Skip to content
Volt Wool
Reviews / Heated mittens

SAVIOR HEAT heated mittens: the physics is right, the spec sheet is the worst we have read

This is the product this site puts first for cold-limited hands, so it deserves the hardest look. The mitten argument survives it. SAVIOR's own page does not.

By Scooter M. · Published October 17, 2026

How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens

Buy them for the shape, not the electronics. A mitten keeps four fingers in one chamber, which is a real thermal advantage no glove can match at the same power - and that is why this is our first suggestion for cold-limited hands. But SAVIOR publishes three different runtime sets and two different battery capacities on one page, so treat every hour figure here as unverified.

Why a mitten beats a glove before any battery is involved

The reason this product leads our Raynaud's page has nothing to do with SAVIOR. It is geometry, and it would be true of an unheated mitten too.

A hand loses heat through its surface. Split the fingers into five separate fabric tubes and you have created a great deal more surface area than the same hand wrapped in one chamber - and you have removed the fingers' ability to warm each other. Put the same element and the same battery behind both and the mitten wins, because it is spending its watts on a smaller problem.

That matters most for exactly the people searching for this. Where circulation is the limiting factor rather than insulation, the fingers are not generating much heat of their own, so anything that reduces the loss is worth more than anything that adds supply. It is the same reason our heated gloves for arthritis and Raynaud's page treats fit as a bigger lever than wattage.

Verdict first

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.

#ProductBest forEnergyPrice
1
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski MittensPhysics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets…
The coldest hands on the list16.3 Wh$109.99View on Amazon
2
SNOW DEER Heated Mittens, 7.4V 2200mAh
SNOW DEER Heated Mittens, 7.4V 2200mAhThe other established heated mitten on the shelf: the shape clinical guidance favors, on the same 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh pac…
A second mitten option, at a lower price bracket16.3 Wh$119.99View on Amazon
3
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove LinersThe most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated …
Keeping the gloves you already own16.3 Wh$107.99View on Amazon
4
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated GlovesThe same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glo…
Smaller hands that still want full-finger heat23.8 Wh$245.09View on Amazon

#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens
#1 · The coldest hands on the list

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens

Physics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets more warmth out of the same watt-hours than a glove does.

$109.99View on Amazon

$129.9915% off

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
16.3 Wh
Pack
7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh
Capacity conflict
SAVIOR's own Tech Specs says 3,000 mAh instead
Coverage
Full hand including palm, per SAVIOR
Shell
Waterproof and windproof; 100D twill with laminated coating
Format
Mitten
Heat zones
"Full-Hand Heating Coverage" from "Carbon fiber heating elements", with "Added palm heating" as well as the back of the hand, per SAVIOR
Settings
Three, published as Low 104-113°F, Medium 122-131°F and High 131-149°F
Care
"Hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning", per SAVIOR

On wattage: Not published, and barely derivable — this is the worst-documented product this site recommends first anywhere. SAVIOR's own page gives THREE different runtime sets and TWO different capacities. Taking the hours above against 16.3 Wh gives about 6.5 W high, 2.7 W medium and 2.0 W low; swap in the Tech Specs hours (2-3 / 5-6 / 10-12) or the 3,000 mAh figure and the implied low-setting draw moves between about 1.4 W and 3.7 W. A 2.7x spread, entirely from one manufacturer page.

On the pack: 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh — which is the figure in SAVIOR's own body copy and matches the replacement-pack listing. SAVIOR's Tech Specs block on the SAME page says "7.4V 3000mAh battery" instead, which would be 22.2 Wh. We use the smaller figure because it is the one two independent sources agree on, and we flag the disagreement rather than averaging it.

What we like

  • Mitten geometry keeps fingers warmer at any given power level
  • Better for circulation-limited hands than a fingered glove
  • Same pack family as the rest of the SAVIOR line

What we do not

  • You cannot do anything precise in them
  • SAVIOR's own page contradicts itself on capacity (2,200 vs 3,000 mAh) and gives three different runtime sets
  • No wattage published, and the runtime conflict makes it hard to derive one
  • Getting them on and off around a pole strap is a fiddle

Who this suits

Skiers and anyone whose hands go numb regardless of what they wear.

Who should skip it

You need to hold a tool, a camera or a phone.

Spec sources: Savior Heat — Heated Ski Mittens, the brand's own product page ("Three Adjustable Heating Settings"; "3 heat levels (Low: 104-113°F, Medium:122-131 °F, High: 131- 149°F)"; "Carbon fiber heating elements" with "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" and "Added palm heating helps warm every finger, fingertip, palm, and back of hand"; "Waterproof and windproof materials"; velvet lining and "100D twill fabric with laminated coating" outer; "hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning"; "Free 1-Year Extended Warranty"; product named "S66E Classic Heated Winter Mittens". THE PAGE CONTRADICTS ITSELF: the body copy says "7.4V 2200mAh rechargeable battery power" while the Tech Specs section says "7.4V 3000mAh battery", and it gives THREE different runtime sets — Heating Performance "High: 149°F / 65°C | Up to 2.5H Runtime", "Medium: 131°F / 55°C | Up to 6H Runtime", "Low: 113°F / 45°C | Up to 8H Runtime"; Tech Specs "High: 2-3 hours", "Medium: 5-6 hours", "Low: 10-12 hours"; and the FAQ "about 2–3 hours on high, 4–5 hours on medium, and 6–10 hours on low") · Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

SNOW DEER Heated Mittens, 7.4V 2200mAh
#2 · A second mitten option, at a lower price bracket

SNOW DEER Heated Mittens, 7.4V 2200mAh

The other established heated mitten on the shelf: the shape clinical guidance favors, on the same 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh pack class as SAVIOR's — with a spec sheet that stops at the battery.

$119.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
16.3 Wh
Shape
Mitten — fingers share one chamber
Pack
7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand, stated in the title
Runtime
Not published for this mitten
Heat zones
Not stated on the listing
Settings
Not stated on the listing
Care
Not stated

On wattage: No wattage and no runtime published for this mitten, so the 16.3 Wh cannot be turned into hours. Runtime figures do circulate for other SNOW DEER mitten variants; we have not borrowed them for this one.

On the pack: The listing title states 7.4 V and 2,200 mAh, which is about 16.3 Wh per hand. SNOW DEER's own store lists the same figures and nothing further for this mitten — no heat-setting count, no element placement, no runtime.

What we like

  • A mitten, which is the shape clinical guidance says is warmer than a glove
  • Pack capacity and voltage stated on the listing itself
  • Same pack class as SAVIOR's extremity gear, so spares are easy to find
  • Room inside for a thin liner, which is the layering clinicians describe

What we do not

  • Publishes the battery and almost nothing else — no settings count, no element layout, no runtime
  • No wattage published
  • A mitten has no dexterity; it comes off for anything fiddly
  • 16.3 Wh per hand is a small budget for a long day out

Who this suits

Someone with cold-sensitive hands who wants a heated mitten and is comfortable buying on the shape and the stated pack.

Who should skip it

You want to know the runtime before you buy. This listing does not tell you.

Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER heated mittens, 7.4V 2200mAh rechargeable battery (stated in the listing title) · Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
#3 · Keeping the gloves you already own

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners

The most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated glove for anyone who has to actually use their hands.

$107.99View on Amazon

$119.9910% off

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
16.3 Wh
Pack
7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand
Thickness
Liner — fits inside a work or ski glove
Touchscreen
Yes, per the listing
Heat zones
Back of hand and fingers
Settings
Three
Care
Hand wash with the battery out

On wattage: No published wattage. Small packs and a small element area, so the runtime spread between settings is wide.

On the pack: Liner packs in this class are 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh. The capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listing rather than on the glove listing.

What we like

  • Fits under gloves you already trust, so you keep your grip and your dexterity
  • Cheapest route into heated hands by a wide margin
  • Packs are small enough to live in a coat pocket

What we do not

  • Smallest packs here — about 16 Wh a hand, and the arithmetic on that is unforgiving
  • No wind or water protection of their own
  • The fit under a tight glove can be a squeeze

Who this suits

Trades workers, photographers, anyone who has to do something with their fingers in the cold.

Who should skip it

You want long runtime. This is the smallest energy budget on the site and it shows.

Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves
#4 · Smaller hands that still want full-finger heat

Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves

The same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glove that fits badly heats air instead of skin.

$245.09View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
23.8 Wh
Pack
7 V, 3,400 mAh per glove
Sizing
Women's last, from XS
Element coverage
Full finger
Heat zones
Back of hand and all five fingers
Settings
Three
Care
Spot clean

On wattage: No published wattage; capacity and voltage are published.

What we like

  • A genuine women's last rather than a shrunk men's glove
  • Full-finger element, which the smaller heated gloves usually drop
  • Largest published per-hand capacity in its size range

What we do not

  • No wattage published
  • Expensive
  • Still bulky for fine work

Who this suits

Anyone whose hands are too narrow for a men's small, which is a real and badly served group.

Who should skip it

You want dexterity — the liner is the better answer.

Spec sources: Amazon — Gerbing 7V Men's S7 heated gloves (two 7V 3400mAh packs included)

What SAVIOR publishes, and why you cannot rely on it

We went to the maker's own product page expecting the usual gap - a capacity, no wattage, one headline runtime. What we found was worse than a gap. The page disagrees with itself, repeatedly, about the two numbers that matter.

Three runtime sets, from one manufacturer page
Where on the pageHighMediumLow
Heating Performance block"Up to 2.5H""Up to 6H""Up to 8H"
Tech Specs block"2-3 hours""5-6 hours""10-12 hours"
FAQ"about 2-3 hours""4-5 hours""6-10 hours"

All three are quoted verbatim from the same SAVIOR product page. The low-setting claim ranges from 6 hours to 12 depending which block you read.

And the capacity does the same thing. The body copy reads "7.4V 2200mAh rechargeable battery power". The Tech Specs block on the same page reads "7.4V 3000mAh battery". That is 16.3 watt-hours against 22.2 - a 36% difference in how much energy you are being sold.

What that does to the arithmetic

Our whole method is to invert a runtime claim into an implied draw, because that is the number that tells you whether the claim is physically sensible. Here the inversion produces a range rather than a figure.

Implied draw on LOW, across every published combination
Runtime claimAt 2,200 mAh (16.3 Wh)At 3,000 mAh (22.2 Wh)
FAQ, 6 h2.71 W3.70 W
Heating Performance, 8 h2.04 W2.78 W
Tech Specs / FAQ, 10 h1.63 W2.22 W
Tech Specs, 12 h1.36 W1.85 W

Our arithmetic, from SAVIOR's own figures. We have not measured anything.

1.36 watts to 3.70 watts - a 2.7x spread, produced entirely by reading different parts of one page. On the high setting the same exercise gives 5.4 W to 11.1 W. There is no way to choose between them from the outside, and SAVIOR does not publish a wattage that would settle it.

For comparison, this site can pin a figure for most things it covers. The Thermrup insoles publish a voltage, a capacity and a 7 W ceiling. Gerbing's 12V liner publishes 77 W because a motorcycle circuit has to be fused for it. SAVIOR's mitten is at the other end of that scale, and it is the only product we lead with anywhere that we cannot put a number on.

What the page does say clearly

In fairness, the parts of the spec sheet that are not about energy are better than most of this category manages:

  • Coverage is specified and it is unusually complete. "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" from "Carbon fiber heating elements", with "Added palm heating helps warm every finger, fingertip, palm, and back of hand". Palm heating is rare - most heated handwear puts the element on the back of the hand only.
  • Temperatures are published per setting: "3 heat levels (Low: 104-113°F, Medium:122-131 °F, High: 131- 149°F)".
  • The shell is specified: "Waterproof and windproof materials", a velvet lining and a "100D twill fabric with laminated coating" outer.
  • Care is stated: "hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning" - note hand wash, not machine.
  • Warranty is stated: "Free 1-Year Extended Warranty".

The palm heating is the detail we would actually buy this for after the mitten shape. Blood reaches your fingers through the palm, so warming there is warming the supply rather than the extremity - which is the right place to spend a small battery on a circulation problem.

Who should buy these

Someone whose hands go numb regardless of what they wear, who will be stationary or semi-stationary in the cold, and who does not need to do anything precise with their fingers. That is skiers between runs, spectators, people walking a dog in January, and the Raynaud's reader this site sees more of than any other.

If that is you, the thing to understand is that you are buying the shape first and the electronics second, and that the electronics are an unknown quantity within roughly a factor of two. On the low setting that most people will actually use, the honest expectation is somewhere between six and ten hours, and you should plan for the low end.

Who should not

Anyone who needs their fingers. A mitten is a mitten - you cannot work a zipper, a camera, a rifle bolt or a phone in one without taking it off, and taking a heated mitten off repeatedly around a pole strap or a battery lead is a genuine irritation rather than a theoretical one.

Anyone who wants to know what they are buying, too. If the disclosure above bothers you - and it is a reasonable thing to be bothered by - the alternatives below are better documented even where they are thermally worse.

The alternatives, and when each one wins

The other mitten

The SNOW DEER heated mittens run on the same 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh pack family, which means the same energy budget and - being honest - a broadly similar silence about what the element draws. Pick between them on fit and price rather than on specification, because neither gives you enough to choose on.

You need your fingers back

The SAVIOR glove liners, which we reviewed separately. They carry the smallest pack in the category and are the least powerful thing here, but they go under a glove or mitten you already own, which makes them the most flexible option on this page and the cheapest route into heated handwear. They are also the answer if your existing gloves fit well and you only want to add heat.

You want full fingers and real documentation

The Gerbing 7V women's S7 gloves, cut on a narrower last rather than being a scaled-down men's glove - which matters, because a heated glove that fits badly heats air instead of skin. They are several times the price of the SAVIOR mittens and you give up the mitten's thermal advantage, but Gerbing is a serious manufacturer and the sizing is the real reason to consider them for smaller hands. Our heated gloves for women page goes through that fit question properly.

The verdict

We still recommend these first for cold-limited hands, and we are keeping that recommendation after writing this page - because the mitten argument is physics and it does not depend on SAVIOR being a good documenter. Full-hand coverage including the palm is the right design for a circulation problem, the published temperatures are sensible, and the price sits in the middle of the category rather than the top.

But we are not going to pretend the spec sheet is adequate. A manufacturer that cannot keep its own capacity consistent within one page has not earned the benefit of the doubt on anything it says about runtime, and you should buy these expecting the pessimistic end of every figure on them. If SAVIOR tightened its documentation this would be an easy recommendation instead of a qualified one.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are heated mittens better than heated gloves for Raynaud's?
Generally yes, and the reason is geometry rather than electronics. Five fingers in five separate fabric tubes have far more surface area to lose heat through than four fingers sharing one chamber, and separated fingers cannot warm each other. Where circulation is the limiting factor the fingers are not producing much heat of their own, so reducing the loss is worth more than adding supply. The cost is obvious: you cannot do anything precise in a mitten.
How long do the SAVIOR HEAT heated mittens last on a charge?
SAVIOR does not give a single answer. Its own product page carries three different runtime sets - Heating Performance says up to 2.5 hours high, 6 medium and 8 low; Tech Specs says 2-3, 5-6 and 10-12; the FAQ says about 2-3, 4-5 and 6-10. We use the most conservative set and convert at the smaller of the two capacities it publishes, which gives roughly 6.5 watts on high, 2.7 medium and 2.0 low. Plan for the low end of every figure.
What battery do the SAVIOR heated mittens use?
Two 7.4 V packs, one per hand. The capacity is where it gets awkward: SAVIOR's body copy says 2,200 mAh, which is about 16.3 watt-hours, while the Tech Specs block on the same page says 3,000 mAh, which would be 22.2. We use 2,200 because that is the figure the body copy and the matching replacement-pack listing agree on, and we flag the disagreement rather than splitting it.
Do these heat the palm or just the back of the hand?
Both, which is unusual and is one of the better things about them. SAVIOR specifies "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" from carbon fiber elements, with "Added palm heating helps warm every finger, fingertip, palm, and back of hand". Most heated handwear puts the element on the back only. Blood reaches the fingers through the palm, so heating there warms the supply rather than just the extremity.
Can you wash heated mittens?
Not in a machine, in this case. SAVIOR states that "hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning". That is a step down from several heated socks and vests we cover, which are machine washable with the pack out, and it is worth knowing before you buy something that will be handled in wet snow all season.
Should I buy these or heated glove liners?
Liners if your existing gloves fit well and you want to add heat to them, or if you need your fingers - they go underneath what you already own and are the cheapest way in, though they carry the smallest battery in the category. The mittens if your hands go numb regardless of what you wear and you can accept losing finger dexterity. We review the liners separately.

Sources

Read next