Skip to content
Volt Wool
Compare

ororo versus Venustas: coverage against disclosure

The two brands most people cross-shop, differing on exactly one axis that matters — and it is not the one either of them advertises.

By Scooter M. · Published August 31, 2026

How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

Two heated jackets hanging side by side against a pale wall in flat daylight.

Venustas typically offers more heating zones and dual controls at a similar price. ororo publishes capacity, voltage and output current for every pack it sells, and breaks its runtime claim out per setting. If you want the most coverage, Venustas. If you want to be able to check what you are buying, ororo.

The comparison in one table

What each brand publishes and what it does not
ororoVenustas
Pack voltage publishedYes, 7.4 V across the lineYes, 7.4 V
Pack capacity publishedYes, per model in a public battery guideNot consistently — varies by SKU
Output current publishedYes, 2.5 A or 3 A per packNo
Runtime claimPer setting (8-10 h low / 5-6 med / 2-3 high)Single 'up to 10 hours', setting unspecified
Wattage publishedNoNo
Typical zone count3 to 44 to 6
Dual independent controlsNoYes on several models
USB-C rechargeYes on the PD lineVaries

Neither brand publishes a wattage figure. Nobody in this category does — that is the gap this site exists to fill.

Verdict first

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.

#ProductBest forEnergyPrice
1
ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated JacketThe clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can wor…
A first heated jacket38.5 WhCheck price on Amazon
2
Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated JacketMore heating elements than anything else at the price, which cuts both ways: the same pack energy is divided further, …
Most heating zones for the money37.0 WhCheck price on Amazon
3
ororo Men's Lightweight Heated VestA vest puts the same pack energy into the same core zones as a jacket while heating far less fabric, which is why it i…
The best value in heated apparel38.5 WhCheck price on Amazon
4
Venustas Men's Heated Vest, Lightweight QuiltedVenustas puts larger carbon-fiber panels over more of the torso than most rivals, and publishes less about the power b…
Broad element coverage on a budget37.0 WhCheck price on Amazon

#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

#1 · A first heated jacket

ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket

The clearest power story in the category: ororo publishes capacity and voltage for every pack it sells, so you can work out what you are getting instead of taking a marketing number on faith.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price available, so we show none. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
38.5 Wh
Pack
7.4 V, 5,200 mAh (ororo B19G)
Published output
2.5 A
Heat zones
3
Maker's runtime claim
8-10 h low / 5-6 h medium / 2-3 h high
Heat zones
Left and right chest, mid-back
Settings
Three, cycled from a single chest button
Care
Machine washable with the battery removed

On wattage: ororo publishes no wattage for the garment. It does publish hours for each of the three settings, which states the draw whether it meant to or not.

What we like

  • ororo publishes capacity AND voltage for every pack, which almost nobody else in this category does
  • Per-setting runtime claims rather than one 'up to' number, so the low-to-high spread is visible before you buy
  • Soft-shell cut layers under a work coat without bulk

What we do not

  • No published wattage for the garment itself
  • Three zones only — nothing at the arms or the kidneys
  • The headline runtime figure is the low setting, as it is everywhere

Who this suits

Someone standing still outdoors for two to four hours at a stretch who wants the power figures on the table before buying.

Who should skip it

You need heat for a full eight-hour shift on high. No 38 Wh pack does that, and this one does not claim to.

Spec sources: ororo — Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack) · Amazon — ororo 7.4V 5200mAh battery listing (per-setting runtime claim)

#2 · Most heating zones for the money

Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated Jacket

More heating elements than anything else at the price, which cuts both ways: the same pack energy is divided further, and Venustas does not publish the wattage that would tell you by how much.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price available, so we show none. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
37.0 Wh
Pack
7.4 V (capacity varies by SKU)
Heat zones
6
Maker's runtime claim
Up to 10 h, setting unspecified
Controls
Two independent circuits
Heat zones
Neck, left and right chest, mid-back, both hand pockets
Settings
Three, with the upper and lower circuits controlled separately
Care
Machine washable with the battery removed

On wattage: No published wattage. One 'up to 10 hours' figure with no setting attached, which is the least informative form the claim can take.

On the pack: Venustas ships a 7.4 V pack and advertises up to 10 hours. The capacity varies by SKU and is not published consistently, so treat the watt-hour figure here as approximate and check the listing for the pack you are actually buying.

What we like

  • Dual control is genuinely useful — pocket heat is what you want standing still, core heat is what you want moving
  • Six zones reach the neck, which most three-zone jackets leave cold
  • Detachable hood, so it layers under a shell

What we do not

  • No published wattage and no per-setting runtime, so the power story is one unqualified number
  • Pack capacity is not stated consistently across SKUs sold under similar names
  • More zones on the same pack is not more heat — it is the same heat spread thinner

Who this suits

Someone who wants pocket heat and core heat on separate switches and is buying on coverage rather than runtime.

Who should skip it

You want to know what you are buying in watt-hours before you buy it. On this jacket you cannot, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.

Spec sources: Venustas — heated jacket collection

#3 · The best value in heated apparel

ororo Men's Lightweight Heated Vest

A vest puts the same pack energy into the same core zones as a jacket while heating far less fabric, which is why it is the smarter buy for most people who think they want a jacket.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price available, so we show none. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
38.5 Wh
Pack
7.4 V, 5,200 mAh
Published output
2.5 A
Heat zones
3
Maker's runtime claim
8-10 h low / 2-3 h high
Heat zones
Left and right chest, mid-back
Settings
Three
Care
Machine washable with the battery removed

On wattage: No published wattage, but ororo's per-setting hours plus the published pack capacity give you the implied draw at each setting.

What we like

  • Layers under any coat you already own, which is what most people actually need
  • Identical core zones to the jacket at a lower price
  • Arms stay free, which matters for anyone working with their hands

What we do not

  • No arm or neck heat at all
  • Needs an outer layer in wind
  • The same unpublished wattage as everything else here

Who this suits

Almost everyone comparing a first heated purchase. Start here, and add gloves before you add sleeves.

Who should skip it

Your cold problem is your arms or your hands. A vest will not touch either, and one bought to fix cold hands is a wasted purchase.

Spec sources: ororo — Heated Apparel Battery Guide (capacity, voltage and output for every pack) · Amazon — ororo 7.4V 5200mAh battery listing (per-setting runtime claim)

#4 · Broad element coverage on a budget

Venustas Men's Heated Vest, Lightweight Quilted

Venustas puts larger carbon-fiber panels over more of the torso than most rivals, and publishes less about the power behind them than most rivals — you are buying coverage on trust.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price available, so we show none. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
37.0 Wh
Pack
7.4 V (capacity varies)
Heat zones
4
Charge time
About 2.5 h per the maker
Heat zones
Collar, both shoulders, mid-back, and pockets depending on SKU
Settings
Three
Care
Machine washable with the battery removed

On wattage: No published wattage, and one unqualified 10-hour figure.

On the pack: Capacity varies by SKU and is not published consistently. Check your listing.

What we like

  • Larger heating panels than the three-zone norm
  • Water-resistant face fabric
  • Usually the cheapest way to get collar heat

What we do not

  • The least complete power disclosure of any brand on this list
  • Pack capacity is inconsistent between SKUs sold under similar names
  • One runtime number with no setting attached tells you nothing you can act on

Who this suits

A price-led buyer who wants coverage and is not going to do the arithmetic.

Who should skip it

You are the kind of buyer who reads a spec sheet. Venustas does not publish enough of one to satisfy you.

Spec sources: Venustas — heated jacket collection

What ororo's disclosure actually buys you

ororo maintains a public battery guide listing capacity, voltage and output current for every pack it sells. That sounds like housekeeping. It is the difference between a product you can evaluate and one you cannot.

With capacity and voltage you get watt-hours: 5,200 mAh at 7.4 V is 38.5 Wh. With output current you get the pack's delivery ceiling: 2.5 A at 7.4 V is 18.5 W, which puts a floor of two hours five minutes under any runtime claim. And with per-setting runtimes you can invert the claim to see what draw each setting assumes.

Three usable conclusions, all from figures the maker chose to publish. None of them are available for a product that gives you a voltage and an 'up to' number.

What Venustas's zone count actually buys you

It would be unfair to treat coverage as a marketing trick. Six zones reaching the neck and the hand pockets covers ground a three-zone jacket does not, and the neck in particular is the most commonly cold uncovered area. Dual controls — core and pockets on separate circuits — is a genuinely thoughtful feature, because what you want standing still is different from what you want moving.

The catch is what it does to a fixed energy budget. Six elements on the same pack means each gets a smaller share, or the pack empties faster. Without a published capacity for that specific SKU, or a wattage, or a per-setting runtime, there is no way to see which. You are buying coverage on trust.

The arithmetic

Watt-hours, and what they buy

Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.

ProductCapacityVoltsEnergyCeiling drawShortest runtimeImplied draw at the claim
ororo Men's Soft Shell Heated Jacket5,200 mAh7.4 V38.5 Wh18.5 W2h 05m15.4 Wat 2.5 h high
Venustas Unisex Dual-Control Heated Jacket5,000 mAh7.4 V37.0 WhNot publishedNot derivable3.7 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim
ororo Men's Lightweight Heated Vest5,200 mAh7.4 V38.5 Wh18.5 W2h 05m15.4 Wat 2.5 h high
Venustas Men's Heated Vest, Lightweight Quilted5,000 mAh7.4 V37.0 WhNot publishedNot derivable3.7 Wat 10 h maker's headline claim

“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.

Note the Venustas rows carry an approximation caveat, and that is not us being unhelpful — it is the honest consequence of the capacity not being published consistently. We would rather flag the uncertainty than print a confident figure we cannot source.

The recommendation

For a first purchase, ororo, because the ability to check a claim is worth more than an extra zone you cannot evaluate. That is a bias we will state plainly: this site exists to publish arithmetic, so we value a maker that supplies the inputs.

If you have a specific coverage need — collar heat, pocket heat on its own circuit — Venustas is the brand that offers it and the trade is defensible. Just make it knowing that you are choosing coverage over verifiability, rather than getting both.

Both brands are covered in more depth on the heated jackets and heated vests hubs, and the individual models have their own pages under reviews.

Questions

Frequently asked

Is ORORO or Venustas better?
ororo publishes capacity, voltage and output current for every pack and breaks its runtime claim out per setting, which means you can check it. Venustas offers more zones and dual controls but publishes far less. For a first purchase we would take the verifiability.
Does Venustas publish battery specifications?
It publishes the platform voltage of 7.4 V and a headline runtime, but capacity is not stated consistently across SKUs and output current is not published. That means a Venustas watt-hour figure is approximate rather than derived.
How many heating zones does ORORO have?
Three on the classic shell garments and four on the newer models, with the fourth being a collar element on several. Venustas typically runs four to six.
Are more heating zones worth paying for?
Only when the extra zone reaches somewhere you are actually cold — the neck is the usual case. On a fixed pack, more elements means the same energy divided further, not more heat.
Which brand has better battery life?
On the published figures the packs are comparable, both 7.4 V and both around 5,000 mAh. The difference is that ororo's figures can be checked and Venustas's cannot, which is why we treat the ororo numbers as derived and the Venustas ones as approximate.

Sources

Read next