Do heated gloves actually work?
They do, and the two conditions attached decide whether you will be glad you bought them. Both are visible on the listing before you spend anything.
By Scooter M. · Published October 23, 2026
How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

Yes — heated gloves work, provided the glove fits properly and the element reaches your fingers. The format most people should buy first is a thin heated liner worn inside gloves they already own, because it keeps your existing glove's fit and insulation and puts the heat where the numbness is. What heated gloves do not do is run all day: the packs hold 16 to 22 watt-hours a hand, and the advertised hours always describe the lowest setting.
Who each pick is for, in one line
- SAVIOR HEAT glove liners — best first purchase for almost anyone. Goes under gloves you already trust, keeps your dexterity, smallest pack here.
- WASOTO heated gloves — best if you want one glove that does it all, with the energy published: 22.2 Wh a hand, element across the fingers, and the maker prints the arithmetic.
- TIDEWE heated gloves — best for someone who wants to check the claim. Watt-hours plus a temperature AND a runtime for all three settings.
- SAVIOR HEAT heated mittens — best for hands that go numb regardless of what they wear. Warmest shape per watt-hour, and the worst spec sheet on this page.
- Gerbing 7V women's S7 — best for smaller hands that need full-finger heat and real documentation, at several times the price.
The honest version of "do they work"
A heated glove is not a heater. It is a small, steady supply of warmth added to a system that is losing heat, and whether you notice depends entirely on how big the loss is relative to the supply.
The supply is genuinely small. The packs in this category hold between 16.3 and 22.2 watt-hours per hand. For scale, a heated jacket carries 38.5 watt-hours for a torso that is generating its own heat and is already wrapped in insulation. Gloves have less than half the energy for a far harder job, because a finger is a thin cylinder with the worst surface-area-to-volume ratio on your body, sitting at the far end of your circulation, usually pointed into moving air.
So the answer is conditional rather than yes or no, and the two conditions are the ones to check before buying:
- The glove has to fit. A loose heated glove warms the air inside it rather than your hand, and the single most common reason people say heated gloves do not work is that they sized up to leave room and created a dead air gap the element now has to heat. Buy your normal size, and buy a liner if you want to layer.
- The element has to reach your fingers. Most heated gloves place the element across the back of the hand only. It warms blood on its way out to your fingers, which is a real effect and a weaker one than heating the fingers themselves. If your complaint is numb fingertips, full-finger or back-of-hand is the page to read first.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.
| # | Product | Best for | Energy | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove LinersThe most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated … | Keeping the gloves you already own | 16.3 Wh | $119.99View on Amazon |
| 2 | WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published)The fingered version of the same documented platform: 22.2 Wh a hand, an element that runs out along the fingers rathe… | Full-finger heat with the energy figure printed | 22.2 Wh | $109.99View on Amazon |
| 3 | TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperat… | The only heated glove here that publishes watt-hours | 22.2 Wh | $79.99View on Amazon |
| 4 | SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski MittensPhysics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets… | The coldest hands on the list | 16.3 Wh | $129.99View on Amazon |
| 5 | Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated GlovesThe same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glo… | Smaller hands that still want full-finger heat | 23.8 Wh | $245.09View on Amazon |
#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners
The most underrated format in heated apparel: a thin heated liner under your existing work glove beats a bulky heated glove for anyone who has to actually use their hands.
#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand
- Thickness
- Liner — fits inside a work or ski glove
- Touchscreen
- Yes, per the listing
- Heat zones
- Back of hand and fingers
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Hand wash with the battery out
On wattage: No published wattage. Small packs and a small element area, so the runtime spread between settings is wide.
On the pack: Liner packs in this class are 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh. The capacity is stated on the replacement-pack listing rather than on the glove listing.
What we like
- Fits under gloves you already trust, so you keep your grip and your dexterity
- Cheapest route into heated hands by a wide margin
- Packs are small enough to live in a coat pocket
What we do not
- Smallest packs here — about 16 Wh a hand, and the arithmetic on that is unforgiving
- No wind or water protection of their own
- The fit under a tight glove can be a squeeze
Who this suits
Trades workers, photographers, anyone who has to do something with their fingers in the cold.
Who should skip it
You want long runtime. This is the smallest energy budget on the site and it shows.
Spec sources: Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published)
The fingered version of the same documented platform: 22.2 Wh a hand, an element that runs out along the fingers rather than stopping at the knuckles, and the same published arithmetic behind both claims.
The numbers
- Energy
- 22.2 Wh
- Maker's stated energy
- 22.2 Wh per hand — published as "7.4V*3000mAh=22.2Wh"
- Element coverage
- Back of hand and fingers; palm not heated
- Screen use
- Conductive thumb and index finger
- Claims
- Temperature and runtime band for all three settings
- Weather
- Splash-proof and windproof per the maker — no waterproof rating
- Heat zones
- Composite fiber pad across the back of the hand and the fingers, per WASOTO. The palm is explicitly NOT listed as heated.
- Settings
- Three, published with a temperature range for each
- Care
- Not stated by WASOTO
On wattage: Identical claims to the mitten — the same three bands from the same pack — which inverts to roughly 7.4 W high, 5.6 W medium and 3.1 W low at the band midpoints. Worth noticing that WASOTO quotes a GLOVE and a MITTEN the same hours on the same pack. A mitten should hold heat better than a glove at equal power, so one of the two figures is conservative and WASOTO does not say which. We flag it rather than correcting it.
On the pack: The same 7.4 V, 3,000 mAh pack as the mitten, published the same way, with two packs and an 8.4 V dual charger in the box. Buying the glove and the mitten from this line means one charger and interchangeable spares.
What we like
- Full-finger element coverage, which most gloves at this price drop
- 22.2 Wh per hand with the conversion published, not implied
- Conductive thumb and index finger, so a phone does not mean a bare hand
- Two packs and a dual charger in the box
- Shares packs and charger with the WASOTO mitten if you buy both
What we do not
- "Waterproof" appears in the Amazon title and nowhere in WASOTO's own specification, which claims only splash-proof
- Quoted the same runtimes as the brand's mitten on the same pack, which cannot be right for both
- No wattage, no warranty, no washing instructions and no charge time published
- Palm not heated, so a cold steering wheel or handlebar still pulls heat out of the one surface the element does not cover
- Unknown brand with no service record
Who this suits
Someone who needs their fingers and wants the largest documented energy budget rather than the most familiar logo.
Who should skip it
Your cold is wet. This is a splash-proof glove with an aggressive listing title, and the maker's own page is the honest one.

TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included)
TIDEWE publishes the one number the rest of this category withholds — 22.2 Wh per hand — and then publishes a temperature and a runtime for all three settings, which lets you check the claim instead of taking it.
#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 22.2 Wh
- Maker's stated energy
- 22.2 Wh per hand
- Pack
- 7.4 V, two supplied
- Shell
- Seven-layer, 3M insulation, 140 GSM water-resistant coating
- Claims
- All three settings, with temperatures
- Heat zones
- Not specified by TIDEWE beyond the heated glove body
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Not stated by TIDEWE
On wattage: No wattage published, but with three claims and a real watt-hour figure the draw can be inverted three ways instead of guessed once. The high-setting claim implies about 6.3 W per hand at the optimistic end of the range and 8.9 W at the pessimistic end.
On the pack: 22.2 Wh at 7.4 V is 3,000 mAh, one pack per hand. Publishing the figure in watt-hours rather than milliamp-hours is the honest way round, because watt-hours is the number that actually compares across voltages.
What we like
- Publishes energy in watt-hours, which nothing else in this category does
- A temperature AND a runtime for every setting, so the claim can be inverted
- Seven-layer shell with 3M insulation does real work before the element is on
- Two packs in the box rather than one
What we do not
- No wattage published, so the draw is still inferred rather than read
- TIDEWE does not state where the elements sit inside the glove
- No published care instructions
- Bulkier than a liner, which matters if you need to work a trigger or a zip
Who this suits
A hunter or an angler who is stationary in the cold and wants a claim that can be checked.
Who should skip it
You need dexterity more than heat. A liner under your own glove keeps the feel that a shell this thick removes.
Spec sources: TIDEWE — heated hunting gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh, with a temperature and runtime published for all three settings)

SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens
Physics before electronics: fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones, so a mitten gets more warmth out of the same watt-hours than a glove does.
#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 16.3 Wh
- Pack
- 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh
- Capacity conflict
- SAVIOR's own Tech Specs says 3,000 mAh instead
- Coverage
- Full hand including palm, per SAVIOR
- Shell
- Waterproof and windproof; 100D twill with laminated coating
- Format
- Mitten
- Heat zones
- "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" from "Carbon fiber heating elements", with "Added palm heating" as well as the back of the hand, per SAVIOR
- Settings
- Three, published as Low 104-113°F, Medium 122-131°F and High 131-149°F
- Care
- "Hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning", per SAVIOR
On wattage: Not published, and barely derivable — this is the worst-documented product this site recommends first anywhere. SAVIOR's own page gives THREE different runtime sets and TWO different capacities. Taking the hours above against 16.3 Wh gives about 6.5 W high, 2.7 W medium and 2.0 W low; swap in the Tech Specs hours (2-3 / 5-6 / 10-12) or the 3,000 mAh figure and the implied low-setting draw moves between about 1.4 W and 3.7 W. A 2.7x spread, entirely from one manufacturer page.
On the pack: 7.4 V, 2,200 mAh per hand — about 16.3 Wh — which is the figure in SAVIOR's own body copy and matches the replacement-pack listing. SAVIOR's Tech Specs block on the SAME page says "7.4V 3000mAh battery" instead, which would be 22.2 Wh. We use the smaller figure because it is the one two independent sources agree on, and we flag the disagreement rather than averaging it.
What we like
- Mitten geometry keeps fingers warmer at any given power level
- Better for circulation-limited hands than a fingered glove
- Same pack family as the rest of the SAVIOR line
What we do not
- You cannot do anything precise in them
- SAVIOR's own page contradicts itself on capacity (2,200 vs 3,000 mAh) and gives three different runtime sets
- No wattage published, and the runtime conflict makes it hard to derive one
- Getting them on and off around a pole strap is a fiddle
Who this suits
Skiers and anyone whose hands go numb regardless of what they wear.
Who should skip it
You need to hold a tool, a camera or a phone.
Spec sources: Savior Heat — Heated Ski Mittens, the brand's own product page ("Three Adjustable Heating Settings"; "3 heat levels (Low: 104-113°F, Medium:122-131 °F, High: 131- 149°F)"; "Carbon fiber heating elements" with "Full-Hand Heating Coverage" and "Added palm heating helps warm every finger, fingertip, palm, and back of hand"; "Waterproof and windproof materials"; velvet lining and "100D twill fabric with laminated coating" outer; "hand washing is recommended, and the battery should be removed before cleaning"; "Free 1-Year Extended Warranty"; product named "S66E Classic Heated Winter Mittens". THE PAGE CONTRADICTS ITSELF: the body copy says "7.4V 2200mAh rechargeable battery power" while the Tech Specs section says "7.4V 3000mAh battery", and it gives THREE different runtime sets — Heating Performance "High: 149°F / 65°C | Up to 2.5H Runtime", "Medium: 131°F / 55°C | Up to 6H Runtime", "Low: 113°F / 45°C | Up to 8H Runtime"; Tech Specs "High: 2-3 hours", "Medium: 5-6 hours", "Low: 10-12 hours"; and the FAQ "about 2–3 hours on high, 4–5 hours on medium, and 6–10 hours on low") · Amazon — SNOW DEER 7.4V 2200mAh replacement pack

Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves
The same electronics as the men's S7 on a last cut for narrower hands, which matters more than it sounds: a heated glove that fits badly heats air instead of skin.
#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.
The numbers
- Energy
- 23.8 Wh
- Pack
- 7 V, 3,400 mAh per glove
- Sizing
- Women's last, from XS
- Element coverage
- Full finger
- Heat zones
- Back of hand and all five fingers
- Settings
- Three
- Care
- Spot clean
On wattage: No published wattage; capacity and voltage are published.
What we like
- A genuine women's last rather than a shrunk men's glove
- Full-finger element, which the smaller heated gloves usually drop
- Largest published per-hand capacity in its size range
What we do not
- No wattage published
- Expensive
- Still bulky for fine work
Who this suits
Anyone whose hands are too narrow for a men's small, which is a real and badly served group.
Who should skip it
You want dexterity — the liner is the better answer.
Spec sources: Amazon — Gerbing 7V Men's S7 heated gloves (two 7V 3400mAh packs included)
What "up to 8 hours" means in practice
Every maker in this category advertises one runtime figure, and it is always the lowest setting. Where a maker publishes all three — which is rare and worth rewarding — the shape is consistent.
| Glove | Low | Medium | High | Low ÷ high |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WASOTO (22.2 Wh published) | 6.5-8 h | 3.5-4.5 h | 2.5-3.5 h | 2.3x |
| TIDEWE (22.2 Wh published) | 8.5 h | 5 h | 3.5 h | 2.4x |
| SAVIOR HEAT mittens (16.3 Wh) | 8 h | 6 h | 2.5 h | 3.2x |
The headline you see in an advert is the first column. The setting you will use in genuinely cold weather is the third. Treat the advertised figure as roughly two and a half to three times the number you should plan around.
Watt-hours, and what they buy
Energy is capacity times nominal voltage. The ceiling draw is the pack’s own published output current times its voltage. The implied draw runs the maker’s advertised hours backwards. Nothing here is measured — check our working.
| Product | Capacity | Volts | Energy | Ceiling draw | Shortest runtime | Implied draw at the claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | No claim published |
| WASOTO Heated Gloves (7.4 V, 22.2 Wh published) | 3,000 mAh | 7.4 V | 22.2 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 7.4 Wat 3 h high, 140-149°f |
| TIDEWE Heated Hunting Gloves (two packs included) | 3,000 mAh | 7.4 V | 22.2 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 6.3 Wat 3.5 h high, 140-149°f |
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Ski Mittens | 2,200 mAh | 7.4 V | 16.3 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | 6.5 Wat 2.5 h high, 149°f / 65°c |
| Gerbing 7V Women's S7 Heated Gloves | 3,400 mAh | 7 V | 23.8 Wh | Not published | Not derivable | No claim published |
“Not derivable” means the manufacturer does not publish the figure the sum needs. We leave it blank rather than estimating it, borrowing a number from a similar model, or rounding one into existence. These are ceilings, not promises: cold, wind, movement and pack age all push real runtime below them. Run your own numbers.
Inverting WASOTO's own bands against its own published 22.2 Wh gives roughly 7.4 watts on high, 5.6 on medium and 3.1 on low. Three watts is a nightlight. That is the scale of what a heated glove is actually supplying, and it is also why the fit and the element placement matter so much: with that little power on offer, you cannot afford to spend any of it heating air or heating the wrong part of your hand.
When heated gloves are clearly worth it
- Stationary cold with a dexterity requirement. A hide, a touchline, a camera, a job site. You are not generating heat, and you need your fingers, so taking the gloves off is not an option — which is exactly when a liner that never comes off earns its money.
- Moving air. Motorcycling and snowmobiling are the use cases heated gloves suit best and drain fastest, because the element is fighting continuous convection rather than still cold.
- Wet hands. Ice fishing is the one case where water, not air temperature, is the problem — and where the shell matters more than the battery.
- Hands that go cold out of proportion to the weather. If your hands are the complaint rather than your body, the money is better spent here than on a jacket. Read the Raynaud's page first if there is a diagnosis involved.
When they are not the right purchase
- You are cold all over. Warm the core first. Your body deliberately restricts blood flow to the extremities to protect core temperature, so a heated vest improves your hands indirectly — and it is the best value in the whole category.
- A few cold days a year. Disposable hand warmers cost a fraction and need no charging. Heated socks versus toe warmers runs the same break-even arithmetic for feet, and it transfers.
- You want all-day heat on high. No 22 watt-hour pack delivers that and none of them claim to. Two spare packs or a wired 12 V setup are the only real answers.
- Your feet are colder than your hands. Usually the case for anyone sitting still outdoors. Heated socks is the better first purchase then.
What we would skip, and why
- Any heated glove bought to replace a glove that fits you well
- This is the most common way people end up disappointed. A heated glove that is slightly too big heats air instead of your hand, and nothing about the electronics compensates. If you already own gloves that fit and insulate, a thin heated liner worn inside them outperforms a new heated glove and costs less.
- A heated glove with no published pack capacity, if runtime matters to you
- You cannot plan a day around a number nobody will give you. Several gloves publish a maximum temperature and a runtime and never state the capacity behind either, which makes both figures unfalsifiable. They may be fine gloves; they are not comparable ones.
- Expecting the advertised hours at the temperature you will actually use
- Every headline runtime figure in this category describes the lowest setting. Across the gloves here, the high setting is consistently about a third of the low-setting claim. That is not deception so much as selective quotation, and it is universal, so read the low figure as the number and divide by three for the setting you will use in real cold.
- Heated gloves as a treatment for a circulation condition
- We are not qualified to tell you whether a heated glove helps Raynaud's, arthritis or neuropathy, and we will not. Gloves for Raynaud's sets out what the published clinical guidance actually says about warming the hands and refers the medical questions to a doctor, which is where they belong.
Our criteria, and what we did not do
- Published pack capacity AND voltage required, converted at nominal voltage. No capacity means no watt-hours and no place on a comparison.
- Element placement ranked next, because an element that stops at the knuckles cannot heat the fingertips that go numb.
- Per-setting runtime claims preferred over a single figure, since one number is always the low setting.
- Fit and dexterity weighted heavily, because a glove you take off is worth nothing.
- Spare-pack availability, since the pack fails long before the glove does.
- We have not worn any of these. How we work.
We have not worn, tested or owned any of these products, and we say so on every page rather than in a footer. What we do instead is compile the published specifications and do the arithmetic. The full method.
The recommendation
Start with a thin full-finger liner inside gloves you already own and trust. It is the cheapest entry, it keeps the fit and insulation you have already paid for, it puts the element where your fingers are, and it never has to come off to do anything. If you need one glove that does everything, buy the largest published pack you can find with the element stated to run along the fingers — and buy a spare pack at the same time, because the pack is what fails first in this category.
Frequently asked
- Do heated gloves actually work?
- Yes, with two conditions: the glove has to fit properly, because a loose one heats air rather than your hand, and the element has to reach your fingers, because most designs stop at the knuckles. Expect a steady few watts of warmth rather than a heater — the packs hold 16 to 22 watt-hours a hand, which is less than half what a heated jacket carries.
- Are heated gloves worth the money?
- For stationary cold where you need your fingers, or for moving air like riding and sledding, yes. For a handful of cold days a year, disposable hand warmers cost a fraction and need no charging. And if you are cold all over rather than specifically in the hands, a heated vest is better value and helps your hands indirectly.
- Why don't my heated gloves feel hot?
- Three usual causes. The glove is too big, so the element is heating a dead air gap instead of your skin. The element is back-of-hand only, so your fingertips never get direct heat. Or the pack is cold — lithium delivers less when chilled, which is why a spare kept in an inside pocket performs better than one in an outside one.
- How long do heated gloves last on one charge?
- The advertised figure is always the lowest setting. Across the gloves whose makers publish all three settings, the high setting runs about two and a half to three times shorter than the low one — so an "up to 8 hours" glove is roughly three hours at the temperature you will want in real cold. Plan on a spare pack for a full day.
- Are heated glove liners better than heated gloves?
- For anyone who needs their fingers, usually yes. A liner adds heat to a glove you already trust, so you keep its insulation, its fit and your dexterity, and it never has to come off. For stationary hard cold with no dexterity requirement, a heated mitten is warmer because fingers sharing one chamber lose less heat than fingers in separate ones.
- Do cheap heated gloves work as well as expensive ones?
- Price tracks documentation more reliably than it tracks warmth. One of the best-documented options on this site is an unknown brand that publishes its watt-hour conversion as arithmetic, while several established names publish a temperature and nothing to check it against. Compare the published capacity, the voltage and the element placement — not the price.
Sources
- WASOTO — WG001 Classic Heated Gloves: "7.4V*3000mAh=22.2Wh" with three temperature ranges and "High level: 2.5-3.5h; medium level:3.5-4.5h; low level:6.5-8h"
- TIDEWE — heated hunting gloves (22.2 Wh per hand, with a temperature and a runtime for all three settings)
- Savior Heat — Heated Ski Mittens product page (three settings with temperatures, and three mutually inconsistent runtime sets on the same page)
Related

Guides
The questions the product pages do not answer: sizing, zones, safety, washing, cost.

Heated Gloves
The smallest packs in heated apparel, fighting the worst heat loss on the body. Liners are the underrated answer.

Heated glove liners: less battery, more useful
The smallest packs on the site in the format most likely to still be on your hands at the end of the day.

Full-finger heating or back-of-hand only?
The biggest difference between two heated gloves that look identical, and the one almost nobody puts in the headline spec. Which products run the element out along the fingers.

Heated gloves or heated mittens?
One maker's gloves against its own mittens, same voltage and same pack, so the only variable is the shape. Mittens win on warmth, gloves win on getting worn.

Are heated vests and heated socks worth it?
Same question, opposite answers. A vest is the best value in heated clothing; socks are the most situational thing we cover. How to tell which you are.

Gloves for Raynaud's, sorted by what the guidance says
What rheumatology and clinical guidance actually says about gloves for Raynaud's — mittens, liners, warmers, compression — then the heated picks for when layers are not enough.

Heated gloves for ice fishing, where your hands get wet on purpose
The one use case where your hands get wet on purpose. Which heated gloves state a waterproof claim, which publish their watt-hours, and the hinge that solves re-tying.