ororo or Milwaukee? Bigger battery against faster swap
The two most-searched brands in heated apparel, and they are not really competing on the same axis. One sells you energy; the other sells you logistics.
By Scooter M. · Published September 6, 2026
How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

ororo packs hold nearly double the energy — 38.5 Wh against Milwaukee's M12 2.0 Ah at 21.6 Wh. Milwaukee wins anyway if you already own M12 tools, because a ten-second pack swap solves the runtime problem that no single battery in this category solves. If you own no M12, buy ororo.
They are selling different things
This comparison looks like a brand question and is really a question about what problem you are trying to solve. Both makers face the same physical constraint — a wearable battery holds very little energy — and they have taken opposite routes around it.
ororo's answer is a bigger battery. Its standard apparel pack is 38.5 watt-hours and its largest published pack reaches 75.1, which is far more than anything in the tool world will fit in a chest pocket. Milwaukee's answer is that the battery does not need to be big, because you own four of them and swapping takes ten seconds.
| ororo | Milwaukee M12 | |
|---|---|---|
| Standard pack energy | 38.5 Wh (5,200 mAh at 7.4 V) | 21.6 Wh (2.0 Ah at 10.8 V nominal) |
| Largest published pack | 75.1 Wh (PD 10K) | 64.8 Wh (6.0 Ah XC, if the pocket takes it) |
| Pack capacity published | Yes, per model in a public battery guide | Yes, as amp-hours per pack |
| Output current published | Yes, 2.5 A or 3 A | No |
| Runtime claim | Per setting (8-10 h low / 2-3 h high) | Per setting for every garment (12/6/3 or 8/4/2) |
| Pack names its runtime claim | Yes, on the battery listings | Only on the Heated Jacket Kit |
| Spare packs | A second purchase, apparel-only | Already in your van, if you own M12 |
| Swap speed | Unplug, unpocket, re-plug | Ten seconds, gloved, standing up |
| Recharge standard | USB-C on the PD line | Milwaukee charger |
| Pack also powers | Nothing else | Every M12 tool you own |
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.
| # | Product | Best for | Energy | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated JacketThe clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can wor… | A first heated jacket | 38.5 Wh | $159.99View on Amazon |
| 2 | Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because… | Anyone already on M12 | 21.6 Wh | $219.00View on Amazon |
| 3 | ororo Men's Lightweight Heated VestA vest puts the same pack energy into the same core zones as a jacket while heating far less fabric, which is why it i… | The best value in heated apparel | 38.5 Wh | Check price on Amazon |
| 4 | Milwaukee M12 Heated AXIS VestTwo zones instead of the jacket's three, and Milwaukee's own numbers say it runs out in a third of the time — which is… | The hottest thing in the M12 line | 21.6 Wh | $279.00View on Amazon |
#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket
The clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can work out what you are getting instead of taking a marketing number on faith.
The numbers
- Energy
- 38.5 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 5,200 mAh (ororo B19G)
- Published output
- 2.5 A
- Heat zones
- 3
- Maker's runtime claim
- 8-10 h low / 5-6 h medium / 2-3 h high
- Heat zones
- Left and right chest, mid-back
- Settings
- Three, cycled from a single chest button
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: ororo publishes no wattage for the garment. It does publish hours for each of the three settings, which states the draw whether it meant to or not.
What we like
- ororo publishes capacity AND voltage for every pack, which almost nobody else in this category does
- Per-setting runtime claims rather than one 'up to' number, so the low-to-high spread is visible before you buy
- Soft-shell cut layers under a work coat without bulk
What we do not
- No published wattage for the garment itself
- Three zones only — nothing at the arms or the kidneys
- The headline runtime figure is the low setting, as it is everywhere
Who this suits
Someone standing still outdoors for two to four hours at a stretch who wants the power figures on the table before buying.
Who should skip it
You need heat for a full eight-hour shift on high. No 38 Wh pack does that, and this one does not claim to.
Spec sources: ororo — Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack) · Amazon — ororo 7.4V 5200mAh battery listing (per-setting runtime claim)

Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because you already own four of them.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 21.6 Wh
- Pack
- M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0, 2.0 Ah
- Voltage used here
- 10.8 V nominal (marketed as 12 V)
- Heat zones
- 3
- Maker's runtime claim
- 12 h low / 6 h medium / 3 h high
- Heat zones
- Chest, back and hand pockets
- Settings
- Three, plus a preheat cycle
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: Milwaukee publishes run-time, not watts — but it publishes all three settings, which is more than most of this category manages. The 12/6/3 pattern is a clean doubling of draw at each step. Milwaukee does not state which M12 pack those hours assume, so the resulting wattage is a shape rather than a fixed figure.
On the pack: Sold bare. The live listing title reads "Jacket Only" — no pack and no charger in the box. That is the right buy if you already run M12 and the wrong one if you do not. See [which garments include a battery](/battery/battery-included-or-separate).
What we like
- Hot-swappable packs — the only real answer to a short runtime is a second battery, and you already have one
- Genuinely durable shell fabric, built for work rather than for a catalog photo
- The pack doubles as a tool battery, so nothing in the van is single-purpose
What we do not
- The 2.0 Ah pack is small by heated-apparel standards once you convert it honestly
- Jacket-only SKUs ship without a battery, which is easy to miss at checkout
- Heavier than a soft-shell layer
Who this suits
A trades worker with an M12 kit already in the van, for whom a spare pack costs nothing extra to carry.
Who should skip it
You own no M12 tools. Buying into a tool platform for one jacket is the most expensive route into heated clothing.
Spec sources: Milwaukee Tool — M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0 battery, 12V 2.0Ah · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated Jacket Kit (up to 8 hours on the REDLITHIUM 2.0) · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL jacket kit
ororo Men's Lightweight Heated Vest
A vest puts the same pack energy into the same core zones as a jacket while heating far less fabric, which is why it is the smarter buy for most people who think they want a jacket.
#ad No live price available, so we show none. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 38.5 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 5,200 mAh
- Published output
- 2.5 A
- Heat zones
- 3
- Maker's runtime claim
- 8-10 h low / 2-3 h high
- Heat zones
- Left and right chest, mid-back
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: No published wattage, but ororo's per-setting hours plus the published pack capacity give you the implied draw at each setting.
What we like
- Layers under any coat you already own, which is what most people actually need
- Identical core zones to the jacket at a lower price
- Arms stay free, which matters for anyone working with their hands
What we do not
- No arm or neck heat at all
- Needs an outer layer in wind
- The same unpublished wattage as everything else here
Who this suits
Almost everyone comparing a first heated purchase. Start here, and add gloves before you add sleeves.
Who should skip it
Your cold problem is your arms or your hands. A vest will not touch either, and one bought to fix cold hands is a wasted purchase.
Spec sources: ororo — Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack) · Amazon — ororo 7.4V 5200mAh battery listing (per-setting runtime claim)

Milwaukee M12 Heated AXIS Vest
Two zones instead of the jacket's three, and Milwaukee's own numbers say it runs out in a third of the time — which is the tell that its elements pull harder. If you want heat rather than hours, this is the M12 garment that delivers it.
#ad Price as of October 17, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 21.6 Wh
- Pack
- Any M12 pack; kits ship with a 2.0 Ah
- Heat zones
- 2
- Maker's runtime claim
- 8 h low / 4 h medium / 2 h high
- Implied draw on a 2.0 Ah
- ~2.7 W / ~5.4 W / ~10.8 W
- Heat zones
- Chest and back
- Settings
- Three, per zone, from a one-touch LED controller
- Care
- Machine washable with the battery removed
On wattage: Milwaukee publishes no wattage, but it publishes hours for all three settings — and the 8/4/2 pattern is a clean doubling of draw at each step. On a 2.0 Ah pack that inverts to roughly 2.7 W, 5.4 W and 10.8 W. Milwaukee does not state which pack those hours assume, so treat them as a shape rather than a fixed figure.
What we like
- The shortest claimed high-setting runtime in the M12 line, which on fixed pack energy is the arithmetic signature of the most heat
- A vest layers under the work coat you already own, so your coat does the insulating and the battery only tops up
- Runs off the same packs as your tools — the runtime problem becomes a ten-second swap
What we do not
- Two hours on high is genuinely short, and it is Milwaukee's own figure rather than our estimate
- No wattage published, and no pack named for the runtime claims
- Two zones means nothing at the shoulders, which the AXIS jacket does cover
Who this suits
Someone on M12 who is cold rather than impatient — standing still in hard cold, with spare packs in the van and a coat to wear over it.
Who should skip it
You want to set it and forget it for a shift. On high this is a two-hour garment by Milwaukee's own reckoning, and no amount of layering changes that.
Spec sources: Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated Gear line (per-setting run-time and heat zones for every garment) · Milwaukee Tool — M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0 battery, 12V 2.0Ah
On energy, ororo wins clearly
There is no argument to have here. Converted honestly at nominal voltage, the M12 2.0 Ah pack that Milwaukee's kits ship with holds 21.6 watt-hours against ororo's standard 38.5 — a little over half. Even Milwaukee's 4.0 Ah XC, at 43.2 Wh, is only modestly ahead of ororo's ordinary pack, and it is a considerably bulkier thing to carry in a chest pocket.
Watt-hours, and what they buy
Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.
| Product | Capacity | Volts | Energy | Ceiling draw | Shortest runtime | Implied draw at the claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket | 5,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 38.5 Wh | 18.5 W | 2h 05m | 15.4 Wat 2.5 h high |
| Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20) | 2,000 mAh | 10.8 V | 21.6 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 7.2 Wat 3 h high |
| ororo Men's Lightweight Heated Vest | 5,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 38.5 Wh | 18.5 W | 2h 05m | 15.4 Wat 2.5 h high |
| Milwaukee M12 Heated AXIS Vest | 2,000 mAh | 10.8 V | 21.6 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 10.8 Wat 2 h high |
“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.
ororo also publishes more of the inputs. Capacity, voltage and output current are all stated for every pack in its line, which is what lets us compute a delivery ceiling — 2.5 A at 7.4 V is 18.5 W, giving a hard floor of two hours five minutes on a 38.5 Wh pack. Milwaukee publishes no output current, so that particular sum cannot be done on its packs at all.
On disclosure, Milwaukee wins in one specific way
Credit where it is due, and it is unusual enough to be worth stating. Milwaukee publishes runtime for all three settings on every garment in its heated range — 12/6/3 hours for the three-zone jackets, 8/4/2 for the two-zone vests and hoodies. Nobody else in this category does that.
It is genuinely more useful than a single "up to" figure, because three data points can be inverted into three implied draws rather than one. It also produced the most interesting finding on this site: Milwaukee's three-zone jackets claim 50% more runtime than its two-zone vests on the same platform, which means the vests draw harder and are the hotter garment. The full M12 line, converted works through it, and battery life by brand puts those inversions next to DEWALT's and Venustas's.
The gap in Milwaukee's disclosure is that it does not say which M12 pack those hours assume. ororo's runtime claims are tied to specific batteries; Milwaukee's float.
Why Milwaukee still wins on a job site
Because the energy comparison, decisive as it looks, is answering a question that stops mattering once you own the platform.
No battery in this category covers a full outdoor shift at a useful setting. Not ororo's 38.5 Wh, not its 75.1 Wh flagship. So for anyone working outdoors all day, the real question was never "how long does one pack last" — it was "how quickly can I put a fresh one in". Milwaukee answers that better than anyone, because the answer is already in your van, already charged, and swaps with gloves on without unzipping anything.
That advantage is entirely conditional on owning the platform already. Buying into M12 for a heated garment means a jacket plus a battery plus a charger plus a commitment to one brand's battery family — which costs considerably more than an ororo jacket and a spare pack, and gets you a smaller battery.
The recommendation
- You own M12 tools: Milwaukee, comfortably. The small pack stops mattering when spares are free and already charged.
- You own no cordless platform: ororo. Nearly double the energy per pack, more of the specifications published, and USB-C recharge on the PD line so a lost charger never retires the battery.
- You want the longest possible single-charge runtime: ororo, and specifically its largest published pack. Nothing in the tool world that fits a garment pocket competes with 75.1 Wh.
- You want the most heat rather than the most hours: Milwaukee's AXIS vest, by its own published figures — it claims the shortest high-setting runtime in either line, which on fixed energy is the signature of the highest draw.
If you are choosing between tool platforms rather than between these two brands, Milwaukee M12 versus DEWALT 20V MAX covers that. If you are comparing consumer brands, ororo versus Venustas is the one to read.
Frequently asked
- Is ORORO or Milwaukee better for heated clothing?
- ororo if you own no cordless platform — its standard pack holds 38.5 watt-hours against Milwaukee's 21.6, and it publishes more of the specifications. Milwaukee if you already own M12 tools, because swapping a charged spare in ten seconds beats any single battery.
- How much bigger is an ORORO battery than a Milwaukee M12?
- The standard ororo apparel pack is 38.5 Wh (5,200 mAh at 7.4 V); an M12 2.0 Ah is 21.6 Wh at 10.8 V nominal. That is nearly double. ororo's largest published pack reaches 75.1 Wh.
- Can I use a Milwaukee M12 battery in an ORORO jacket?
- No. The interfaces are proprietary and the voltages differ — 10.8 V nominal against 7.4 V. Third-party adapters exist but the listings rarely state whether output is regulated, so we do not recommend that route.
- Which brand publishes more about its batteries?
- ororo publishes capacity, voltage and output current for every pack, which is what allows a delivery ceiling to be computed. Milwaukee publishes something nobody else does — runtime for all three settings on every garment — but does not say which pack those hours assume.
- Is a Milwaukee heated jacket worth buying without M12 tools?
- Generally no. The entire advantage is charged spares you already own. Without them you are buying a jacket, a battery, a charger and a platform commitment, and ending up with roughly half the energy an ororo pack would have given you.
Sources
Related

Milwaukee heated gear: the whole M12 line, run through the arithmetic
Milwaukee publishes hours for every setting on every garment. Inverted, the line says the jacket lasts longer and the vest gets hotter.

ororo versus Venustas: coverage against disclosure
Venustas gives you more zones. ororo tells you what is in the pack. Which trade to make, with both sets of figures.

M12 or 20V MAX for a heated jacket?
A 66% energy gap the labels hide — and why the platform you already own still wins anyway.

ororo Lightweight Heated Vest: the most efficient way to spend 38.5 watt-hours
Same pack and elements as ororo's jacket, in the format that gets more out of them. Every figure converted, including who should skip it.

Heated Jackets
The biggest category and the noisiest claims. We convert capacity and voltage into watt-hours, then into hours at each setting.

Battery & Power
The conversion nobody publishes: capacity and voltage into watt-hours, watt-hours into hours. Plus the calculator that does it for you.

ororo heated apparel, and the 2x battery spread hiding inside one brand
The only brand here publishing a full battery lineup - which is how you can see that its packs run 35.4 Wh to 75.1 Wh, and the priciest jacket ships the smallest one.