.
What we like
- Adjusting from your pocket is the single most useful feature on a heated sock
- Finer control than three fixed settings, which stretches the runtime
- Still works as a normal button sock if the phone dies
What we do not
- Bluetooth is one more thing to fail in the cold
- Phone batteries drain faster in the cold too
- No wattage published
Who this suits
Skiers, and anyone whose boots make the cuff button unreachable.
Who should skip it
You do not want an app on your phone for a pair of socks. That is a reasonable position.
Spec sources: Savior Heat — App-controlled heated socks product page ("7.4V 2200mAh battery"; High "2.5-3 hours" at "131-149°F", Medium "5-6 hours" at "122-131°F", Low "9-10 hours" at "104-113°F"; "One-Tap App Connection", "Live Battery Status Tracking", "Control Gloves, Socks & Apparel"; "the sock button for quick outdoor control"; "Heats up within 3 seconds"; COOLMAX fabric, carbon fiber elements; "Free 1-Year Extended Warranty"; the app itself is never named) · Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)
TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperature and a runtime for all three settings, which lets you check the claim instead of taking it.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 22.2 Wh
- Maker's stated energy
- 22.2 Wh per hand
- Pack
- 7.4 V, two supplied
- Shell
- Seven-layer, 3M insulation, 140 GSM water-resistant coating
- Claims
- All three settings, with temperatures
- Heat zones
- Not specified by TIDEWE beyond the heated glove body
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Not stated by TIDEWE
On wattage: No wattage published, but with three claims and a real watt-hour figure the draw can be inverted three ways instead of guessed once. The high-setting claim implies about 6.3 W per hand at the optimistic end of the range and 8.9 W at the pessimistic end.
On the pack: 22.2 Wh at 7.4 V is 3,000 mAh, one pack per hand. Publishing the figure in watt-hours rather than milliamp-hours is the honest way round, because watt-hours is the number that actually compares across voltages.
What we like
- Publishes energy in watt-hours, which nothing else in this category does
- A temperature AND a runtime for every setting, so the claim can be inverted
- Seven-layer shell with 3M insulation does real work before the element is on
- Two packs in the box rather than one
What we do not
- No wattage published, so the draw is still inferred rather than read
- TIDEWE does not state where the elements sit inside the glove
- No published care instructions
- Bulkier than a liner, which matters if you need to work a trigger or a zip
Who this suits
A hunter or an angler who is stationary in the cold and wants a claim that can be checked.
Who should skip it
You need dexterity more than heat. A liner under your own glove keeps the feel that a shell this thick removes.
Spec sources: TIDEWE — heated hunting gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh, with a temperature and runtime published for all three settings)
What makes a purchase easier to document
If you are going down this route, some products make the paperwork less painful than others, and it has nothing to do with how warm they are.
- A product that names the condition in its own listing is easier to tie to a letter than one sold purely as ski gear. Several heated glove and sock listings mention Raynaud's or arthritis explicitly.
- An itemized receipt from a mainstream retailer beats a marketplace invoice that lists only a seller name and a total.
- One clear purchase beats a bundle. A single pair of heated gloves is easier to match to a letter than a winter-kit order with four items on it.
- Keep the specification page. If your administrator asks what the item is, a maker's page describing the product in plain terms is a better answer than a marketplace title full of keywords.
The energy figures, for completeness
Watt-hours, and what they buy
Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.
| Product | Capacity | Volts | Energy | Ceiling draw | Shortest runtime | Implied draw at the claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | No claim published |
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 6.5 Wat 2.5 h high, 149°f / 65°c |
| SNOW DEER Upgraded Heated Socks | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | No claim published |
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Socks with App Control | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 6.5 Wat 2.5 h high (131-149°f) |
| TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included) | 3,000 mAh | 7.4 V | 22.2 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 6.3 Wat 3.5 h high, 140-149°f |
“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.
These are the same conversions we run everywhere on this site: capacity times voltage, in watt-hours. They have nothing to do with eligibility — but if you are buying a garment to manage a condition rather than for a day on the hill, runtime is the specification that decides whether it actually helps on a working day, and most of this category does not publish enough to tell you. Wattage explained covers how to read what they do publish.
Questions worth asking your administrator
- Do you consider heated apparel at all, for any diagnosis? Some plans will say no to the whole category and that saves you the rest.
- Do you require an LMN, a prescription, or both? They are not the same document and plans differ.
- How long is the letter good for? Many plans treat an LMN as covering a period rather than a single purchase.
- Will the debit card work, or is this reimbursement-only? For a non-medical merchant, expect the latter.
- What counts as an itemized receipt to you? Get this in writing before you need it.
What we would skip, and why
- Assuming the checkout badge settles it
- Some retailers flag products as "FSA or HSA eligible" at checkout. That badge reflects the merchant's product category coding, not a ruling about your purchase. The IRS test is about what the item is used for and by whom, and your plan administrator is the one who applies it. A badge is a hint, not an answer.
- Buying first and asking afterwards
- If your administrator wants a letter of medical necessity, they generally want it to exist at the time of the expense. Getting the letter after a denial is a harder conversation than getting it before you buy, and some plans will not reimburse retroactively at all.
- Treating heated clothing as a substitute for treatment
- A heated glove is consumer apparel. It can make a cold hand more comfortable; it does not treat Raynaud's, neuropathy or arthritis, and no maker on this site claims it does. Whatever your account will or will not cover, the clothing sits alongside medical care rather than in place of it.
Our criteria, and what we did not do
- The IRS language first. Every general claim on this page is quoted from Publication 502, the document your plan administrator is working from.
- Products judged on whether their case is documentable, not on whether a retailer has tagged them. A garment bought for a diagnosed condition needs a paper trail, and some products make that easier than others.
- Picks are the garments most often bought for cold-sensitive hands and feet — the situation where this question actually comes up.
- We are not tax advisors and not clinicians. This page explains the published rule and points you at the two people who can apply it to you: your clinician and your plan administrator.
- We have not worn any of these. How we work.
We have not worn, tested or owned any of these products, and we say so on every page rather than in a footer. What we do instead is compile the published specifications and do the arithmetic. The full method.
Frequently asked
- Are heated gloves HSA eligible?
- Not by default. IRS Publication 502 says you cannot include "the cost of an item ordinarily used for personal, living, or family purposes unless it is used primarily to prevent or alleviate a physical or mental disability or illness." Gloves are ordinary clothing, so the default is no — but a documented diagnosis such as Raynaud's, with a letter of medical necessity, can bring them inside that exception. Your plan administrator decides.
- Are heated socks FSA eligible?
- The same rule applies as for gloves. Heated socks are not on standard eligibility lists, so the route is the "used primarily to alleviate" exception with a letter of medical necessity from the clinician treating the condition — neuropathy being the common one. Ask your administrator before you buy, not after.
- What is a letter of medical necessity?
- A letter from a health care provider stating that a specific item is being used to treat or alleviate a specific diagnosed condition. Fidelity notes that "Some expenses require a letter of medical necessity from a health care provider in order to be eligible expenses." It is the standard mechanism for dual-purpose items that have both an everyday and a medical use.
- Why are arthritis gloves eligible but heated gloves are not?
- Because of how they are sold rather than how well they work. Compression arthritis gloves are marketed and coded as a medical product and appear on HSA and FSA eligibility lists directly. Heated gloves are sold as apparel and generally do not appear on those lists, which puts them in the dual-purpose category where documentation is required.
- Will the FSA debit card work for heated clothing?
- Often not, because the retailer is not coded as a medical merchant. Even where a purchase is ultimately eligible, expect to pay out of pocket and submit for reimbursement with an itemized receipt and your letter. Confirm the process with your administrator first.
- Does a doctor recommending heated gloves make them eligible?
- A verbal recommendation usually is not enough on its own — the documentation is the point. What your administrator generally wants is a written letter naming the condition and the item. Ask your clinician to put the recommendation in writing rather than relying on it having been said.
- Is this tax advice?
- No. We are an apparel site, not tax advisors or clinicians. Everything general on this page is quoted from IRS Publication 502 and linked below so you can read it yourself, and the two people who can apply it to your situation are your clinician and your plan administrator.
Sources
Related

Guides
The questions the product pages do not answer: sizing, zones, safety, washing, cost.

Gloves for Raynaud's, sorted by what the guidance says
What rheumatology and clinical guidance actually says about gloves for Raynaud's — mittens, liners, warmers, compression — then the heated picks for when layers are not enough.

Heated gloves for arthritis and Raynaud's: what the product does
Fit, element placement and control granularity, described plainly. No medical claims — that conversation belongs with your doctor.

Heated socks and reduced sensation: what we can and cannot tell you
Control granularity, fit and element position, described plainly. The medical question stays with your doctor.

Heated glove liners: less battery, more useful
The smallest packs on the site in the format most likely to still be on your hands at the end of the day.

Are heated jackets worth it?
Four situations where it clearly pays, four where better layering wins, and a value ranking that puts the jacket fourth.