Heated jackets for men, ranked by what the battery can actually do
Every jacket here is graded on the same two questions: how much energy does it carry, and what does the maker admit about the draw?
By Scooter M. · Published August 31, 2026
How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

The best heated jacket for most men is the one whose battery specifications are actually published, because that is the only kind you can check. The common 7.4 V, 5,200 mAh pack holds 38.5 watt-hours and its own 2.5 A output rating caps delivery at about 18.5 watts — a little over two hours at full draw, whatever the box says.
What separates these five
Ignore the photographs for a moment. Every jacket on this page is a fabric shell wrapped around three to six carbon-fiber elements and a lithium pack. The shells differ in ways you can judge from a listing photograph. The packs differ in ways you cannot, and the packs are what determine whether the jacket is any use to you on a Tuesday in February.
So the ranking below is built on one question: what does the maker publish, and what does it work out to? A maker that publishes capacity, voltage and output current for every pack it sells has given you enough to do the arithmetic yourself. A maker that publishes a single runtime figure has given you a conclusion and withheld the working.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.
| # | Product | Best for | Energy | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated JacketThe clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can wor… | A first heated jacket | 38.5 Wh | $159.99View on Amazon |
| 2 | Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because… | Anyone already on M12 | 21.6 Wh | $219.00View on Amazon |
| 3 | Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated JacketMore heating elements than anything else at the price, which cuts both ways: the same pack energy is divided further, … | Most heating zones for the money | 37.0 Wh | $139.99View on Amazon |
| 4 | ororo PD 7K Rechargeable Battery for Heated Apparel7,000 mAh of LG cells with a published 13.5-hour claim and a six-mark certification list — the biggest step up availab… | The largest ororo pack you can actually buy | 51.8 Wh | $89.99View on Amazon |
| 5 | Venustas Unisex Pullover Heated HoodieA heated mid-layer rather than a coat, which is the right call for anyone whose cold problem is a drafty warehouse rat… | Heat that does not look like workwear | 37.0 Wh | $129.99View on Amazon |
#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket
The clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can work out what you are getting instead of taking a marketing number on faith.
The numbers
- Energy
- 38.5 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 5,200 mAh (ororo B19G)
- Published output
- 2.5 A
- Heat zones
- 3
- Maker's runtime claim
- 8-10 h low / 5-6 h medium / 2-3 h high
- Heat zones
- Left and right chest, mid-back
- Settings
- Three, cycled from a single chest button
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: ororo publishes no wattage for the garment. It does publish hours for each of the three settings, which states the draw whether it meant to or not.
What we like
- ororo publishes capacity AND voltage for every pack, which almost nobody else in this category does
- Per-setting runtime claims rather than one 'up to' number, so the low-to-high spread is visible before you buy
- Soft-shell cut layers under a work coat without bulk
What we do not
- No published wattage for the garment itself
- Three zones only — nothing at the arms or the kidneys
- The headline runtime figure is the low setting, as it is everywhere
Who this suits
Someone standing still outdoors for two to four hours at a stretch who wants the power figures on the table before buying.
Who should skip it
You need heat for a full eight-hour shift on high. No 38 Wh pack does that, and this one does not claim to.
Spec sources: ororo — Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack) · Amazon — ororo 7.4V 5200mAh battery listing (per-setting runtime claim)

Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because you already own four of them.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 21.6 Wh
- Pack
- M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0, 2.0 Ah
- Voltage used here
- 10.8 V nominal (marketed as 12 V)
- Heat zones
- 3
- Maker's runtime claim
- 12 h low / 6 h medium / 3 h high
- Heat zones
- Chest, back and hand pockets
- Settings
- Three, plus a preheat cycle
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: Milwaukee publishes run-time, not watts — but it publishes all three settings, which is more than most of this category manages. The 12/6/3 pattern is a clean doubling of draw at each step. Milwaukee does not state which M12 pack those hours assume, so the resulting wattage is a shape rather than a fixed figure.
On the pack: Sold bare. The live listing title reads "Jacket Only" — no pack and no charger in the box. That is the right buy if you already run M12 and the wrong one if you do not. See [which garments include a battery](/battery/battery-included-or-separate).
What we like
- Hot-swappable packs — the only real answer to a short runtime is a second battery, and you already have one
- Genuinely durable shell fabric, built for work rather than for a catalog photo
- The pack doubles as a tool battery, so nothing in the van is single-purpose
What we do not
- The 2.0 Ah pack is small by heated-apparel standards once you convert it honestly
- Jacket-only SKUs ship without a battery, which is easy to miss at checkout
- Heavier than a soft-shell layer
Who this suits
A trades worker with an M12 kit already in the van, for whom a spare pack costs nothing extra to carry.
Who should skip it
You own no M12 tools. Buying into a tool platform for one jacket is the most expensive route into heated clothing.
Spec sources: Milwaukee Tool — M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0 battery, 12V 2.0Ah · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated Jacket Kit (up to 8 hours on the REDLITHIUM 2.0) · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL jacket kit

Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated Jacket
More heating elements than anything else at the price, which cuts both ways: the same pack energy is divided further, and Venustas does not publish the wattage that would tell you by how much.
The numbers
- Energy
- 37.0 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V (capacity varies by SKU)
- Heat zones
- 6
- Maker's runtime claim
- Up to 10 h, setting unspecified
- Controls
- Two independent circuits
- Heat zones
- Neck, left and right chest, mid-back, both hand pockets
- Settings
- Three, with the upper and lower circuits controlled separately
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: No published wattage. One 'up to 10 hours' figure with no setting attached, which is the least informative form the claim can take.
On the pack: Venustas ships a 7.4 V pack and advertises up to 10 hours. The capacity varies by SKU and is not published consistently, so treat the watt-hour figure here as approximate and check the listing for the pack you are actually buying.
What we like
- Dual control is genuinely useful — pocket heat is what you want standing still, core heat is what you want moving
- Six zones reach the neck, which most three-zone jackets leave cold
- Detachable hood, so it layers under a shell
What we do not
- No published wattage and no per-setting runtime, so the power story is one unqualified number
- Pack capacity is not stated consistently across SKUs sold under similar names
- More zones on the same pack is not more heat — it is the same heat spread thinner
Who this suits
Someone who wants pocket heat and core heat on separate switches and is buying on coverage rather than runtime.
Who should skip it
You want to know what you are buying in watt-hours before you buy it. On this jacket you cannot, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
Spec sources: Venustas — heated jacket collection

ororo PD 7K Rechargeable Battery for Heated Apparel
7,000 mAh of LG cells with a published 13.5-hour claim and a six-mark certification list — the biggest step up available to an ororo owner, because the larger PD 10K is not sold through this retailer.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 51.8 Wh
- Capacity
- 7,000 mAh at 7.27 V — about 50.9 Wh
- Published output
- 30 W out, up to 24 W in
- Recharge
- Fully recharged within 3 hours
- Certification
- UL2056, CE, FCC, CB, WEEE, CA65 per ororo
- Heat zones
- Not applicable — this is a battery
- Settings
- Garment-dependent
- Care
- Not washable — remove before laundering the garment
On wattage: No garment wattage is published, but this pack states its own delivery figures: "up to 24W input" and "30W output". The 30 W output is a ceiling for charging devices rather than a figure any ororo garment draws — inverting the 13.5-hour claim against about 50.9 Wh gives roughly 3.8 W, which is the draw that claim actually assumes.
On the pack: Worth reading the voltage twice. This pack's own product page gives "7.27V", while ororo's battery guide lists the PD 7K at 7.4 V. At 7.27 V the 7,000 mAh works out to about 50.9 Wh; at 7.4 V it is 51.8 Wh. We use the figure printed on the product page itself and note the 2% disagreement rather than quietly picking the flattering one.
What we like
- The largest ororo pack actually purchasable here — roughly 43% more energy than the Mini 5K that ships with several ororo garments
- ororo publishes a real certification list, with UL2056 printed on the casing
- USB-C in and out at 30 W means it doubles as a fast phone bank
- Three-hour full recharge is quick for this capacity
What we do not
- ororo's own two pages disagree on the voltage — 7.27 V on the product page, 7.4 V in the battery guide
- No watt-hour figure printed for this pack, unlike ororo's Mini 5K and PD 5K pages
- The larger PD 10K exists in ororo's lineup but is not sold through this retailer
- Costs a meaningful fraction of a whole garment, which is the usual complaint about spare packs
Who this suits
An ororo owner whose garment shipped with a Mini 5K and who has discovered that the battery, not the jacket, is what ends their day.
Who should skip it
Your garment already ships a PD 5K or larger and your days are short. The jump from 37.5 Wh to 50.9 Wh is real but it is not transformative.
Spec sources: ororo — 7000 mAh PD 7K Rechargeable Battery ("7,000mAh" with "premium LG cells"; voltage given as "7.27V" on this page against 7.4 V in ororo's battery guide; "up to 24W input"; "30W output"; "fully recharged within 3 hours"; "up to 13.5 hours of heat"; "UL2056, CE, FCC, CB, WEEE, CA65 certified"; "1 USB-C Port, 1 USB-C Cable, 1 DC Port"; NTC sensor) · ororo — Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack)

Venustas Unisex Pullover Heated Hoodie
A heated mid-layer rather than a coat, which is the right call for anyone whose cold problem is a drafty warehouse rather than a snowfield.
The numbers
- Energy
- 37.0 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V (capacity varies by SKU)
- Heat zones
- 3
- Layer
- Mid-layer, not outerwear
- Heat zones
- Mid-back and both chest panels
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: No published wattage, and no per-setting runtime either.
On the pack: Capacity is not published consistently for the hoodie SKUs. The 7.4 V figure is the platform voltage Venustas states for its packs.
What we like
- Passes as ordinary clothing, which matters if you are warming up on a touchline rather than a job site
- Cotton-blend face is more comfortable against skin than a shell fabric
- Cheaper entry point than a full heated jacket
What we do not
- No wind or water resistance worth the name — it is a sweatshirt with a battery
- The same missing wattage figure as the rest of the Venustas line
- Pullover cut makes the battery pocket harder to reach
Who this suits
Someone cold indoors or in mild outdoor conditions who wants heat without the outerwear silhouette.
Who should skip it
You need to stand in wind. Put a shell over it, or buy a jacket.
Spec sources: Venustas — heated jacket collection
The energy figures, side by side
This is the table this category does not print. Every watt-hour figure below is capacity times nominal voltage — nothing else — and every capacity traces to the source linked on the product card.
Watt-hours, and what they buy
Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.
| Product | Capacity | Volts | Energy | Ceiling draw | Shortest runtime | Implied draw at the claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket | 5,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 38.5 Wh | 18.5 W | 2h 05m | 15.4 Wat 2.5 h high |
| Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20) | 2,000 mAh | 10.8 V | 21.6 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 7.2 Wat 3 h high |
| Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated Jacket | 5,000 mAh | 7.4 V | 37.0 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 3.7 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim |
| ororo PD 7K Rechargeable Battery for Heated Apparel | 7,000 mAh | 7.4 V | 51.8 Wh | 22.2 W | 2h 20m | 3.8 Wat 13.5 h maker's headline claim, with ororo apparel |
| Venustas Unisex Pullover Heated Hoodie | 5,000 mAh | 7.4 V | 37.0 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 3.7 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim |
“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.
Two things jump out. The first is how small these numbers are: 38 watt-hours is roughly a mid-size phone power bank, being asked to warm fabric against winter air. The second is the Milwaukee row, where converting honestly at 10.8 V nominal rather than the marketed 12 V knocks 11% off the figure — and still leaves the smallest pack on the page.
Fit, and why it is a power decision
Men's heated jackets are cut with more room than a comparable non-heated shell, because the elements need to sit flat against a mid-layer rather than bunching. That has a consequence people miss: a heated jacket that is too big is heating the air in the gap, and air is a very poor thermal contact.
The practical rule is to size for the layer you will actually wear underneath, not for your usual jacket size. If you plan to wear a fleece under it, try it over a fleece. If you plan to wear it over a shirt, the extra room is working against you. Heated jacket sizing has the full version, including what to do if you are between sizes.
The eight-hour shift problem
If your day outdoors is longer than about three hours, no single pack in this category solves it on a useful setting. That is not a criticism of any particular jacket — it is what 38 watt-hours means.
There are exactly two honest answers. Carry a second pack, or buy into a platform where you already own several. The tool-battery jackets look unremarkable on paper and considerably better on a job site, because the runtime question becomes 'how many packs are in the van' rather than 'how long does one last'. That is the argument heated jackets for work makes at length. If a shell is not what you are after, the heated hoodie roundup covers the softer format and what its fabric gives up.
What we would skip, and why
- Any jacket that publishes a runtime but not a capacity
- If a listing tells you 'up to 10 hours' and will not tell you the milliamp-hours or the voltage, there is nothing to check. Every conclusion on this page comes from converting a published capacity — no capacity, no arithmetic, no reason to trust the hours. Several mid-tier brands sell exclusively this way and we will not rank them.
- Six-zone jackets bought for warmth rather than coverage
- More elements on the same pack is the same energy spread thinner. Extra zones are worth paying for when they reach somewhere you are genuinely cold — the neck usually — and not otherwise. Buying a six-zone jacket over a three-zone one because six is a bigger number is the most common overspend in this category.
Our criteria, and what we did not do
- Published capacity and voltage first. A jacket whose pack specs are published anywhere — the product page, the maker's battery guide, or the replacement-pack listing — can be converted into watt-hours. One that cannot is not comparable and does not get ranked.
- Per-setting runtime beats a single 'up to' figure. A maker publishing 8-10 h low / 2-3 h high is telling you something. A maker publishing 'up to 10 hours' with no setting attached is telling you the best case and calling it the specification.
- Zones are counted, not credited. We record the zone count and where the elements sit. We do not treat more zones as better, because on a fixed pack it is not.
- Insulation counts as power. A jacket that holds heat needs less of it. An uninsulated shell spends battery replacing warmth that a better layer would have kept for free.
- We have not worn any of these. Everything above is derived from published specifications. How we do this, in full.
We have not worn, tested or owned any of these products, and we say so on every page rather than in a footer. What we do instead is compile the published specifications and do the arithmetic. The full method.
Frequently asked
- What is the best heated jacket for men?
- For most people, the one whose battery specifications are published, so you can check the runtime claim rather than accept it. The ororo soft shell is our top pick on that basis: capacity, voltage and output current are all published, and the runtime claim is broken out per setting rather than given as one 'up to' figure.
- How many watt-hours does a heated jacket battery hold?
- The common configuration is 7.4 V and 5,200 mAh, which is 38.5 watt-hours. Tool-platform jackets run smaller: an M12 2.0 Ah pack is 21.6 watt-hours at the platform's 10.8 V nominal.
- Will a heated jacket last a full work day?
- Not on one pack at a useful setting. 38 watt-hours against a draw that the pack's own output rating caps at 18.5 watts gives you a little over two hours at maximum. A full shift needs spare packs, which is why tool-platform jackets suit trades work.
- Are six-zone heated jackets warmer than three-zone?
- Not on the same battery. Six elements share the same watt-hours three elements would have had. Extra zones are worth buying when they cover somewhere you are actually cold, such as the neck, and are not worth a premium otherwise.
- Should I size up in a heated jacket?
- Size for the layer you will genuinely wear underneath, and no more. A jacket with too much room is heating the air gap rather than you, and thermal contact is what makes the element feel warm.
Sources
Related

Heated Jackets
The biggest category and the noisiest claims. We convert capacity and voltage into watt-hours, then into hours at each setting.

Heated jackets for work, where the runtime claim meets an eight-hour shift
Why the runtime question on a job site is really a logistics question, and which jackets answer it.

Heated jacket or heated vest? Three questions decide it
Same pack, same elements, different amount of fabric. Three questions that settle which one you should buy.

Heated clothing sizing: contact is the whole point
Elements warm what they touch. Sizing rules for jackets, vests, gloves and socks, and the trap in each.

Heated jackets in big and tall sizes
Most of the category stops at 2XL without saying so. What is documented past it, which maker offers a genuine tall cut, and why a bigger jacket needs a bigger battery it does not get.

Fieldsheer and Mobile Warming: the best garment specs in the category, on top of a battery page that tells you nothing
Four settings with a temperature and a runtime for each, and per-zone draws that hold across three garments - sitting on top of a battery page with eight packs and no capacity figures at all.

Fieldsheer Mobile Warming Tundra review: the spec sheet everyone else should copy
Four settings with a temperature AND a runtime for each, heated sleeves, and claims that survive inversion across three garments. The documentation is the best here; the 29.6 Wh pack is the limit.