Heated clothing warranties, and the part the long one does not cover
Two brands here advertise a warranty far better than the category average. Both put the long term on the heating element, which almost never fails, and a short one on the battery, which is a consumable. Read the split before you read the headline.
By Scooter M. · Published October 31, 2026
How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

Heated clothing warranties split the garment into parts and give each a different term. The long numbers you see advertised - Gerbing's lifetime, ororo's three years - cover the heating elements. The battery, which is the part that wears out, gets 90 days at Gerbing and a year at ororo. Read the split, not the headline.
The long warranty is on the part that does not fail
Two brands on this site advertise warranty terms far above the category average, and both of them are telling the truth. What neither headline tells you is which component the number applies to. Here is Gerbing's, from its own warranty page:
| Component | Term |
|---|---|
| Heating elements (Microwire) | For life |
| Batteries and chargers | 90 days from purchase |
| Temperature controllers | One year from purchase |
| All materials, sewing and craftsmanship | One year from purchase |
Gerbing also states that using another manufacturer's accessories or controllers voids the warranty, that it extends only to the original purchaser and applies only to items bought from Gerbing or an authorized dealer, and that the customer pays shipping on all claims.
A lifetime warranty on the wire and 90 days on the battery is the shortest battery term of any brand we track, sitting inside the longest element term of any brand we track. That is not a contradiction and it is not a trick. It is Gerbing being precise about something the rest of the category is vague about: a carbon fiber resistance element has no moving parts and no charge cycles, and a lithium pack has a finite number of both.
ororo splits it the same way with different numbers - three years on heating elements, one year on batteries - and so does Venustas, at three and one. Three brands, three different element terms, and all three put the battery at or below a year. Nobody in this category is willing to stand behind a battery for as long as they will stand behind the thing the battery powers.
Where you buy changes the term - including the link on this page
This is the part we are least comfortable publishing, because it argues against our own buy buttons. ororo's warranty page sets out two different terms for the same garment depending on where you bought it. Direct from ororo, heated clothing - "jackets, vests, hoodies, parkas, pants" - comes with "a complimentary 3-year limited warranty on heating elements and a 1-year limited warranty on batteries". Then, separately:
"Purchases from amazon.com, homedepot.com, walmart.com, ebay.com, woot.com or other authorized channels... are covered with a 1-year limited warranty on heating elements and batteries."
So the three-year element term is a direct-purchase term. Buy the identical jacket from a retailer - including from the Amazon link further down this page, which pays us - and the element cover is one year instead of three. If the long warranty is why you are buying an ororo, buy it from ororo. We earn nothing when you do that, and it is still the right advice.
Venustas has a version of the same thing, worded less clearly: its three-year element warranty is printed as "3-Year Limited Warranty (Venustas Official Website Only)", while the same page says the warranty "applies to all BRAND NEW items sold by venustas.com, Amazon, and other authorized dealers". Those two statements do not reconcile, and we work through them on the Venustas page. The battery's one-year term carries no such parenthetical at either brand.
What makes ororo's version better practice, oddly, is that it is worse news stated plainly. A reader can act on "one year through Amazon". Nobody can act on a parenthetical that the next paragraph contradicts.
So the criteria are not the headline number
- What does the BATTERY get? This is the first question and almost nobody leads with the answer. The battery has a published cycle life - ororo rates its Mini 5K at roughly 800 recharges - so it is the one component with a known expiry. A brand that warrants it for a year is saying more than a brand that warrants an element for ten.
- Is the term the same wherever you buy? At ororo it is explicitly not. At Venustas it is unclear. Everywhere else we looked it appears to be, but "appears to be" is doing work there - most brands simply never raise the question.
- Does anything cover the garment? Usually nothing does. ororo excludes "fabric, zippers and other accessories" by name. Gerbing's one year on materials and craftsmanship is the best garment cover here, and it is a year.
- Who can claim, and who pays? Original purchaser only is the norm. Gerbing says the customer pays shipping on all warranty claims, which on a vest sent across the country is a real fraction of a cheap garment's price.
Our criteria, and what we did not do
- Every term on this page is quoted from a maker's own warranty page or product page, with the URL in Sources. Where a brand publishes nothing, we say so rather than inferring a term from a retailer's listing.
- We ranked on what the BATTERY gets, not on the headline number, because the battery is the part with a published, finite service life.
- We re-read Gerbing's and ororo's warranty pages on 2026-10-31 rather than relying on what our own product registry already said. Both had detail our registry did not carry - Gerbing's 90-day battery term and ororo's channel-dependent term are both new to the site with this page.
- We have not made a warranty claim with any of these brands. Nothing here describes how a claim actually goes, only what the published terms say it should.
- Availability was verified on 2026-10-31 before anything was ranked. One product we wanted - the Fieldsheer Peak vest - returned a single-unit stock flag and was left out.
We have not worn, tested or owned any of these products, and we say so on every page rather than in a footer. What we do instead is compile the published specifications and do the arithmetic. The full method.
Half this category will not tell you anything
Our product registry holds 23 brands. Two of them can be set aside - one sells air-activated warmers with no electronics in them, and one is an unbranded third-party pack - which leaves 21 selling electrically heated gear. Ten of those 21 publish a specific warranty term. Eleven do not. That split is the useful finding, and the silence comes in two kinds.
| Brand | Heating elements | Battery | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gerbing | For life | 90 days | Materials and craftsmanship 1 yr; controllers 1 yr |
| ororo (direct) | 3 years | 1 year | Accessories 1 yr; open-box 6 months; garment wear excluded |
| ororo (Amazon and other retailers) | 1 year | 1 year | ororo's own page states this as a separate term |
| Venustas | 3 years, marked "Official Website Only" | 1 year | Its own page also says the warranty covers Amazon purchases |
| ActionHeat | 1 year | 1 year | Not stated on every product page |
| Fieldsheer | 1 year | 1 year | Stated the same across the line |
| Gobi Heat | 1 year | 1 year | Gobi describes it as full coverage |
| TIDEWE | 1 year | 1 year | "Against defects in materials and workmanship" |
| SAVIOR HEAT | "Free 1-Year Extended Warranty" | Not separated | The word "extended" is not explained |
| Milwaukee | Tool-platform warranty per the listing | Per the platform | No apparel-specific term published |
| DEWALT | 1 year on the heated coat | Per the platform | But 90 days on the DCHV095 puffer vest |
| Dr. Warm | "6-12 month warranty for most products" | Not separated | A range rather than a term |
| Lenz, Therm-ic, Muddy, WASOTO, Thermrup | Nothing published | Nothing published | Not on the product page in any form |
| SNOW DEER, KEMIMOTO, KastKing, ColdBye, Veauney | "Manufacturer warranty per the listing" | Same | A phrase rather than a term |
Lenz and Therm-ic are the surprise in this table. Both are European brands that publish more electrical detail than almost anyone in this category - Lenz publishes a full runtime matrix for every pack and heat level - and neither puts a warranty term on the product page.
The first kind of silence is the one you expect: cheap listings from brands with no service operation behind them. The second kind is Lenz and Therm-ic, who are meticulous about numbers everywhere else. Whatever the reason, it has the same consequence for a buyer: there is nothing to read, so there is nothing to rely on.
The newest garment can carry the shortest term
DEWALT is worth singling out, because it shows that a warranty term is a product decision rather than a brand property. The DCHJ076A heated work jacket carries a one-year limited warranty on DEWALT's own product page. The DCHV095 heated puffer vest - a newer garment, in the same heated line, from the same company - carries 90 days.
We have no explanation for that and DEWALT does not offer one. What it means in practice is that you cannot carry a warranty expectation from one garment to the next even inside a single line, which is the same lesson ororo's accessory tier teaches. Check the page for the thing you are actually buying.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.
| # | Product | Best for | Energy | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gerbing 7V Men's Torrid Softshell Heated Vest 2.0Four settings expressed as percentages of power with a runtime against each, a published 25.16 Wh pack, 135°F stated, … | The most internally consistent runtime ladder on this site | 25.2 Wh | $194.84View on Amazon |
| 2 | ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated JacketThe clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can wor… | A first heated jacket | 38.5 Wh | $159.99View on Amazon |
| 3 | TIDEWE Heated Jacket with Heated Seat PocketFour zones, a waterproof shell, and a heated cushion that unzips out of the back pocket — which is a genuinely good id… | The only jacket here with a heated seat in it | 37.0 Wh | $139.99View on Amazon |
| 4 | Fieldsheer Mobile Warming Tundra Men's Heated JacketThe most granular spec sheet of any garment on this site: five zones, four settings from 90°F to 135°F, a runtime for … | Four settings, each with its own temperature AND its own runtime | 29.6 Wh | $199.99View on Amazon |
| 5 | Venustas Battery Pack for 7.4V DC & 9V USB-C Heated Apparel, 36WhA mid-sized 36 Wh pack, and the clearest battery labeling in heated apparel — the watt-hour figure is in the product t… | The only pack on this site whose energy is its name | 35.5 Wh | $65.99View on Amazon |
#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

Gerbing 7V Men's Torrid Softshell Heated Vest 2.0
Four settings expressed as percentages of power with a runtime against each, a published 25.16 Wh pack, 135°F stated, and a lifetime warranty — and when you invert the numbers the endpoints land exactly where the physics says they should.
#ad Price as of October 31, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 25.2 Wh
- Maker's stated energy
- 3,400 mAh — published by Gerbing as 25.16 Wh
- Implied draw
- 12.58 W at 100%, 3.15 W at 25% — our arithmetic
- Published temperature
- 135°F maximum
- Warranty
- Lifetime
- Heat zones
- Two chest, one back and one neck, in Gerbing's words "Chest (2), Back (1) & Neck (1)"
- Settings
- Four, labeled as power percentages — 100%, 75%, 50% and 25% — with "135° F Maximum heat" published
- Care
- Not published by Gerbing on this listing
On wattage: No wattage is published, but this is the rare case where we can derive it with confidence, because Gerbing labels its settings as PERCENTAGES of power rather than vague steps. 25.16 Wh over the stated 2 hours at 100% is **12.58 W**; over the stated 8 hours at 25% it is **3.15 W**. Those two are in an exact 4:1 ratio, which is precisely what 100% against 25% should give. The 75% and 50% claims are then 11% and 20% MORE conservative than a linear model predicts. A maker whose endpoints are exact and whose middle steps understate is not guessing.
On the pack: A battery IS included here, which on a Gerbing product is the thing to check first: this is the 7V line. Gerbing's 12V line — jacket liners, pant liners, glove liners — ships no battery and expects a motorcycle. Same brand, same website, completely different purchase.
What we like
- Settings given as percentages of power with a runtime for each — nobody else on this site does that
- The endpoints invert to an exact 4:1 ratio, and the middle two steps are conservative rather than flattering
- Gerbing publishes the watt-hours on the listing and they match the capacity exactly
- A neck zone, which is where a still body loses heat and which most vests skip
- Lifetime warranty, against the one year most of this category offers
What we do not
- 25.16 Wh is a small pack — well under a standard 7.4 V apparel battery at 38.5 Wh
- Two hours at full power is short, and that is Gerbing's own figure
- No washing instructions published on the listing
- Easy to confuse with Gerbing's 12V line, which ships no battery at all
Who this suits
Someone who wants to know exactly what each setting costs them in hours, and will accept a small pack to get that honesty.
Who should skip it
You need a long day. 25.16 Wh is among the smallest torso packs here, and Gerbing is upfront that full power empties it in two hours.

ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket
The clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can work out what you are getting instead of taking a marketing number on faith.
The numbers
- Energy
- 38.5 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 5,200 mAh (ororo B19G)
- Published output
- 2.5 A
- Heat zones
- 3
- Maker's runtime claim
- 8-10 h low / 5-6 h medium / 2-3 h high
- Heat zones
- Left and right chest, mid-back
- Settings
- Three, cycled from a single chest button
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: ororo publishes no wattage for the garment. It does publish hours for each of the three settings, which states the draw whether it meant to or not.
What we like
- ororo publishes capacity AND voltage for every pack, which almost nobody else in this category does
- Per-setting runtime claims rather than one 'up to' number, so the low-to-high spread is visible before you buy
- Soft-shell cut layers under a work coat without bulk
What we do not
- No published wattage for the garment itself
- Three zones only — nothing at the arms or the kidneys
- The headline runtime figure is the low setting, as it is everywhere
Who this suits
Someone standing still outdoors for two to four hours at a stretch who wants the power figures on the table before buying.
Who should skip it
You need heat for a full eight-hour shift on high. No 38 Wh pack does that, and this one does not claim to.
Spec sources: ororo — Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack) · Amazon — ororo 7.4V 5200mAh battery listing (per-setting runtime claim)

TIDEWE Heated Jacket with Heated Seat Pocket
Four zones, a waterproof shell, and a heated cushion that unzips out of the back pocket — which is a genuinely good idea for anyone who sits on cold ground, and the reason this is the pick for a stand hunt.
The numbers
- Energy
- 37.0 Wh
- Zones
- Four, plus the heated seat
- Pack
- 10,000 mAh USB bank, about 37 Wh
- Claims
- 10 h low / 5.5 h medium / 3 h high
- Shell
- Waterproof polyester with 120 g insulation
- Heat zones
- Four target zones, plus a separately heated seat cushion in the back pocket
- Settings
- Three, color-coded on the controller
- Care
- Not stated on this listing
On wattage: No wattage published. Against 37 Wh, the three claims invert to roughly 3.7 W on low, 6.7 W on medium and 12.3 W on high — believable for four zones, and near-identical to what TIDEWE's own vest and pants imply. That is worth noticing: three garments with different zone counts and different areas, all quoting the same runtime triplet.
On the pack: Runs off TIDEWE's 10,000 mAh USB power bank — about 37 Wh once you rate it the way USB banks are rated. The same pack powers TIDEWE's vest, pants and seat cushion, so one spare covers the whole outfit.
What we like
- The heated seat cushion is a real answer to sitting on frozen ground, and nothing else on this site has one
- A runtime published for all three settings, so the claims can be inverted
- Waterproof shell in a hunting pattern, which narrows the field considerably
- Shares one pack with TIDEWE's vest, pants and gloves-adjacent gear
What we do not
- No wattage published, and the pack's capacity has to be read at cell voltage to make sense
- The same 10/5.5/3 triplet appears on garments with different zone counts, which suggests a line-wide figure rather than a per-garment measurement
- No care instructions on the listing
- Camo only in this variant, which is the wrong look away from a hunt
Who this suits
A hunter who sits still on cold ground and wants the seat heated as well as the torso.
Who should skip it
You want a jacket for town. The pattern, the cut and the seat cushion are all built for a hide.
Spec sources: Amazon — TIDEWE heated jacket with zippered back pocket heater, Next Camo G2 (four heating zones, three levels, 10 h low / 5.5 h medium / 3 h high, 10,000 mAh pack) · TIDEWE — 10,000 mAh power bank for heated apparel (5 V / 2.4 A dual-USB output, 6.7 oz, UL/FCC/RoHS/CE, one-year warranty)

Fieldsheer Mobile Warming Tundra Men's Heated Jacket
The most granular spec sheet of any garment on this site: five zones, four settings from 90°F to 135°F, a runtime for each of them, and the battery's model number printed on the page.
#ad Price as of October 31, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 29.6 Wh
- Maker's stated energy
- 7.4 V, 4,000 mAh — 29.6 Wh by our arithmetic
- Settings
- Four, with temperatures: 90°F to 135°F
- Claims
- A runtime for every one of the four settings
- Heated sleeves
- Yes — two of the five zones
- Heat zones
- Two chest, one back and two arms, per Fieldsheer
- Settings
- Four adjustable settings, published as 90° up to 135°F
- Care
- Machine wash cold on gentle only, tumble dry low, per Fieldsheer
On wattage: No wattage published, but Fieldsheer's own numbers invert cleanly: 29.6 Wh over the stated 2+ hours on high is up to about 14.8 W, and over 8+ hours on low about 3.7 W. Across five zones that is roughly 3.0 W per zone on high — and the three-zone Peak vest works out at about 2.8 W per zone from its own separate figures. Fieldsheer's runtimes scale with zone count instead of being copied across the line, which is the opposite of what most makers here do.
On the pack: 7.4 V and 4,000 mAh, which multiplies to 29.6 Wh — our figure, because Fieldsheer publishes watt-hours for none of its eight packs. Note the naming collision: the Tundra page calls this the "Powersheer XL", while Fieldsheer's battery catalog gives that name to a 6,000 mAh pack. Buy spares by model number (MWCB74V04021), not by name.
What we like
- Four settings with both a temperature range and a runtime for each — the most complete garment disclosure here
- Heated sleeves, which most jackets in this price band skip entirely
- The implied per-zone draw matches Fieldsheer's own vest figures, so the numbers were calculated rather than copied
- Bluetooth app control with battery level and per-zone settings
What we do not
- Fieldsheer publishes watt-hours for none of its packs, so the 29.6 Wh here is our multiplication rather than their number
- The same pack name is used for two different capacities depending on which page you read
- 2+ hours on high from a 29.6 Wh pack is short, and that is Fieldsheer's own claim
- Softshell construction — wind and water resistant, not an insulated winter coat
Who this suits
Someone who wants heated arms and wants to see exactly what each setting costs them in hours before they buy.
Who should skip it
You need insulation as well as heat. This is a stretch softshell and the warmth budget is 29.6 Wh.
Spec sources: Fieldsheer — Tundra Jacket Men's ("5-Zone Heating System - 2x Chest, 1x Back, 2x Arms"; "4 Adjustable Heat Settings (90° up to 135°)"; "2+ High, 3+ MedHigh, 4+ MedLow, 8+ Low"; Powersheer XL Lithium-Ion 7.4V 4000mAh, model MWCB74V04021; MW Connect app; machine wash cold gentle; 1 year warranty) · Fieldsheer — Battery Technologies (lists eight packs across three voltages: Powersheer 12V, 7.4V+ Plus, 7.4V Standard Li-Ion, Soft Touch 7.4V, 7.4V Heated Glove Battery, 3.7V Premium Sock Battery, 3.7V Standard Sock Battery, 3.7V Thawdaddy — with no mAh, Wh or runtime figure for any of them)

Venustas Battery Pack for 7.4V DC & 9V USB-C Heated Apparel, 36Wh
A mid-sized 36 Wh pack, and the clearest battery labeling in heated apparel — the watt-hour figure is in the product title, on the maker's site and on the retail listing, so you cannot buy the wrong size by accident.
The numbers
- Energy
- 35.5 Wh
- Maker's stated energy
- 36 Wh — printed in the product name
- Capacity
- 4,800 mAh at 7.4 V (35.52 Wh computed)
- Output
- 7.4 V DC and 9 V USB-C per the listing
- Where it sits in the line
- Second of four: 19 / 36 / 54 / 74 Wh
- Heat zones
- Not applicable — this is a battery
- Settings
- Garment-dependent
- Care
- Not washable — remove before laundering the garment
On wattage: No runtime is published for the pack itself, which is correct — runtime depends on the garment. What this pack gives you instead is the one number that makes any runtime calculable: 36 Wh. Pair it with a garment's draw and the arithmetic is yours to do, which is the whole argument of this site.
On the pack: Venustas names its packs by energy rather than by marketing size: 19 Wh, 36 Wh, 54 Wh and 74 Wh. This is the 36 Wh one, and the retail listing carries that figure in its title too. Everywhere else in this category you get a milliamp-hour number with no voltage and have to do the conversion yourself.
What we like
- The watt-hour figure is in the product NAME — no other brand on this site does that
- Named consistently on the maker's site and the retail listing, so the two cannot drift apart
- Sits in a four-pack ladder (19/36/54/74 Wh) that lets you size up deliberately rather than guess
- 7.4 V DC plus 9 V USB-C output, so it is useful beyond the garment
What we do not
- The 36 Wh headline is rounded up about 1.4% from its own 4,800 mAh at 7.4 V (35.52 Wh)
- 36 Wh is mid-sized — Venustas sells 54 Wh and 74 Wh packs, and this is not either of them
- No runtime guidance published for any specific garment
- The attractive 3-year element warranty does not cover the battery, which gets one year
Who this suits
A Venustas owner who wants a second pack and wants to know exactly what they are buying before it arrives.
Who should skip it
Your days are long. Venustas sells a 74 Wh pack that carries more than twice this one, and it is named just as plainly.
Spec sources: Venustas — Battery & Charger collection (every pack carries its watt-hour figure in the PRODUCT NAME: "Mini 7.4V Battery (36Wh), 5K" at 4,800 mAh; "7.4V/12V Battery (54Wh), 7.5K" at 7,200 mAh; "7.4V/12V Battery (74Wh), 10K" at 10,000 mAh; and a "7.4V Battery For Heated Gloves/Socks/Scarf (19Wh), 2.5K") · Amazon — Venustas Battery Pack for 7.4V DC & 9V USB-C Heated Apparel, 36Wh · Venustas — Warranty (effective 1 January 2025: heating elements "3-Year Limited Warranty (Venustas Official Website Only)", battery "1-Year Limited Warranty"; and "Venustas's limited warranty applies to all BRAND NEW items sold by venustas.com, Amazon, and other authorized dealers" — the three-year element term carries the website-only parenthetical, the battery term does not)
The fine print that is easy to miss
- Washing instructions are a warranty condition, not advice. ororo voids cover for damage "resulting from misuse, not following washing instructions, flood, accidental fire, unauthorized service or negligence". How to wash heated clothing is the page for that, and it is worth reading before the first wash rather than after.
- Third-party batteries can void the whole thing. Gerbing states that using another manufacturer's batteries, chargers or controllers voids the warranty. That is worth weighing against the saving on a generic pack - spare and replacement batteries covers what you give up.
- Commercial use is excluded. ororo's warranty "does not cover commercial use", which is a real limitation on a garment category whose best use case is standing outdoors for a living. Nothing we read explains where ororo draws that line.
- Customization voids it. ororo excludes "personal customization that are not authorized/made by us, like embroidery or cutting on the heated clothing" - which rules out adding a company logo to a work garment.
- Proof of purchase is required, and it is channel-specific. ororo requires "proof of purchase from ororowear.com or an authorized retailer"; purchases from unauthorized channels "are not covered with our warranty policy" at all. A marketplace seller you cannot identify is a warranty you do not have.
What we would skip, and why
- Any garment whose maker publishes no term at all
- This is half the category, and it is the single easiest filter to apply. Of the 21 brands we track that sell electrically heated gear, 11 publish no specific warranty term on the pages we can read - five say nothing whatsoever (Lenz, Therm-ic, Muddy, WASOTO and Thermrup), and six offer only "manufacturer warranty per the listing". Several of those are good products we recommend elsewhere on the site for other reasons, and Milwaukee is a fair exception within the group: its heated line has no apparel-specific term because the garments sit under the tool-platform warranty. But if two garments are otherwise close and only one of them will tell you what happens when the element stops working, that is not a hard decision.
- Buying ororo through a retailer, IF the three-year term is your reason
- ororo's own warranty page is unusually clear about this, and it is clear in a direction that costs ororo sales: buying direct gets "a complimentary 3-year limited warranty on heating elements and a 1-year limited warranty on batteries", while purchases from "amazon.com, homedepot.com, walmart.com, ebay.com, woot.com or other authorized channels" are "covered with a 1-year limited warranty on heating elements and batteries". The buy buttons on this page go to Amazon. If you want the three years, buy from ororo and ignore our link - we would rather tell you that than earn a commission on a worse version of the same purchase.
- Reading a warranty as cover for the jacket
- It almost never is. ororo spells out the exclusion: "Wear & tear of the garment, such as fabric, zippers and other accessories are not covered under warranty." Gerbing's one-year term on "all materials, sewing, and craftsmanship" is the most generous garment cover we found, and it is one year against a lifetime on the wire. What you are buying in every case is cover on the electrical system, which means a warranty is not a reason to expect a heated jacket to outlast an unheated one.
- Assuming the jacket's term carries over to the gloves and socks
- It does not, at least not at ororo, which is the only brand here that publishes separate tiers. Heated clothing - "jackets, vests, hoodies, parkas, pants" - gets the three-year element term direct. Heated accessories - "socks, gloves, scarves, seat cushions, hand warmers" - "include a complimentary 1-year limited warranty on heating elements and batteries". The brand's reputation for a long warranty comes from a tier that the heated socks and heated gloves are not in.
- Open-box, if you are buying for the warranty
- ororo's open-box items are honestly described - "change-of-mind or wrong-size returns from our customers", "in unworn and good functioning condition" - and they carry coverage "for any defects or malfunctions of the electronic components and the batteries for up to 6 months from the date of purchase". Six months against three years is a real difference, and the discount may well be worth it. Just do not buy open-box because the brand has a three-year warranty, because on that item it does not.
- Expecting a transferable warranty
- Gerbing's limited warranty "extends only to the original purchaser" and applies only to items bought from Gerbing or an authorized Gerbing dealer; ororo's is "non-transferable" and requires "proof of purchase from ororowear.com or an authorized retailer". Neither of those is unusual or unreasonable, but it does mean a lifetime warranty has no resale value, and it means a gifted garment arrives with less cover than the giver had unless the receipt comes with it.
What this page is not telling you
We have never made a warranty claim with any of these brands, and this page should not be read as evidence about how any of them behaves when you do. A published term is a promise, not a track record. A brand with a one-year warranty and a human answering the phone may serve you better than a brand with a lifetime term and a form that goes nowhere, and nothing on this page can tell you which is which.
We also cannot tell you how often heated clothing actually fails, or which component fails first. The reasoning on this page is about what the terms imply - a maker who warrants a battery for 90 days and an element for life is making a statement about relative risk - not about field failure rates, which nobody in this category publishes.
And warranty terms change. Everything here was read on 2026-10-31 and every source is dated and linked below. Venustas's own warranty document carries an effective date of 1 January 2025; most of the others carry no date at all, which means the only way to be sure is to read the page on the day you buy.
Frequently asked
- Which heated clothing brand has the best warranty?
- Gerbing has the longest term - its heating elements are covered for life - but its batteries and chargers get 90 days, the shortest battery term we found. ororo has the best balanced terms if you buy direct: three years on heating elements and one on the battery. Buy the same ororo garment from a retailer and both drop to one year, by ororo's own published policy.
- Does a heated jacket warranty cover the battery?
- Separately, and for less time. Gerbing covers batteries and chargers for 90 days against a lifetime on the heating elements. ororo and Venustas both give the battery one year against three on the elements. No brand we track warrants the battery for as long as the garment's electrical system.
- Do I lose the warranty if I buy on Amazon?
- At ororo you get a shorter one. Its warranty page states that purchases from "amazon.com, homedepot.com, walmart.com, ebay.com, woot.com or other authorized channels" are "covered with a 1-year limited warranty on heating elements and batteries", against three years on elements when you buy direct. Gerbing covers only items bought from Gerbing or an authorized dealer. Buying from an unidentifiable marketplace seller can leave you with no cover at all.
- Does the warranty cover the jacket itself, or only the heating?
- Almost always only the heating. ororo states that "wear & tear of the garment, such as fabric, zippers and other accessories are not covered under warranty." Gerbing's one year on "all materials, sewing, and craftsmanship" is the broadest garment cover we found in this category, and it is twelve months.
- Do heated gloves and socks get the same warranty as the jacket?
- Not at ororo, the only brand here that publishes separate tiers. Jackets, vests, hoodies, parkas and pants get the three-year element term when bought direct. Socks, gloves, scarves, seat cushions and hand warmers "include a complimentary 1-year limited warranty on heating elements and batteries".
- What voids a heated clothing warranty?
- The published conditions are consistent across the brands that state any: not following the washing instructions, unauthorized service or repair, misuse and negligence. Gerbing adds that using another manufacturer's battery, charger or controller voids it. ororo adds that commercial use is not covered and that unauthorized customization, including embroidery, voids it.
- Is a lifetime warranty on heated clothing worth paying for?
- It depends entirely on what it covers. A lifetime term on a carbon fiber heating element is cover on a part with no moving parts and no charge cycles. If the same brand gives the battery 90 days, the lifetime figure is doing less work than it appears to. Weigh it against what the whole garment costs and what a replacement pack costs, rather than against other brands' headline numbers.
- Can I transfer a heated clothing warranty if I sell the garment?
- No, at the two brands that address it. Gerbing's limited warranty "extends only to the original purchaser". ororo's is "non-transferable" and requires proof of purchase. A lifetime warranty therefore adds nothing to resale value, and a gift arrives with less cover than the buyer had unless the receipt goes with it.
Sources
- Gerbing - Warranty ("The heating elements in our products (Microwire) are covered for life"; batteries and chargers "covered for 90 days from purchase"; temperature controllers one year; "all materials, sewing, and craftsmanship are covered for one year from purchase"; using another manufacturer's accessories or controllers voids the warranty; applies only to items bought from Gerbing or an authorized Gerbing dealer and "extends only to the original purchaser"; the customer pays shipping on all warranty claims; excludes normal wear and tear, improper use, failure to follow instructions, modification, unauthorized repair, accidents and negligence)
- ororo - Warranty (new heated clothing - "jackets, vests, hoodies, parkas, pants" - from ororowear.com "include a complimentary 3-year limited warranty on heating elements and a 1-year limited warranty on batteries"; heated accessories - "socks, gloves, scarves, seat cushions, hand warmers" - "include a complimentary 1-year limited warranty on heating elements and batteries"; "Purchases from amazon.com, homedepot.com, walmart.com, ebay.com, woot.com or other authorized channels" "are covered with a 1-year limited warranty on heating elements and batteries"; open-box items covered "for up to 6 months from the date of purchase"; "This warranty is non-transferable and proof of purchase from ororowear.com or an authorized retailer is required for warranty service"; purchases from unauthorized channels "are not covered with our warranty policy"; "Wear & tear of the garment, such as fabric, zippers and other accessories are not covered under warranty"; voided by "misuse, not following washing instructions, flood, accidental fire, unauthorized service or negligence"; "This warranty does not cover commercial use"; unauthorized "embroidery or cutting on the heated clothing" voids it)
- Venustas - Warranty, effective 1 January 2025 (heating elements "3-Year Limited Warranty (Venustas Official Website Only)"; battery "1-Year Limited Warranty"; "Venustas's limited warranty applies to all BRAND NEW items sold by venustas.com, Amazon, and other authorized dealers" - the three-year element term carries the website-only parenthetical, the battery term does not)
- DEWALT - Men's Heated Puffer Vest, DCHV095BD1 kitted (under the page's own Warranty heading: "90 Days Limited Warranty"; "Quilted polyester shell is designed to repel water and resist wind"; "offers three adjustable heat settings" with no temperatures published; kit includes one heated vest, one DEWALT battery, one charger and one adapter; the term is published per size and reads the same across the listings)
- DEWALT - DCHJ076ATD1 Heavy Duty Tobacco Heated Work Jacket Kit (1-year limited warranty, against the 90 days on the newer DCHV095 puffer vest in the same heated line)
- ororo - Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack; the Mini 5K published as "4800 mAh, 7.4V, and 35.4Wh" and rated for roughly 800 recharge cycles - the published cycle life this page refers to)
- Gerbing - 7V Men's Torrid Softshell Heated Vest 2.0 (four settings published as percentages of power - 100% 2 h / 75% 3 h / 50% 5 h / 25% 8 h; "135° F Maximum heat"; 3,400 mAh published as 25.16 Wh; zones "Chest (2), Back (1) & Neck (1)"; Gerbing Lifetime Warranty)
- Fieldsheer - Tundra Heated Jacket, men's (four settings published as 90°F up to 135°F with 2 / 3 / 4 / 8 hour claims; five zones including two arms; 7.4 V 4,000 mAh pack; 1 year warranty)
- TIDEWE - Heated Jacket with Zippered Back Pocket Heater (four zones plus a separately heated seat cushion; 10 h low / 5.5 h medium / 3 h high; waterproof polyester with 120 g insulation; 10,000 mAh USB power bank; "one year from purchase against defects in materials and workmanship")
- Venustas - Battery Pack for 7.4V DC & 9V USB-C Heated Apparel, 36Wh (the watt-hour figure printed in the product name; 4,800 mAh at 7.4 V; 7.4 V DC and 9 V USB-C output; Venustas states a 1-Year Limited Warranty on batteries)
Related

Guides
The questions the product pages do not answer: sizing, zones, safety, washing, cost.

Gerbing heated gear, and the 12V trap sitting next to the 7V one
Two platforms under one brand: 7V ships a battery and the most checkable runtime table we have tested, 12V ships a plug and expects a motorcycle.

ororo heated apparel, and the 2x battery spread hiding inside one brand
The only brand here publishing a full battery lineup - which is how you can see that its packs run 35.4 Wh to 75.1 Wh, and the priciest jacket ships the smallest one.

Venustas heated apparel, and the brand that puts the watt-hours in the name
The only brand here that names its batteries after their energy - 19, 36, 54 and 74 Wh. Its garment pages publish almost nothing, which makes finding the pack the whole job.

Washing heated clothing without wrecking it
Battery out, cold and gentle, dry flat. Four rules, a garment-by-garment table, and the part that cannot be repaired.

Spare and replacement batteries, converted before you buy
A second pack is the cheapest real upgrade here. Every capacity claim converted to watt-hours, with the airline band attached — including the class that quietly stops being carry-on legal.

Charging a heated clothing battery, and making it last
Charge time is energy divided by charger watts. That sum, plus the storage habits that decide whether a pack lasts two winters or five.

Are heated jackets worth it?
Four situations where it clearly pays, four where better layering wins, and a value ranking that puts the jacket fourth.