Skip to content
Volt Wool
Hub

Heated gloves carry the least energy and make the biggest claims

Two small packs, one on each wrist, fighting the worst heat-loss geometry on the body. The arithmetic is unforgiving and worth seeing before you spend.

If you need to use your hands for anything precise, skip straight to heated glove liners — they are the format most buyers should start with.

How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

Bare hands on cold metal in flat winter daylight, frost on the surface, the everyday cold that drives people to heated gloves.
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
Our top pick in heated gloves

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners

The most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated glove for anyone who has to actually use their hands.

$107.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

A heated glove carries roughly 16 to 24 watt-hours per hand — a fraction of what a heated jacket carries — while fighting the worst heat-loss geometry on the body. That is why glove runtimes are short in practice however long the box claims, and why a thin liner under a good glove often beats a thick heated glove outright.

Fingers are the hardest problem in heated clothing

A finger is a thin cylinder with a large surface area relative to its volume, sitting at the far end of your circulation, usually pointed into moving air. Every one of those facts works against you. The body also constricts blood flow to the extremities first when it starts protecting core temperature, which means your hands get colder precisely when you most need them working.

Against that, a heated glove brings about 16 watt-hours per hand at the liner end of the market and about 24 at the top. A heated jacket carries 38. The gloves have less than half the energy for a harder job, and they are the product most likely to be advertised with a long single-figure runtime.

Verdict first

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.

#ProductBest forEnergyPrice
1
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove LinersThe most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated …
Keeping the gloves you already own16.3 Wh$107.99View on Amazon
2
SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated Gloves
SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated GlovesA competent middle option: warmer than a liner, less bulky than the Gerbing, and with the same missing wattage figure …
General cold-weather use16.3 Wh$79.99View on Amazon
3
Gerbing 7V S7 Heated GlovesTwo 3,400 mAh packs is the largest per-hand energy figure on this list, and it still will not get you a full day on hi…
The most energy per hand23.8 WhCheck price on Amazon
4
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski MittensPhysics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets…
The coldest hands on the list16.3 Wh$109.99View on Amazon
5
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated GlovesThe same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glo…
Smaller hands that still want full-finger heat23.8 Wh$245.09View on Amazon
6
Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because…
Anyone already on M1221.6 Wh$219.00View on Amazon
7
TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)
TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperat…
The only heated glove here that publishes watt-hours22.2 Wh$79.99View on Amazon
8
KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, Camo
KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, CamoA thin, flexible camo glove for people who lose more to bulk than to cold — and a clean example of the category's habi…
Thin camo cover when bulk is the problem—$78.28View on Amazon

#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
#1 · Keeping the gloves you already own

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners

The most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated glove for anyone who has to actually use their hands.

$107.99View on Amazon

$119.9910% off

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
16.3 Wh
Pack
7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand
Thickness
Liner — fits inside a work or ski glove
Touchscreen
Yes, per the listing
Heat zones
Back of hand and fingers
Settings
Three
Care
Hand wash with the battery out

On wattage: No published wattage. Small packs and a small element area, so the runtime spread between settings is wide.

On the pack: Liner packs in this class are 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh. The capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listing rather than on the glove listing.

What we like

  • Fits under gloves you already trust, so you keep your grip and your dexterity
  • Cheapest route into heated hands by a wide margin
  • Packs are small enough to live in a coat pocket

What we do not

  • Smallest packs here — about 16 Wh a hand, and the arithmetic on that is unforgiving
  • No wind or water protection of their own
  • The fit under a tight glove can be a squeeze

Who this suits

Trades workers, photographers, anyone who has to do something with their fingers in the cold.

Who should skip it

You want long runtime. This is the smallest energy budget on the site and it shows.

Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated Gloves
#2 · General cold-weather use

SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated Gloves

A competent middle option: warmer than a liner, less bulky than the Gerbing, and with the same missing wattage figure as everything else in the category.

$79.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
16.3 Wh
Pack
7.4 V per hand
Element
Doubled in the thumb and index finger
Shell
Water-repellent insulated polyester
Heat zones
Back of hand, with the element doubled in the thumb and index finger
Settings
Three
Care
Spot clean

On wattage: No published wattage.

On the pack: 7.4 V packs. Capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listings for this class rather than on the glove page.

What we like

  • Doubled element in the thumb and index finger, which is where cold bites first
  • The insulated shell does real work before the battery is switched on
  • Widely stocked, so replacement packs are easy to find

What we do not

  • No wattage published
  • Middling capacity
  • Bulkier than a liner without being as warm as a mitten

Who this suits

Someone who wants one pair of heated gloves for general winter use.

Who should skip it

You are stationary for hours in hard cold. Mittens hold heat better than fingers do.

Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

#3 · The most energy per hand

Gerbing 7V S7 Heated Gloves

Two 3,400 mAh packs is the largest per-hand energy figure on this list, and it still will not get you a full day on high — which tells you most of what you need to know about heated gloves.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price available, so we show none. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
23.8 Wh
Pack
7 V, 3,400 mAh per glove
Packs included
Two, plus a dual charger
Element coverage
Full finger
Heat zones
Back of hand and along all five fingers
Settings
Three
Care
Spot clean only

On wattage: Gerbing publishes no wattage. It does publish pack capacity and voltage, which is more than most glove makers do and enough for the energy half of the arithmetic.

What we like

  • The element runs the full length of the fingers, not just across the back of the hand
  • Largest published per-hand capacity here
  • Ships with both packs and a dual charger, so there is nothing else to buy

What we do not

  • No published wattage, so the runtime half of the sum is unavailable from Gerbing alone
  • Bulky enough that fine work is awkward
  • Expensive

Who this suits

Motorcyclists and anyone whose hands sit in moving air, where the heat is fighting convection rather than still cold.

Who should skip it

You need dexterity. These are warm mitts with fingers, not working gloves — look at liners instead.

Spec sources: Amazon — Gerbing 7V Men's S7 heated gloves (two 7V 3400mAh packs included)

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens
#4 · The coldest hands on the list

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens

Physics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets more warmth out of the same watt-hours than a glove does.

$109.99View on Amazon

$129.9915% off

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
16.3 Wh
Pack
7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh
Capacity conflict
SAVIOR's own Tech Specs says 3,000 mAh instead
Coverage
Full hand including palm, per SAVIOR
Shell
Waterproof and windproof; 100D twill with laminated coating
Format
Mitten
Heat zones
"Full-Hand Heating Coverage" from "Carbon fiber heating elements", with "Added palm heating" as well as the back of the hand, per SAVIOR
Settings
Three, published as Low 104-113°F, Medium 122-131°F and High 131-149°F
Care
"Hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning", per SAVIOR

On wattage: Not published, and barely derivable — this is the worst-documented product this site recommends first anywhere. SAVIOR's own page gives THREE different runtime sets and TWO different capacities. Taking the hours above against 16.3 Wh gives about 6.5 W high, 2.7 W medium and 2.0 W low; swap in the Tech Specs hours (2-3 / 5-6 / 10-12) or the 3,000 mAh figure and the implied low-setting draw moves between about 1.4 W and 3.7 W. A 2.7x spread, entirely from one manufacturer page.

On the pack: 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh — which is the figure in SAVIOR's own body copy and matches the replacement-pack listing. SAVIOR's Tech Specs block on the SAME page says "7.4V 3000mAh battery" instead, which would be 22.2 Wh. We use the smaller figure because it is the one two independent sources agree on, and we flag the disagreement rather than averaging it.

What we like

  • Mitten geometry keeps fingers warmer at any given power level
  • Better for circulation-limited hands than a fingered glove
  • Same pack family as the rest of the SAVIOR line

What we do not

  • You cannot do anything precise in them
  • SAVIOR's own page contradicts itself on capacity (2,200 vs 3,000 mAh) and gives three different runtime sets
  • No wattage published, and the runtime conflict makes it hard to derive one
  • Getting them on and off around a pole strap is a fiddle

Who this suits

Skiers and anyone whose hands go numb regardless of what they wear.

Who should skip it

You need to hold a tool, a camera or a phone.

Spec sources: Savior Heat — Heated Ski Mittens, the brand's own product page ("Three Adjustable Heating Settings"; "3 heat levels (Low: 104-113°F, Medium:122-131 °F, High: 131- 149°F)"; "Carbon fiber heating elements" with "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" and "Added palm heating helps warm every finger, fingertip, palm, and back of hand"; "Waterproof and windproof materials"; velvet lining and "100D twill fabric with laminated coating" outer; "hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning"; "Free 1-Year Extended Warranty"; product named "S66E Classic Heated Winter Mittens". THE PAGE CONTRADICTS ITSELF: the body copy says "7.4V 2200mAh rechargeable battery power" while the Tech Specs section says "7.4V 3000mAh battery", and it gives THREE different runtime sets — Heating Performance "High: 149°F / 65°C | Up to 2.5H Runtime", "Medium: 131°F / 55°C | Up to 6H Runtime", "Low: 113°F / 45°C | Up to 8H Runtime"; Tech Specs "High: 2-3 hours", "Medium: 5-6 hours", "Low: 10-12 hours"; and the FAQ "about 2–3 hours on high, 4–5 hours on medium, and 6–10 hours on low") · Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves
#5 · Smaller hands that still want full-finger heat

Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves

The same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glove that fits badly heats air instead of skin.

$245.09View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
23.8 Wh
Pack
7 V, 3,400 mAh per glove
Sizing
Women's last, from XS
Element coverage
Full finger
Heat zones
Back of hand and all five fingers
Settings
Three
Care
Spot clean

On wattage: No published wattage; capacity and voltage are published.

What we like

  • A genuine women's last rather than a shrunk men's glove
  • Full-finger element, which the smaller heated gloves usually drop
  • Largest published per-hand capacity in its size range

What we do not

  • No wattage published
  • Expensive
  • Still bulky for fine work

Who this suits

Anyone whose hands are too narrow for a men's small, which is a real and badly served group.

Who should skip it

You want dexterity — the liner is the better answer.

Spec sources: Amazon — Gerbing 7V Men's S7 heated gloves (two 7V 3400mAh packs included)

Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
#6 · Anyone already on M12

Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)

Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because you already own four of them.

$219.00View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
21.6 Wh
Pack
M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0, 2.0 Ah
Voltage used here
10.8 V nominal (marketed as 12 V)
Heat zones
3
Maker's runtime claim
12 h low / 6 h medium / 3 h high
Heat zones
Chest, back and hand pockets
Settings
Three, plus a preheat cycle
Care
Machine washable with the battery removed

On wattage: Milwaukee publishes run-time, not watts — but it publishes all three settings, which is more than most of this category manages. The 12/6/3 pattern is a clean doubling of draw at each step. Milwaukee does not state which M12 pack those hours assume, so the resulting wattage is a shape rather than a fixed figure.

On the pack: Sold bare. The live listing title reads "Jacket Only" — no pack and no charger in the box. That is the right buy if you already run M12 and the wrong one if you do not. See [which garments include a battery](/battery/battery-included-or-separate).

What we like

  • Hot-swappable packs — the only real answer to a short runtime is a second battery, and you already have one
  • Genuinely durable shell fabric, built for work rather than for a catalog photo
  • The pack doubles as a tool battery, so nothing in the van is single-purpose

What we do not

  • The 2.0 Ah pack is small by heated-apparel standards once you convert it honestly
  • Jacket-only SKUs ship without a battery, which is easy to miss at checkout
  • Heavier than a soft-shell layer

Who this suits

A trades worker with an M12 kit already in the van, for whom a spare pack costs nothing extra to carry.

Who should skip it

You own no M12 tools. Buying into a tool platform for one jacket is the most expensive route into heated clothing.

Spec sources: Milwaukee Tool — M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0 battery, 12V 2.0Ah · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated Jacket Kit (up to 8 hours on the REDLITHIUM 2.0) · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL jacket kit

TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)
#7 · The only heated glove here that publishes watt-hours

TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)

TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperature and a runtime for all three settings, which lets you check the claim instead of taking it.

$79.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
22.2 Wh
Maker's stated energy
22.2 Wh per hand
Pack
7.4 V, two supplied
Shell
Seven-layer, 3M insulation, 140 GSM water-resistant coating
Claims
All three settings, with temperatures
Heat zones
Not specified by TIDEWE beyond the heated glove body
Settings
Three
Care
Not stated by TIDEWE

On wattage: No wattage published, but with three claims and a real watt-hour figure the draw can be inverted three ways instead of guessed once. The high-setting claim implies about 6.3 W per hand at the optimistic end of the range and 8.9 W at the pessimistic end.

On the pack: 22.2 Wh at 7.4 V is 3,000 mAh, one pack per hand. Publishing the figure in watt-hours rather than milliamp-hours is the honest way round, because watt-hours is the number that actually compares across voltages.

What we like

  • Publishes energy in watt-hours, which nothing else in this category does
  • A temperature AND a runtime for every setting, so the claim can be inverted
  • Seven-layer shell with 3M insulation does real work before the element is on
  • Two packs in the box rather than one

What we do not

  • No wattage published, so the draw is still inferred rather than read
  • TIDEWE does not state where the elements sit inside the glove
  • No published care instructions
  • Bulkier than a liner, which matters if you need to work a trigger or a zip

Who this suits

A hunter or an angler who is stationary in the cold and wants a claim that can be checked.

Who should skip it

You need dexterity more than heat. A liner under your own glove keeps the feel that a shell this thick removes.

Spec sources: TIDEWE — heated hunting gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh, with a temperature and runtime published for all three settings)

KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, Camo
#8 · Thin camo cover when bulk is the problem

KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, Camo

A thin, flexible camo glove for people who lose more to bulk than to cold — and a clean example of the category's habit of publishing a temperature while withholding the capacity behind it.

$78.28View on Amazon

$89.9913% off

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Maximum temperature
149°F, published
Capacity
Not published
Cut
Thin and flexible, camo
Screen use
PU touchscreen fingertips
Heat zones
Palm and backhand, per the listing
Settings
Three
Care
Not stated

On wattage: No wattage, and no capacity either, so this is one of the rows where the energy column has to stay empty. The maximum temperature is published; everything needed to convert it is not.

On the pack: KEMIMOTO publishes a 7.4 V pack for this glove line but does not state the capacity on this listing. Without a capacity there is no watt-hour figure, and without a watt-hour figure the runtime claim cannot be checked against anything. We will not borrow a number from a sibling listing to fill the gap.

What we like

  • Thin enough to keep the dexterity thick heated gloves cost you
  • Heat on the palm as well as the back of the hand, which is unusual
  • Camo pattern rather than a black glove in a hide
  • Touchscreen fingertips that work without stripping a glove off

What we do not

  • No published capacity, so the energy is not derivable at all
  • No published wattage either
  • Thin means less insulation working for you when the battery is off
  • No stated care instructions

Who this suits

Someone whose hunting problem is bulk rather than raw cold, and who wants the pattern as well as the heat.

Who should skip it

You want to know what you are buying in energy terms. On this listing that is simply not knowable.

Spec sources: Amazon — KEMIMOTO heated hunting gloves, camo (three settings, 149°F maximum)

The liner argument

The instinct is to buy the thickest heated glove available. For most people that is wrong. A thin heated liner worn inside a glove you already own and already trust gets you three things a heated glove does not: your existing glove's insulation, your existing glove's fit, and the dexterity you had before.

That last one decides purchases. If you cannot pick up a screw, operate a camera or work a zip, the glove comes off — and a heated glove sitting in a pocket is worth exactly nothing. The liner keeps working because it never has to come off. Heated glove liners covers the format properly.

The counter-argument is real: liners carry the smallest packs on this site and have no wind or water protection of their own. If you are stationary in hard cold with no need for your fingers, a heated mitten will genuinely beat a liner, because mitten geometry keeps fingers in one shared warm chamber instead of five separate cold ones.

The arithmetic

Watt-hours, and what they buy

Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.

ProductCapacityVoltsEnergyCeiling drawShortest runtimeImplied draw at the claim
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners2,200 mAh7.4 V16.3 WhNot publishedNot derivableNo claim published
SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated Gloves2,200 mAh7.4 V16.3 WhNot publishedNot derivableNo claim published
Gerbing 7V S7 Heated Gloves3,400 mAh7 V23.8 WhNot publishedNot derivableNo claim published
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens2,200 mAh7.4 V16.3 WhNot publishedNot derivable6.5 Wat 2.5 h high, 149°f / 65°c
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves3,400 mAh7 V23.8 WhNot publishedNot derivableNo claim published
Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)2,000 mAh10.8 V21.6 WhNot publishedNot derivable7.2 Wat 3 h high
TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)3,000 mAh7.4 V22.2 WhNot publishedNot derivable6.3 Wat 3.5 h high, 140-149°f

“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.

What to check before buying

  • Where the element runs. Back-of-hand only is common and cheap. Full-finger elements cost more and are the only version that addresses the part that is actually cold.
  • Whether the pack capacity is published anywhere. Often it is not on the glove page but is on the maker's replacement-battery listing — which is how we sourced most of the figures here.
  • Whether spare packs are cheap and available. In this category the pack fails long before the glove does, and a glove whose battery you cannot replace is a two-season purchase.
  • Fit. A heated glove that is too big heats air. Nothing about the electronics compensates for that, and it is the single most common reason people say heated gloves do not work.

Where to go next

Go deeper

In heated gloves

Questions

Frequently asked

How long do heated gloves last on the highest setting?
Less than the box implies. The packs here run 16 to 24 watt-hours per hand, and the makers do not publish the draw, so we mark the exact hours not derivable rather than estimating them. What we can say is that a glove carries under half the energy of a heated jacket, and jacket claims already collapse to two or three hours on high.
Are heated glove liners better than heated gloves?
For anyone who needs their fingers, usually yes. A liner adds heat to a glove you already trust, keeping its insulation, its fit and your dexterity. For stationary cold with no dexterity requirement, a heated mitten will be warmer.
Why do my heated gloves feel warm on the back of my hand but not my fingertips?
Because on most designs that is where the element is. Back-of-hand-only elements are the cheap standard; full-finger elements cost more and are the only ones that heat the part that goes numb. Check the element diagram before buying, not after.
Can I replace the batteries in heated gloves?
On the mainstream brands, yes, and you should plan to. Lithium packs lose capacity with every cycle and the pack will give out long before the glove does. Check that replacements are stocked and affordable before you buy the glove — that is what determines how many winters it lasts.
Do heated gloves work for motorcycling?
That is the use case they suit best, because the heat is fighting constant convective loss from moving air rather than still cold. Look for full-finger elements and the largest published capacity you can find, and expect to run them on high.

Sources

Still deciding?

Head-to-heads