How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.
Our top pick in heated jackets
ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket
The clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can work out what you are getting instead of taking a marketing number on faith.
A heated jacket's runtime is its battery's watt-hours divided by the watts the garment draws. Makers publish the first half and almost never the second, then advertise the low-setting hours as the headline. Convert the pack yourself and the gap between the ad and the shift becomes obvious.
The number on the box, and the number on the shift
Every heated jacket sold in the US advertises a runtime. It is usually a single figure, usually preceded by the phrase "up to", and it is usually the lowest setting. That is not a lie — the jacket genuinely will run that long on low — but it answers a question almost nobody is asking. If you have switched a heated jacket on, you are cold, and if you are cold you are not on low.
The honest version of the number takes two lines of arithmetic. A battery's energy is its capacity times its voltage: Wh = (mAh ÷ 1000) × volts. Runtime is that energy divided by the draw: hours = Wh ÷ watts. Nine competitors were fetched while researching this site and not one publishes that conversion, largely because the second input — the watts — is the thing the makers keep to themselves.
So we run it the other way. If a maker advertises hours and publishes a pack capacity, the hours state the draw whether the maker meant them to or not. That inversion is the most useful thing on this page, and you can check every step of it against the sources we link.
What the arithmetic actually reveals
The typical heated jacket ships with a 7.4 V pack somewhere between 4,800 and 5,200 mAh. That is 35 to 39 watt-hours — roughly the energy in a mid-size phone power bank, being asked to make fabric warm against moving winter air.
The packs also publish an output current, usually 2.5 A. Multiply that by 7.4 V and you get about 18.5 watts: the absolute ceiling on what the pack can deliver, no matter what the garment asks for. Divide 38 Wh by 18.5 W and you get just over two hours. That is the floor under every "up to 10 hours" claim in the category, and it is derived entirely from figures the manufacturer publishes voluntarily.
Verdict first
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.
#
Product
Best for
Energy
Price
1
ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated JacketThe clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can wor…
Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because…
Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated JacketMore heating elements than anything else at the price, which cuts both ways: the same pack energy is divided further, …
ororo PD 7K Rechargeable Battery for Heated Apparel7,000 mAh of LG cells with a published 13.5-hour claim and a six-mark certification list — the biggest step up availab…
Venustas Unisex Pullover Heated HoodieA heated mid-layer rather than a coat, which is the right call for anyone whose cold problem is a drafty warehouse rat…
ororo Men's 4-Zone USB-C Heated Puffer VestUSB-C matters more than it sounds: the pack recharges from the same brick as your phone and your laptop, which removes…
Venustas Men's Heated Vest, Lightweight QuiltedVenustas puts larger carbon-fiber panels over more of the torso than most rivals, and publishes less about the power b…
Third-Party 7.4V 16,000mAh Heated Apparel BatteryThe largest capacity on this page by a wide margin, and the one we are most careful about: a third-party pack with a b…
#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.
#1 · A first heated jacket
ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket
The clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can work out what you are getting instead of taking a marketing number on faith.
On wattage: ororo publishes no wattage for the garment. It does publish hours for each of the three settings, which states the draw whether it meant to or not.
What we like
ororo publishes capacity AND voltage for every pack, which almost nobody else in this category does
Per-setting runtime claims rather than one 'up to' number, so the low-to-high spread is visible before you buy
Soft-shell cut layers under a work coat without bulk
What we do not
No published wattage for the garment itself
Three zones only — nothing at the arms or the kidneys
The headline runtime figure is the low setting, as it is everywhere
Who this suits
Someone standing still outdoors for two to four hours at a stretch who wants the power figures on the table before buying.
Who should skip it
You need heat for a full eight-hour shift on high. No 38 Wh pack does that, and this one does not claim to.
On wattage: Milwaukee publishes run-time, not watts — but it publishes all three settings, which is more than most of this category manages. The 12/6/3 pattern is a clean doubling of draw at each step. Milwaukee does not state which M12 pack those hours assume, so the resulting wattage is a shape rather than a fixed figure.
On the pack: Sold bare. The live listing title reads "Jacket Only" — no pack and no charger in the box. That is the right buy if you already run M12 and the wrong one if you do not. See [which garments include a battery](/battery/battery-included-or-separate).
What we like
Hot-swappable packs — the only real answer to a short runtime is a second battery, and you already have one
Genuinely durable shell fabric, built for work rather than for a catalog photo
The pack doubles as a tool battery, so nothing in the van is single-purpose
What we do not
The 2.0 Ah pack is small by heated-apparel standards once you convert it honestly
Jacket-only SKUs ship without a battery, which is easy to miss at checkout
Heavier than a soft-shell layer
Who this suits
A trades worker with an M12 kit already in the van, for whom a spare pack costs nothing extra to carry.
Who should skip it
You own no M12 tools. Buying into a tool platform for one jacket is the most expensive route into heated clothing.
More heating elements than anything else at the price, which cuts both ways: the same pack energy is divided further, and Venustas does not publish the wattage that would tell you by how much.
Neck, left and right chest, mid-back, both hand pockets
Settings
Three, with the upper and lower circuits controlled separately
Care
Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: No published wattage. One 'up to 10 hours' figure with no setting attached, which is the least informative form the claim can take.
On the pack: Venustas ships a 7.4 V pack and advertises up to 10 hours. The capacity varies by SKU and is not published consistently, so treat the watt-hour figure here as approximate and check the listing for the pack you are actually buying.
What we like
Dual control is genuinely useful — pocket heat is what you want standing still, core heat is what you want moving
Six zones reach the neck, which most three-zone jackets leave cold
Detachable hood, so it layers under a shell
What we do not
No published wattage and no per-setting runtime, so the power story is one unqualified number
Pack capacity is not stated consistently across SKUs sold under similar names
More zones on the same pack is not more heat — it is the same heat spread thinner
Who this suits
Someone who wants pocket heat and core heat on separate switches and is buying on coverage rather than runtime.
Who should skip it
You want to know what you are buying in watt-hours before you buy it. On this jacket you cannot, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
ororo PD 7K Rechargeable Battery for Heated Apparel
7,000 mAh of LG cells with a published 13.5-hour claim and a six-mark certification list — the biggest step up available to an ororo owner, because the larger PD 10K is not sold through this retailer.
Not washable — remove before laundering the garment
On wattage: No garment wattage is published, but this pack states its own delivery figures: "up to 24W input" and "30W output". The 30 W output is a ceiling for charging devices rather than a figure any ororo garment draws — inverting the 13.5-hour claim against about 50.9 Wh gives roughly 3.8 W, which is the draw that claim actually assumes.
On the pack: Worth reading the voltage twice. This pack's own product page gives "7.27V", while ororo's battery guide lists the PD 7K at 7.4 V. At 7.27 V the 7,000 mAh works out to about 50.9 Wh; at 7.4 V it is 51.8 Wh. We use the figure printed on the product page itself and note the 2% disagreement rather than quietly picking the flattering one.
What we like
The largest ororo pack actually purchasable here — roughly 43% more energy than the Mini 5K that ships with several ororo garments
ororo publishes a real certification list, with UL2056 printed on the casing
USB-C in and out at 30 W means it doubles as a fast phone bank
Three-hour full recharge is quick for this capacity
What we do not
ororo's own two pages disagree on the voltage — 7.27 V on the product page, 7.4 V in the battery guide
No watt-hour figure printed for this pack, unlike ororo's Mini 5K and PD 5K pages
The larger PD 10K exists in ororo's lineup but is not sold through this retailer
Costs a meaningful fraction of a whole garment, which is the usual complaint about spare packs
Who this suits
An ororo owner whose garment shipped with a Mini 5K and who has discovered that the battery, not the jacket, is what ends their day.
Who should skip it
Your garment already ships a PD 5K or larger and your days are short. The jump from 37.5 Wh to 50.9 Wh is real but it is not transformative.
USB-C matters more than it sounds: the pack recharges from the same brick as your phone and your laptop, which removes the proprietary-charger failure mode entirely.
On wattage: No published wattage. ororo does publish the pack's capacity, voltage and output current, which is three more useful numbers than most of this category prints.
What we like
USB-C recharge kills the proprietary-brick problem, which is the most common way these packs get abandoned in a drawer
Puffer insulation means the vest is warm before you switch anything on
Published capacity, voltage and output amps — unusually complete for this category
What we do not
Puffer bulk is real under a fitted coat
Four zones on a 37.6 Wh pack is a thinner spread than three zones on the same energy
Still no wattage figure
Who this suits
Someone who travels with the vest and does not want a second charger in the bag.
Who should skip it
You need it to disappear under a slim shell. It will not.
Venustas puts larger carbon-fiber panels over more of the torso than most rivals, and publishes less about the power behind them than most rivals — you are buying coverage on trust.
The largest capacity on this page by a wide margin, and the one we are most careful about: a third-party pack with a big number on it deserves more skepticism than a brand pack with a small one.
On wattage: No published wattage and no published output current, which means we cannot even state the pack's own delivery ceiling.
On the pack: Third-party capacity claims are not independently verified by anyone, including us. The watt-hour figure below is arithmetic on the seller's own numbers — it is not a measurement of the pack.
What we like
If the claim holds, roughly three times the energy of the pack most jackets ship with
An LED display means you know where you stand before you go out
Adapter cables cover the common garment connectors
What we do not
Third-party capacity claims are unverified by definition
No published output current, so the delivery ceiling is unknown
A pack this large deserves a certification you can look up, and this one's is not clearly stated
Who this suits
Someone whose jacket genuinely dies mid-shift and who has already weighed the trade-off.
Who should skip it
You are not comfortable buying an unverified capacity claim from a third party. That is the right instinct and we share it.
Zones are a spending decision, not a warmth decision
A six-zone jacket is not warmer than a three-zone jacket on the same pack. It is the same energy divided across twice as many elements. Whether that is better depends entirely on where you are cold: a neck element is worth a great deal to someone standing in wind, and worth nothing to someone whose collar is already zipped.
This is the single most common way buyers overpay in this category. Zone count is printed in large type because it is easy to compare and impossible to argue with. Watt-hours are printed nowhere, because they invite exactly the comparison we are making here. If you want the full version of this argument, heating zones explained works through what each zone is for and which ones are decoration.
The arithmetic
Watt-hours, and what they buy
Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.
Product
Capacity
Volts
Energy
Ceiling draw
Shortest runtime
Implied draw at the claim
ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket
5,200 mAh
7.4 V
38.5 Wh
18.5 W
2h 05m
15.4 Wat 2.5 h high
Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
2,000 mAh
10.8 V
21.6 Wh
Not published
Not derivable
7.2 Wat 3 h high
Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated Jacket
5,000 mAh
7.4 V
37.0 Wh
Not published
Not derivable
3.7 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim
ororo PD 7K Rechargeable Battery for Heated Apparel
7,000 mAh
7.4 V
51.8 Wh
22.2 W
2h 20m
3.8 Wat 13.5 h maker's headline claim, with ororo apparel
Venustas Unisex Pullover Heated Hoodie
5,000 mAh
7.4 V
37.0 Wh
Not published
Not derivable
3.7 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim
ororo Men's 4-Zone USB-C Heated Puffer Vest
5,075 mAh
7.4 V
37.6 Wh
18.5 W
2h 02m
3.8 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim
Venustas Men's Heated Vest, Lightweight Quilted
5,000 mAh
7.4 V
37.0 Wh
Not published
Not derivable
3.7 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim
Third-Party 7.4V 16,000mAh Heated Apparel Battery
16,000 mAh
7.4 V
118.4 Wh
Not published
Not derivable
No claim published
“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.
The three questions worth answering before you buy
How long do you actually stand still? A two-hour touchline is a different purchase from an eight-hour outdoor shift. The second cannot be solved by any single pack in this category — it is solved by a spare, which is why the tool-battery jackets look better the longer your day is.
Is it your core that is cold, or your hands? A heated jacket does nothing for hands. Buying one to fix cold fingers is the most expensive mistake in this category, and heated gloves or liners are the cheaper, correct answer.
Do you already own a tool battery platform? If you have M12 or 20V MAX packs in the van, a tool-platform jacket turns the runtime problem into a non-problem. If you do not, buying into a platform for one garment is the most expensive route there is. The M12-versus-20V comparison covers what each platform is worth here.
Most of the category stops at 2XL without saying so. What is documented past it, which maker offers a genuine tall cut, and why a bigger jacket needs a bigger battery it does not get.
Top pick: Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
Every DEWALT heated garment you can buy, converted. Bigger packs than Milwaukee, one runtime claim that names its pack, three that name nothing — and a 90-day warranty on the newest vest.
One brand that publishes watt-hours on its gloves and no voltage at all on its jackets. The whole line converted — including the 5 V spec hiding on the pack's own page.
Top pick: TIDEWE Heated Jacket with Heated Seat Pocket
A 5V USB platform where any phone bank is a spare — and the only brand we have converted whose published temperature, runtime and output ceiling all agree with each other.
Top pick: ActionHeat 5V Men's Softshell Heated Jacket
Four settings with a temperature and a runtime for each, and per-zone draws that hold across three garments - sitting on top of a battery page with eight packs and no capacity figures at all.
Top pick: Fieldsheer Mobile Warming Tundra Men's Heated Jacket
One brand sells the same hunting garment as a jacket and a vest - same battery, same five zones. Only the placement changes, and for a long sit that is the whole decision.
Only four garments on this site publish a wattage and the top two are 12V motorcycle liners - because a wired system cannot hide its draw. Plus why 77 watts is unbuyable on batteries.
Top pick: Gerbing 12V Heated Jacket Liner 2.0 (3XL)
For a child 12 or under, a heated jacket legally needs a third-party-tested safety certificate. Two brands publish one. Plus why the long runtime is real, and why you must not size up.
The only brand here publishing a full battery lineup - which is how you can see that its packs run 35.4 Wh to 75.1 Wh, and the priciest jacket ships the smallest one.
Top pick: ororo Men's 5-Zone Dual-Control Heated Jacket with Sleeve Heating
The only brand here that names its batteries after their energy - 19, 36, 54 and 74 Wh. Its garment pages publish almost nothing, which makes finding the pack the whole job.
Top pick: Venustas Battery Pack for 7.4V DC & 9V USB-C Heated Apparel, 36Wh
How long does a heated jacket actually last on high?
For the common 7.4 V, 5,200 mAh pack, the maker's own claim is two to three hours on high. That figure lines up with what the pack's published output current allows: 2.5 A at 7.4 V is about 18.5 watts, and 38.5 watt-hours divided by 18.5 watts is a little over two hours. The 8-to-10-hour figure in the advertising is the low setting.
Why do heated jackets advertise 'up to 10 hours'?
Because on the lowest setting they will do it, and 'up to' is doing the work. It is not false. It is just the answer to a question you are unlikely to be asking, because you switched the jacket on to be warm rather than to be slightly less cold for a long time.
Does a jacket with more heating zones keep you warmer?
Not on the same battery. More zones means the same watt-hours divided across more elements. Extra zones are worth paying for when they cover somewhere you are genuinely cold — the neck is the usual one — and not otherwise.
Can I use a bigger battery with my heated jacket?
Usually, if the connector matches and the voltage is the same. A larger pack at the same voltage runs the same elements for longer; it does not make them hotter. That is the correct fix for 'it dies before my shift does' and the wrong fix for 'it is not warm enough'.
Is a heated jacket or a heated vest better?
For most buyers the vest, because it puts the same energy into the same core zones while heating much less fabric, and it layers under a coat you already own. Sleeves matter if your arms are genuinely cold or if you need the jacket to be your outer layer. We work through the whole decision in the jacket-versus-vest comparison.