Skip to content
Volt Wool
Compare

Full-finger heating or back-of-hand only?

It is the single biggest difference between two heated gloves that look identical in a photograph, almost nobody puts it in the headline spec, and it decides whether the part that goes numb gets any heat at all.

By Scooter M. · Published October 23, 2026

How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

Close-up of hands adjusting warm winter gloves outdoors in flat daylight.

Buy full-finger if your fingertips are the thing that goes numb — which, for most people asking this question, they are. A back-of-hand element warms the blood on its way out to your fingers rather than warming the fingers themselves, so it helps and it is not enough. The WASOTO heated glove is the cheapest option here that publishes both full-finger coverage and its watt-hours; Gerbing's 7V S7 is the documented premium version.

The decision, up front

Three questions, and what each answer points to
QuestionIf yesIf no
Is it your fingertips that go numb, rather than your whole hand feeling cold?Full finger. The last joint of each finger is the furthest point from your heart with the worst surface-area-to-volume ratio on your body. An element that stops at the knuckles never reaches it.Back of hand is probably enough, and it is cheaper and more durable.
Is the cold you are fighting moving air — riding, sledding, an exposed lift?Full finger. Forced convection strips heat continuously and your fingertips sit furthest forward in the airstream.Back of hand works better in still cold, where your glove's own insulation is doing most of the job.
Is this a circulation problem — Raynaud's, arthritis, poor circulation generally?Full finger, or a mitten. Where circulation is the limit, your fingers are not generating much heat of their own, so heat delivered upstream of them has less to work with. Gloves for Raynaud's handles this case properly.Either. Decide on dexterity and price.

Two of three pointing at full finger is the usual outcome, which is why we lead with it — but the third row is the one to take seriously, because it is the case where the answer may not be a glove at all.

What the two layouts actually are

A heated glove contains a flat heating element — usually carbon fiber or a woven composite pad — laid inside the shell and wired to a pack at the cuff. Where that element physically sits is the design decision, and it is close to the only one that matters.

Back-of-hand only puts the pad across the dorsal surface of your hand, roughly from the wrist to the knuckles. It is cheaper to build, far more durable — a flat panel in a part of the glove that does not flex much — and it is not useless. Blood running out to your fingers passes directly under it and arrives warmer than it left.

Full finger continues the element out along each finger, and sometimes doubles it in the thumb and index finger where the wear is. It costs more, it has to survive being bent several thousand times a day, and it is the only layout that puts heat where the numbness is.

Verdict first

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.

#ProductBest forEnergyPrice
1
WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published)
WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published)The fingered version of the same documented platform: 22.2 Wh a hand, an element that runs out along the fingers rathe…
Full-finger heat with the energy figure printed22.2 Wh$109.99View on Amazon
2
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated GlovesThe same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glo…
Smaller hands that still want full-finger heat23.8 Wh$245.09View on Amazon
3
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove LinersThe most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated …
Keeping the gloves you already own16.3 Wh$119.99View on Amazon
4
KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, Camo
KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, CamoA thin, flexible camo glove for people who lose more to bulk than to cold — and a clean example of the category's habi…
Thin camo cover when bulk is the problem—$92.99View on Amazon
5
TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)
TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperat…
The only heated glove here that publishes watt-hours22.2 Wh$79.99View on Amazon

#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published)
#1 · Full-finger heat with the energy figure printed

WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published)

The fingered version of the same documented platform: 22.2 Wh a hand, an element that runs out along the fingers rather than stopping at the knuckles, and the same published arithmetic behind both claims.

$109.99View on Amazon

$119.998% off

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
22.2 Wh
Maker's stated energy
22.2 Wh per hand — published as "7.4V*3000mAh=22.2Wh"
Element coverage
Back of hand and fingers; palm not heated
Screen use
Conductive thumb and index finger
Claims
Temperature and runtime band for all three settings
Weather
Splash-proof and windproof per the maker — no waterproof rating
Heat zones
Composite fiber pad across the back of the hand and the fingers, per WASOTO. The palm is explicitly NOT listed as heated.
Settings
Three, published with a temperature range for each
Care
Not stated by WASOTO

On wattage: Identical claims to the mitten — the same three bands from the same pack — which inverts to roughly 7.4 W high, 5.6 W medium and 3.1 W low at the band midpoints. Worth noticing that WASOTO quotes a GLOVE and a MITTEN the same hours on the same pack. A mitten should hold heat better than a glove at equal power, so one of the two figures is conservative and WASOTO does not say which. We flag it rather than correcting it.

On the pack: The same 7.4 V, 3,000 mAh pack as the mitten, published the same way, with two packs and an 8.4 V dual charger in the box. Buying the glove and the mitten from this line means one charger and interchangeable spares.

What we like

  • Full-finger element coverage, which most gloves at this price drop
  • 22.2 Wh per hand with the conversion published, not implied
  • Conductive thumb and index finger, so a phone does not mean a bare hand
  • Two packs and a dual charger in the box
  • Shares packs and charger with the WASOTO mitten if you buy both

What we do not

  • "Waterproof" appears in the Amazon title and nowhere in WASOTO's own specification, which claims only splash-proof
  • Quoted the same runtimes as the brand's mitten on the same pack, which cannot be right for both
  • No wattage, no warranty, no washing instructions and no charge time published
  • Palm not heated, so a cold steering wheel or handlebar still pulls heat out of the one surface the element does not cover
  • Unknown brand with no service record

Who this suits

Someone who needs their fingers and wants the largest documented energy budget rather than the most familiar logo.

Who should skip it

Your cold is wet. This is a splash-proof glove with an aggressive listing title, and the maker's own page is the honest one.

Spec sources: WASOTO — WG001 Classic Heated Gloves, the maker's own product page. Same platform and the same published arithmetic as the mitten: "7.4V*3000mAh=22.2Wh", three settings at 140-149°F / 122-131°F / 105-115°F, "High level: 2.5-3.5h; medium level:3.5-4.5h; low level:6.5-8h", composite fiber pad across "the back of hand and fingers" with the palm NOT listed as heated, twill described as "splash-proof and windproof", conductive thumb and index finger, 3-gear switch plus 4-level display, UL/FCC/CE batteries, two packs and an 8.4 V dual charger in the box, sizes S to 2XL. Not published: charge time, washing instructions, warranty, any waterproof rating.

Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves
#2 · Smaller hands that still want full-finger heat

Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves

The same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glove that fits badly heats air instead of skin.

$245.09View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
23.8 Wh
Pack
7 V, 3,400 mAh per glove
Sizing
Women's last, from XS
Element coverage
Full finger
Heat zones
Back of hand and all five fingers
Settings
Three
Care
Spot clean

On wattage: No published wattage; capacity and voltage are published.

What we like

  • A genuine women's last rather than a shrunk men's glove
  • Full-finger element, which the smaller heated gloves usually drop
  • Largest published per-hand capacity in its size range

What we do not

  • No wattage published
  • Expensive
  • Still bulky for fine work

Who this suits

Anyone whose hands are too narrow for a men's small, which is a real and badly served group.

Who should skip it

You want dexterity — the liner is the better answer.

Spec sources: Amazon — Gerbing 7V Men's S7 heated gloves (two 7V 3400mAh packs included)

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
#3 · Keeping the gloves you already own

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners

The most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated glove for anyone who has to actually use their hands.

$119.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
16.3 Wh
Pack
7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand
Thickness
Liner — fits inside a work or ski glove
Touchscreen
Yes, per the listing
Heat zones
Back of hand and fingers
Settings
Three
Care
Hand wash with the battery out

On wattage: No published wattage. Small packs and a small element area, so the runtime spread between settings is wide.

On the pack: Liner packs in this class are 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh. The capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listing rather than on the glove listing.

What we like

  • Fits under gloves you already trust, so you keep your grip and your dexterity
  • Cheapest route into heated hands by a wide margin
  • Packs are small enough to live in a coat pocket

What we do not

  • Smallest packs here — about 16 Wh a hand, and the arithmetic on that is unforgiving
  • No wind or water protection of their own
  • The fit under a tight glove can be a squeeze

Who this suits

Trades workers, photographers, anyone who has to do something with their fingers in the cold.

Who should skip it

You want long runtime. This is the smallest energy budget on the site and it shows.

Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, Camo
#4 · Thin camo cover when bulk is the problem

KEMIMOTO Heated Hunting Gloves, Camo

A thin, flexible camo glove for people who lose more to bulk than to cold — and a clean example of the category's habit of publishing a temperature while withholding the capacity behind it.

$92.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Maximum temperature
149°F, published
Capacity
Not published
Cut
Thin and flexible, camo
Screen use
PU touchscreen fingertips
Heat zones
Palm and backhand, per the listing
Settings
Three
Care
Not stated

On wattage: No wattage, and no capacity either, so this is one of the rows where the energy column has to stay empty. The maximum temperature is published; everything needed to convert it is not.

On the pack: KEMIMOTO publishes a 7.4 V pack for this glove line but does not state the capacity on this listing. Without a capacity there is no watt-hour figure, and without a watt-hour figure the runtime claim cannot be checked against anything. We will not borrow a number from a sibling listing to fill the gap.

What we like

  • Thin enough to keep the dexterity thick heated gloves cost you
  • Heat on the palm as well as the back of the hand, which is unusual
  • Camo pattern rather than a black glove in a hide
  • Touchscreen fingertips that work without stripping a glove off

What we do not

  • No published capacity, so the energy is not derivable at all
  • No published wattage either
  • Thin means less insulation working for you when the battery is off
  • No stated care instructions

Who this suits

Someone whose hunting problem is bulk rather than raw cold, and who wants the pattern as well as the heat.

Who should skip it

You want to know what you are buying in energy terms. On this listing that is simply not knowable.

Spec sources: Amazon — KEMIMOTO heated hunting gloves, camo (three settings, 149°F maximum)

TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)
#5 · The only heated glove here that publishes watt-hours

TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)

TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperature and a runtime for all three settings, which lets you check the claim instead of taking it.

$79.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
22.2 Wh
Maker's stated energy
22.2 Wh per hand
Pack
7.4 V, two supplied
Shell
Seven-layer, 3M insulation, 140 GSM water-resistant coating
Claims
All three settings, with temperatures
Heat zones
Not specified by TIDEWE beyond the heated glove body
Settings
Three
Care
Not stated by TIDEWE

On wattage: No wattage published, but with three claims and a real watt-hour figure the draw can be inverted three ways instead of guessed once. The high-setting claim implies about 6.3 W per hand at the optimistic end of the range and 8.9 W at the pessimistic end.

On the pack: 22.2 Wh at 7.4 V is 3,000 mAh, one pack per hand. Publishing the figure in watt-hours rather than milliamp-hours is the honest way round, because watt-hours is the number that actually compares across voltages.

What we like

  • Publishes energy in watt-hours, which nothing else in this category does
  • A temperature AND a runtime for every setting, so the claim can be inverted
  • Seven-layer shell with 3M insulation does real work before the element is on
  • Two packs in the box rather than one

What we do not

  • No wattage published, so the draw is still inferred rather than read
  • TIDEWE does not state where the elements sit inside the glove
  • No published care instructions
  • Bulkier than a liner, which matters if you need to work a trigger or a zip

Who this suits

A hunter or an angler who is stationary in the cold and wants a claim that can be checked.

Who should skip it

You need dexterity more than heat. A liner under your own glove keeps the feel that a shell this thick removes.

Spec sources: TIDEWE — heated hunting gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh, with a temperature and runtime published for all three settings)

Which products are on which side

Element placement as each maker publishes it
ProductWhat the maker saysReads as
WASOTO heated gloves"Composite fiber heating pad" across "the back of hand and fingers"; palm NOT listed as heated.Full finger
Gerbing 7V S7 (men's and women's)"Back of hand and along all five fingers", stated as "Element coverage: Full finger".Full finger
SAVIOR HEAT glove liners"Back of hand and fingers".Full finger, in the thinnest format here
KEMIMOTO heated hunting gloves"Palm and backhand" — heat on the palm as well, which is unusual. Fingers not named.Back of hand plus palm
SAVIOR HEAT 7.4V gloves"Back of hand, with the element doubled in the thumb and index finger".Back of hand, with two fingers covered
SAVIOR HEAT heated mittens"Full-Hand Heating Coverage" with "Added palm heating helps warm every finger, fingertip, palm, and back of hand".Full hand — but it is a mitten, so there are no separate fingers
TIDEWE heated glovesNothing. TIDEWE publishes watt-hours, three temperatures and three runtimes, and never says where the element is.Not stated

Every row here is quoted from the maker's own page or listing. The last row is the interesting one: TIDEWE has the best power disclosure of any glove on this site and the worst placement disclosure.

When back-of-hand is genuinely the right buy

  • Still cold rather than moving air. On a touchline or a job site your glove's insulation is doing most of the work and the element is topping it up. Warmer blood arriving at your fingers is a real effect and it may be all you need.
  • Durability matters more than peak warmth. A flat panel across the back of a hand flexes far less than wiring running down four fingers. If the glove is going in and out of a tool pouch all winter, the simpler build lasts longer.
  • You want to spend the money on capacity instead. Element placement and pack size are both ways to buy warmth. Given a fixed budget, a back-of-hand glove on a 22.2 Wh pack may serve you better than a full-finger glove on a 16.3 Wh one.
  • You are going to wear a liner anyway. A full-finger liner inside a back-of-hand glove gets you both, and heated glove liners is the format we recommend most often for exactly that reason.

The trigger-finger version of this question

Hunters ask this differently — they want to know whether the element reaches the index finger, because that is the one coming out of the glove to shoot. The answer across the products here is that two makers state a doubled element in the thumb and index specifically, one states all five fingers, and one says nothing at all.

If that is your question, the thing to check on the listing is not the temperature or the runtime but whether the word "finger" appears in the element description at all. Heated gloves for hunting covers the rest of the stillness problem, and heated gloves for ice fishing covers the wet-handed version of it.

The energy cost of heating four more surfaces

This is the honest argument against full-finger coverage, and it is worth taking seriously. A finger is a thin cylinder with a large surface area relative to its volume, pointed into the air. Heating four of them per hand means asking the same pack to hold temperature across far more surface than a single dorsal panel.

The arithmetic

Watt-hours, and what they buy

Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.

ProductCapacityVoltsEnergyCeiling drawShortest runtimeImplied draw at the claim
WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published)3,000 mAh7.4 V22.2 WhNot publishedNot derivable7.4 Wat 3 h high, 140-149°f
Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves3,400 mAh7 V23.8 WhNot publishedNot derivableNo claim published
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners2,200 mAh7.4 V16.3 WhNot publishedNot derivableNo claim published
TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)3,000 mAh7.4 V22.2 WhNot publishedNot derivable6.3 Wat 3.5 h high, 140-149°f

“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.

None of these makers publish a wattage, so the cost cannot be read directly — but one figure here is suggestive. WASOTO quotes its full-finger GLOVE and its full-hand MITTEN the identical runtime bands on the identical 22.2 Wh pack. A mitten should hold heat better than a glove at equal power, so one of those two numbers is conservative, and WASOTO does not say which. We flag that rather than correcting it.

The recommendation

Full finger, if your fingertips are the complaint. Pay for placement before you pay for a bigger number on the pack, because a pack that holds 36% more energy still cannot heat a surface the element does not reach. The cheapest honest route in is a full-finger heated liner inside a glove you already trust: it costs least, keeps your existing glove's fit and insulation, and puts the element where the numbness is.

If this is a circulation question rather than a cold question, read gloves for Raynaud's before buying anything — the answer there is often a mitten, and sometimes not a heated garment at all.

Questions

Frequently asked

Do heated gloves heat your fingertips?
Some do and most do not. The cheap standard is a flat element across the back of the hand, which warms blood on its way out to the fingers rather than warming the fingers themselves. Full-finger designs continue the element along each finger and cost more. Check the element description on the listing — if it does not mention fingers, assume it stops at the knuckles.
Are full-finger heated gloves worth the extra money?
If your fingertips are what goes numb, yes. The last joint of each finger is the furthest point from your heart with the worst surface-area-to-volume ratio on your body, and no amount of extra battery capacity helps a surface the element does not reach. If your whole hand simply feels cold in still air, a back-of-hand glove on a bigger pack may serve you better.
Why do my heated gloves feel warm on the back of my hand but not my fingers?
Because on most designs that is where the element is. It is not a fault and it is not a dead glove — it is the cheap standard layout working as built. The fix is either a full-finger glove or a full-finger heated liner worn inside the glove you already own.
Which heated gloves have heated fingertips?
Among the products this site has cataloged with placement published by the maker: Gerbing's 7V S7 states "back of hand and along all five fingers", WASOTO states the pad covers "the back of hand and fingers", and SAVIOR HEAT's glove liners state "back of hand and fingers". SAVIOR's 7.4V glove states back of hand with the element doubled in thumb and index only, and TIDEWE does not state placement at all.
Do heated gloves with full-finger elements run out faster?
In principle yes, because the element is holding temperature across far more surface area. In practice none of these makers publish a wattage, so the cost cannot be read off a spec sheet. One maker quotes its full-finger glove and its mitten the same runtimes on the same pack, which cannot be right for both — treat the pessimistic end of any published band as the planning figure.

Sources

Read next