Heated gloves for men, and why the size run matters more than the label
There is barely such a thing as a men's heated glove. There are unisex gloves sized from about 16 cm of palm to about 26 cm, and the interesting question is which ones go all the way to the top of that range.
By Scooter M. · Published September 22, 2026
How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

There is almost no such thing as a men's heated glove. The market is unisex, sized by palm circumference from roughly 16 cm to roughly 26 cm, and what actually separates the products is how far up that range the size run goes. For most men the answer is a thick glove in L, XL or XXL; for a hand over about 23 cm the thin liner formats start running out of sizes entirely. Measure the widest part of your palm, excluding the thumb, before you look at anything else.
The label is not a cut
We went through ororo's current glove and mitten range: fourteen models, of which ten carry the word "Unisex" in the model name. Exactly one is gendered — the Kyoto Women's. Search Amazon for men's heated gloves and the titles that come back read "Heated Gloves for Men Women" almost without exception, because the manufacturers are selling one glove to everybody.
That is not a criticism. A glove is a shape that has to match a hand, and hand shape varies far more within a gender than between the averages. Every maker that publishes a size chart sizes on measurement:
- Savior Heat: "Measure around the widest part of your palm (excluding the thumb)".
- ororo: measure "around the center part of the palm", plus base of palm to longest fingertip.
- Neither asks your gender, and neither should.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.
| # | Product | Best for | Energy | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated GlovesA competent middle option: warmer than a liner, less bulky than the Gerbing, and with the same missing wattage figure … | General cold-weather use | 16.3 Wh | $79.99View on Amazon |
| 2 | SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove LinersThe most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated … | Keeping the gloves you already own | 16.3 Wh | $107.99View on Amazon |
| 3 | TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperat… | The only heated glove here that publishes watt-hours | 22.2 Wh | $79.99View on Amazon |
| 4 | Gerbing 12V Heated Glove LinersSized to a genuine XXL and the only heated glove here that publishes an actual wattage — 13 W each. It gets to 135°F b… | The largest hands, and the only published wattage on this page | — | $99.00View on Amazon |
| 5 | SNOW DEER Heated Mittens, 7.4V 2200mAhThe other established heated mitten on the shelf: the shape clinical guidance favors, on the same 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh pac… | A second mitten option, at a lower price bracket | 16.3 Wh | $119.99View on Amazon |
#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated Gloves
A competent middle option: warmer than a liner, less bulky than the Gerbing, and with the same missing wattage figure as everything else in the category.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V per hand
- Element
- Doubled in the thumb and index finger
- Shell
- Water-repellent insulated polyester
- Heat zones
- Back of hand, with the element doubled in the thumb and index finger
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Spot clean
On wattage: No published wattage.
On the pack: 7.4 V packs. Capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listings for this class rather than on the glove page.
What we like
- Doubled element in the thumb and index finger, which is where cold bites first
- The insulated shell does real work before the battery is switched on
- Widely stocked, so replacement packs are easy to find
What we do not
- No wattage published
- Middling capacity
- Bulkier than a liner without being as warm as a mitten
Who this suits
Someone who wants one pair of heated gloves for general winter use.
Who should skip it
You are stationary for hours in hard cold. Mittens hold heat better than fingers do.
Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
The most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated glove for anyone who has to actually use their hands.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand
- Thickness
- Liner — fits inside a work or ski glove
- Touchscreen
- Yes, per the listing
- Heat zones
- Back of hand and fingers
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Hand wash with the battery out
On wattage: No published wattage. Small packs and a small element area, so the runtime spread between settings is wide.
On the pack: Liner packs in this class are 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh. The capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listing rather than on the glove listing.
What we like
- Fits under gloves you already trust, so you keep your grip and your dexterity
- Cheapest route into heated hands by a wide margin
- Packs are small enough to live in a coat pocket
What we do not
- Smallest packs here — about 16 Wh a hand, and the arithmetic on that is unforgiving
- No wind or water protection of their own
- The fit under a tight glove can be a squeeze
Who this suits
Trades workers, photographers, anyone who has to do something with their fingers in the cold.
Who should skip it
You want long runtime. This is the smallest energy budget on the site and it shows.
Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)
TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperature and a runtime for all three settings, which lets you check the claim instead of taking it.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 22.2 Wh
- Maker's stated energy
- 22.2 Wh per hand
- Pack
- 7.4 V, two supplied
- Shell
- Seven-layer, 3M insulation, 140 GSM water-resistant coating
- Claims
- All three settings, with temperatures
- Heat zones
- Not specified by TIDEWE beyond the heated glove body
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Not stated by TIDEWE
On wattage: No wattage published, but with three claims and a real watt-hour figure the draw can be inverted three ways instead of guessed once. The high-setting claim implies about 6.3 W per hand at the optimistic end of the range and 8.9 W at the pessimistic end.
On the pack: 22.2 Wh at 7.4 V is 3,000 mAh, one pack per hand. Publishing the figure in watt-hours rather than milliamp-hours is the honest way round, because watt-hours is the number that actually compares across voltages.
What we like
- Publishes energy in watt-hours, which nothing else in this category does
- A temperature AND a runtime for every setting, so the claim can be inverted
- Seven-layer shell with 3M insulation does real work before the element is on
- Two packs in the box rather than one
What we do not
- No wattage published, so the draw is still inferred rather than read
- TIDEWE does not state where the elements sit inside the glove
- No published care instructions
- Bulkier than a liner, which matters if you need to work a trigger or a zip
Who this suits
A hunter or an angler who is stationary in the cold and wants a claim that can be checked.
Who should skip it
You need dexterity more than heat. A liner under your own glove keeps the feel that a shell this thick removes.
Spec sources: TIDEWE — heated hunting gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh, with a temperature and runtime published for all three settings)

Gerbing 12V Heated Glove Liners
Sized to a genuine XXL and the only heated glove here that publishes an actual wattage — 13 W each. It gets to 135°F because it is drawing off a motorcycle rather than rationing a small pack, and it does nothing at all without one.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Published draw
- 13 W each — 26 W the pair
- Published temperature
- 135°F at 13 W each
- Sizes
- S/M, L/XL and a true XXL
- Battery included
- NO — 12 V source and harness sold separately
- Heat zones
- Microwire elements through the fingers and the back of the hand, per Gerbing
- Settings
- Continuous, via a temperature controller that Gerbing sells separately rather than fixed steps
- Care
- Not published by Gerbing on the product page
On wattage: 13 W each is Gerbing's own published figure, and it is per glove — 26 W for the pair. That number is the most useful thing on this page. A battery glove running a 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh pack carries about 16.3 Wh per hand, so at 13 W it would run for roughly 75 minutes. The battery brands instead claim up to 6 hours from that pack, which implies about 2.7 W — about a fifth of what Gerbing draws. A motorcycle alternator is not rationing anything, which is the entire reason this glove reaches 135°F and the battery ones do not.
On the pack: There is no battery in this box and none is implied by the price. Gerbing states plainly that a "Battery Harness, Y-Harness & temperature controller" are "required for stand-alone operation (sold separately)". The normal way to run these is off a motorcycle's 12 V system, or plugged into a Gerbing jacket liner that is itself wired to the bike. Treat the sticker price as the entry fee rather than the total.
What we like
- A published wattage, which practically nothing else in heated apparel provides
- 135°F is hotter than any battery glove on this site claims, and the wattage explains why
- A true XXL in a LINER, which is the size most thin heated gloves stop short of
- Lifetime warranty on the heating elements
- Stretch Lycra is thin enough to wear inside a glove you already trust
What we do not
- No battery, no harness and no controller in the box — all sold separately
- Effectively useless unless you have a motorcycle or a Gerbing 12 V setup
- 12 V DC at 1.0 A each is a wiring job, not a plug-and-play purchase
- No care instructions published
- No runtime figures, because runtime is whatever your bike is doing
Who this suits
A rider with large hands who already has a 12 V system, or is willing to build one, and wants heat that does not fade after two hours.
Who should skip it
You do not ride. There is nothing in this box that produces heat on its own, and the parts that would cost more than the liners do.

SNOW DEER Heated Mittens, 7.4V 2200mAh
The other established heated mitten on the shelf: the shape clinical guidance favors, on the same 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh pack class as SAVIOR's — with a spec sheet that stops at the battery.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Shape
- Mitten — fingers share one chamber
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand, stated in the title
- Runtime
- Not published for this mitten
- Heat zones
- Not stated on the listing
- Settings
- Not stated on the listing
- Care
- Not stated
On wattage: No wattage and no runtime published for this mitten, so the 16.3 Wh cannot be turned into hours. Runtime figures do circulate for other SNOW DEER mitten variants; we have not borrowed them for this one.
On the pack: The listing title states 7.4 V and 2,200 mAh, which is about 16.3 Wh per hand. SNOW DEER's own store lists the same figures and nothing further for this mitten — no heat-setting count, no element placement, no runtime.
What we like
- A mitten, which is the shape clinical guidance says is warmer than a glove
- Pack capacity and voltage stated on the listing itself
- Same pack class as SAVIOR's extremity gear, so spares are easy to find
- Room inside for a thin liner, which is the layering clinicians describe
What we do not
- Publishes the battery and almost nothing else — no settings count, no element layout, no runtime
- No wattage published
- A mitten has no dexterity; it comes off for anything fiddly
- 16.3 Wh per hand is a small budget for a long day out
Who this suits
Someone with cold-sensitive hands who wants a heated mitten and is comfortable buying on the shape and the stated pack.
Who should skip it
You want to know the runtime before you buy. This listing does not tell you.
Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER heated mittens, 7.4V 2200mAh rechargeable battery (stated in the listing title) · Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack
The size chart that made this page
Savior publishes two separate charts, and the gap between them is the single most useful fact here.
| Size | THIN gloves / liners | THICK gloves |
|---|---|---|
| S | 17.5-19.5 cm (XS/S) | 16.5-18 cm · 6.5-7.09 in |
| M | 19.5-21.5 cm (M/L) | 18.5-20 cm · 7.28-7.87 in |
| L | 19.5-21.5 cm (M/L) | 20.5-22 cm · 8.07-8.66 in |
| XL | 21.5-23.0 cm (XL/XXL) | 22.5-24 cm · 8.86-9.45 in |
| XXL | 21.5-23.0 cm — the run ends | 24.5-26 cm · 9.65-10.24 in |
The thin gloves come in four PAIRED sizes; the thick gloves come in five discrete ones. Both are Savior's own published figures.
Read the bottom row twice. A thin Savior liner stops at 23.0 cm. A thick Savior glove keeps going to 26 cm. Three centimeters of palm circumference is the difference between a large hand and a genuinely big one, and it is exactly the band where the liner format — the one this site normally recommends first — quietly stops being an option.
If you measure over 23 cm, your realistic choices narrow to a thick glove in XXL, a mitten, or a 12 V liner. All three are on this page.
Why a tight glove makes your hands colder
Savior's own sizing advice is worth quoting: "If between sizes, go one size up for comfort or to allow thin liners." Most people read that as a comfort note. It is a circulation note.
- Cold hands are usually a blood flow problem. Your body narrows the vessels in your extremities to protect core temperature, which is why your fingers go first and why they stay cold long after the rest of you is warm.
- A glove that compresses the back of the hand or the wrist does the same thing mechanically. You have now got two things restricting flow instead of one.
- A heating element only warms what it is touching, so a too-tight glove does deliver its heat efficiently — into a hand whose blood supply it is squeezing.
- Warm blood is what carries heat to your fingertips. Restrict it and the element is warming a small patch of skin rather than your hand.
This is the same reason we tell people not to jam a heated insole into a boot that already fits — see heated insoles. Pressure beats wattage, every time.
The energy, per hand
Watt-hours, and what they buy
Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.
| Product | Capacity | Volts | Energy | Ceiling draw | Shortest runtime | Implied draw at the claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated Gloves | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | No claim published |
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | No claim published |
| TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included) | 3,000 mAh | 7.4 V | 22.2 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 6.3 Wat 3.5 h high, 140-149°f |
| SNOW DEER Heated Mittens, 7.4V 2200mAh | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | No claim published |
“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.
SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V Heated Gloves
- Energy in the pack
- (2,200 mAh ÷ 1000) × 7.4 V = 16.3 Wh
- Most the pack can deliver
- Not published — no output current stated, so the ceiling cannot be computed.
- The draw at the advertised runtime
- No runtime claim published for this product, so there is nothing to invert.
Source for the pack figures: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack.
And here is the second reason hand size matters. That pack does not get bigger when the glove does. An XXL glove has meaningfully more surface area to heat than a small one, from the identical 16.3 watt-hours. It is the same problem we found on heated jackets in big and tall sizes, and it is sharper on a glove because the pack is a fifth the size.
The number almost nobody publishes
Gerbing's 12 V liner states something the battery brands do not: an actual draw. "13W Each", at "12V DC 1.0 Amp Each", reaching "135F @ 13W Each". That is 26 watts for the pair, and it changes how you should read every other glove here.
| Figure | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pack energy per hand | 16.3 Wh (7.4 V x 2,200 mAh) | Maker's capacity, our arithmetic |
| Runtime at Gerbing's 13 W | about 75 minutes | Our arithmetic |
| Battery makers' own claim | up to 6 hours | Maker |
| Draw that claim implies | about 2.7 W | Our arithmetic |
| Gerbing vs battery glove | roughly 5x the wattage | Our arithmetic |
A motorcycle alternator supplies hundreds of watts and is not rationing 26 of them. A 16.3 Wh pack has to make its energy last a day, so it runs the element at roughly a fifth the power. That is the whole reason battery gloves feel milder than people expect.
This is the honest frame for the category. A battery heated glove is not a weak version of a bike-powered one; it is a completely different power budget. Expect gentle, persistent warmth that stops your fingers going numb — not a hot glove. If you want hot, you need a wire to something bigger, which is what heated gloves for motorcycling is about.
Which one
Most men, most of the time
The thick Savior glove. It is the only pick here whose maker publishes a five-step size run reaching a true XXL at 24.5-26 cm, which means a large hand gets an actual fit rather than the biggest thing available. Buy on the measurement, and if you land between two sizes take the larger.
You already own gloves you like
The Savior liners, which go inside them — provided you measure 23 cm or under. This is the format most people should try first, and the one that runs out of sizes first. Check the chart before you commit to it.
You want to know what you are actually buying
The TIDEWE gloves, which publish watt-hours per hand directly instead of leaving you to convert a milliamp-hour figure. Two packs are included rather than sold separately, which on a glove — where you need one per hand — is not a small detail.
Your hands are past the top of every size chart
The Gerbing 12 V liner in XXL, if and only if you ride. It is the one liner here that offers a true XXL, it is warranted for life on the elements, and it produces no heat whatsoever without a 12 V source, a harness and a controller you buy separately.
Your fingers go numb regardless
Mittens. Fewer surfaces losing heat and fingers warming each other beats any element on the same battery — gloves vs mittens works through the trade. You lose dexterity, which is usually what decides it.
Measuring your hand properly
- Use a soft tape. Wrap it around the widest part of your palm, excluding the thumb — just below the knuckles.
- Keep the tape firm and level, not pulled tight. A tape you have hauled on will size you down into exactly the problem this page is about.
- Measure the hand you write with; it is usually the larger one, and a glove that fits your bigger hand is the one to size for.
- Also measure base of palm to the tip of your middle finger — ororo and Savior both use it, and it is what catches long, narrow hands that a circumference alone gets wrong.
- Compare against the maker's own chart, not a generic one. The two Savior charts on this page disagree with each other by type, so a chart from another brand is not transferable.
What we would skip, and why
- Buying a size because it says "men's"
- Of the fourteen glove and mitten models in ororo's current range, ten carry the word Unisex in the model name and exactly one is gendered. Nearly every listing on Amazon says "for Men Women" in its own title. The word men's on a heated glove is a search term, not a cut. Measure your palm and buy the number.
- Sizing up "to be safe" without checking the liner range
- Savior's thin gloves come in four PAIRED sizes and the largest, XL/XXL, tops out at 23.0 cm of palm circumference. Its thick gloves come in five sizes and run to 26 cm. If your hand measures 24 cm you can buy a thick Savior glove and you cannot buy a Savior liner at all — and the liner is the format this site normally recommends first.
- A glove that fits snugly over a thick sock of a liner
- Savior's own advice is "If between sizes, go one size up for comfort or to allow thin liners." That is not a comfort note, it is a circulation note. Compression at the wrist and across the back of the hand is one of the reliable ways to make a hand colder, and no wattage fixes a glove that is squeezing the blood supply out of your fingers.
- Any 12V glove, if you do not ride
- 12 V heated gloves are motorcycle equipment. They publish the best wattage figures in this category precisely because a bike's alternator is not rationing anything — but they ship no battery, and the harness and controller that would let you run one off a pack are sold separately and cost more than the gloves. There is one on this page and it is here for what its numbers reveal.
Our criteria, and what we did not do
- Published size charts first. A glove is only a candidate if its maker publishes hand measurements rather than letters alone.
- Sizes recorded in palm circumference, because that is the figure every maker that publishes a chart actually measures.
- Wattage taken only where a maker publishes it. One product on this page does; the rest get an implied figure from their own capacity and runtime, clearly labeled as ours.
- Every pack converted to watt-hours per HAND, not per pair, because that is what one glove has to work with.
- We have not worn any of these. How we work.
We have not worn, tested or owned any of these products, and we say so on every page rather than in a footer. What we do instead is compile the published specifications and do the arithmetic. The full method.
Frequently asked
- What size heated glove should a man buy?
- Measure around the widest part of your palm, excluding the thumb, and buy to the maker's own chart. As a reference point, Savior Heat's thick glove sizes run S at 16.5-18 cm, M at 18.5-20 cm, L at 20.5-22 cm, XL at 22.5-24 cm and XXL at 24.5-26 cm. If you fall between two sizes, take the larger one.
- Are there heated gloves made specifically for men?
- Very few. Ten of the fourteen glove and mitten models in ororo's current range carry the word Unisex in the model name, and most Amazon listings say "for Men Women" in the title. Heated gloves are sized by hand measurement rather than gender, so the men's question is really about how far the size run goes.
- Do heated gloves come in XXL?
- Thick gloves generally do - Savior Heat's thick range reaches XXL at 24.5-26 cm of palm circumference. Thin gloves and liners often do not: Savior's thin range uses four paired sizes and stops at 23.0 cm. Gerbing's 12 V liner is one of the few thin formats offering a true XXL, and it needs a 12 V source rather than a battery.
- Can a heated glove be too tight?
- Yes, and it is the most common way to get this wrong. Cold hands are a circulation problem, and a glove that compresses the back of the hand or the wrist restricts blood flow further. The element still warms the skin it touches, but warm blood is what actually carries heat to your fingertips. Savior's own guidance is to size up if you are between sizes.
- How many watts does a heated glove use?
- Almost no maker publishes it. Gerbing does for its 12 V liner - 13 W each at 12 V DC 1.0 A - but that runs off a motorcycle. A battery glove on a 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh pack carries about 16.3 watt-hours per hand, and a claim of up to 6 hours implies roughly 2.7 W, about a fifth of Gerbing's draw.
- Do bigger heated gloves get less warm?
- In practice, somewhat. The battery does not get larger with the glove, so an XXL has more hand surface to warm from the same roughly 16.3 watt-hours as a small. It is the same effect we found on extended-size heated jackets, and it is a good argument for carrying a spare pack if you are at the top of the size run.
Sources
- Savior Heat — glove size guide (THIN gloves: XXS 16.5-17.5 cm, XS/S 17.5-19.5 cm, M/L 19.5-21.5 cm, XL/XXL 21.5-23.0 cm. THICK gloves: S 6.5-7.09 in, M 7.28-7.87 in, L 8.07-8.66 in, XL 8.86-9.45 in, XXL 9.65-10.24 in. "Measure around the widest part of your palm (excluding the thumb)"; "If between sizes, go one size up for comfort or to allow thin liners.")
- ororo — heated gloves collection (fourteen models listed; ten carry "Unisex" in the model name, one is gendered; sizes S to 2XL, measured around the center of the palm)
- Gerbing — 12V Heated Glove Liners (sizes S/M, L/XL, XXL; "13W Each"; "12V DC 1.0 Amp Each"; "135F @ 13W Each"; "Battery Harness, Y-Harness & temperature controller required for stand-alone operation (sold separately)"; lifetime warranty on the heating elements)
Related

Heated Gloves
The smallest packs in heated apparel, fighting the worst heat loss on the body. Liners are the underrated answer.

Heated gloves for women, and the fit problem nobody mentions
Most heated gloves sold as women's are the unisex glove in smaller sizes. Fit is a performance specification here, not a preference — and a loose glove heats air.

Heated glove liners: less battery, more useful
The smallest packs on the site in the format most likely to still be on your hands at the end of the day.

Heated gloves for work, where a glove you take off is worth nothing
Dexterity is the specification, not a preference. Which format survives a shift, and why the core comes first.

Heated gloves for motorcycling, where the wind never stops
Riding is a forced-convection problem, not a cold one. Why that demands full-finger elements, and what it does to runtime.

Heated gloves or heated mittens?
One maker's gloves against its own mittens, same voltage and same pack, so the only variable is the shape. Mittens win on warmth, gloves win on getting worn.

Spare and replacement batteries, converted before you buy
A second pack is the cheapest real upgrade here. Every capacity claim converted to watt-hours, with the airline band attached — including the class that quietly stops being carry-on legal.

Heated socks for men, and the two measurements nobody gives you
Savior's own chart puts US men's 10.5 through 15 into a single XL - and no maker publishes the calf measurement that decides whether the cuff restricts the foot it is heating.