Skip to content
Volt Wool
Review

DEWALT DCHJ076 heated jacket: the largest energy ceiling in the category, and no runtime figure anywhere

Five zones including both arms, a duck canvas shell built for a job site, and a battery you can scale to more than twice what any consumer heated jacket ships with. DEWALT then declines to tell you how fast it drains.

By Scooter M. · Published October 23, 2026

How this is funded: buy links here are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect what we recommend, and we take no free product and no sponsorship. Read the disclosure.

DEWALT DCHJ076A Heated Coat Kit (3XL)

Buy the DEWALT DCHJ076 if you already own 20V MAX batteries and work outside in real cold — a 5.0 Ah pack holds about 90 watt-hours against the 38.5 Wh a mainstream heated jacket ships with, and no other garment on this site can be scaled that far. Do not buy it expecting to know what you are getting: DEWALT publishes no wattage, no per-setting runtime, and not even an amp-hour rating for the pack in the kit.

The verdict in one table

What DEWALT publishes, and what it does not
DEWALT DCHJ076
Heat zonesFive — left chest, right chest, both arms, mid-back. Published.
SettingsThree, plus a preheat function, on an LED chest controller. Published.
Battery platform20V MAX. Published, with the nominal voltage stated in a footnote.
Pack in the kitA compact pack and charger are included; the amp-hour rating is not stated on the product page.
Energy available36 Wh on a 2.0 Ah pack, up to about 90 Wh on a 5.0 Ah — the widest range on this site.
WattageNot published.
RuntimeNot published, at any setting.
ShellWater- and wind-resistant duck fabric, fleece polyester lining. Published.
CareNot published. No washing instruction appears on the page.
Warranty1 Year Limited Warranty on the garment. Published.

Re-read on 2026-10-23. The five-zone layout and the setting count are better disclosure than most of this category manages. The two blank rows in the middle are the ones that decide a purchase.

Verdict first

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up below. The energy column is the pack’s capacity times its voltage — the number this category does not print.

#ProductBest forEnergyPrice
1
DEWALT DCHJ076A Heated Coat Kit (3XL)
DEWALT DCHJ076A Heated Coat Kit (3XL)The only garment here whose pack is a tool battery, which means the energy ceiling is not the jacket but whatever you …
The largest energy budget in extended sizes36.0 Wh$264.99View on Amazon
2
DEWALT DCHJ092 Women's Heavy Duty Ripstop Heated Jacket Kit
DEWALT DCHJ092 Women's Heavy Duty Ripstop Heated Jacket KitA ripstop canvas shell over Sherpa fleece, sold as a complete kit, and — when we checked the whole DEWALT women's heat…
The only women's cut DEWALT still has in stock—$235.93View on Amazon
3
DEWALT DCHV095 Men's Heated Puffer Vest Kit
DEWALT DCHV095 Men's Heated Puffer Vest KitVest, battery, charger and adapter in one box — and a product page that publishes three settings, a shell fabric and a…
A complete kit, with the least published about it—$187.99View on Amazon
4
DEWALT DCHJ067B 20V MAX Heated Hoodie (hoodie only)
DEWALT DCHJ067B 20V MAX Heated Hoodie (hoodie only)The only garment in DEWALT's current heated line that publishes a runtime and the battery it was measured on — which m…
The one DEWALT garment whose claim names its pack27.0 Wh$108.25View on Amazon
5
Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because…
Anyone already on M1221.6 Wh$219.99View on Amazon

#ad — buy links are tagged and earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices come from a live feed; where none is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind. How we are funded.

DEWALT DCHJ076A Heated Coat Kit (3XL)
#1 · The largest energy budget in extended sizes

DEWALT DCHJ076A Heated Coat Kit (3XL)

The only garment here whose pack is a tool battery, which means the energy ceiling is not the jacket but whatever you are willing to buy: a 5.0 Ah 20V MAX holds 90 Wh against the 38.5 Wh most heated jackets ship with.

$264.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
36.0 Wh
Sizes
This listing is the 3XL
Pack
20V MAX, 18 V nominal — kit ships 2.0 Ah
Shell
Water- and wind-resistant duck canvas
Zones
Five, including both arms
Heat zones
Left chest, right chest, both arms and mid-back, per DEWALT
Settings
Three, plus a preheat function
Care
Not stated by DEWALT on the kit page

On wattage: DEWALT publishes no draw figure and no per-setting runtime on the kit page, so nothing here can be inverted. What it does publish is the zone layout and the setting count, which is more than most.

On the pack: The kit ships the compact 2.0 Ah pack. The jacket takes any 20V MAX pack, so the ceiling is whatever you already own — a 5.0 Ah holds 90 Wh, against 38.5 Wh for the 5,200 mAh pack most heated jackets ship with, and it is still inside the FAA carry-on threshold.

What we like

  • Five zones including the arms, which most jackets at any price leave unheated
  • Runs on a platform where a 90 Wh pack is an ordinary shelf item
  • Duck canvas shell that survives a worksite rather than a commute
  • Battery and charger are in the box, so there is no second purchase

What we do not

  • No published wattage and no per-setting runtime, so the draw cannot be derived
  • The 2.0 Ah pack in the kit holds 36 Wh — respectable, but the appeal is the packs you add later
  • Heavy. This is a work coat with a tool battery in the pocket, not a layer
  • DEWALT does not publish washing instructions on the kit page

Who this suits

Someone in an extended size who already owns 20V MAX packs, or who wants the option of a 90 Wh pack rather than a 38 Wh one.

Who should skip it

You do not own the platform and do not want to. Bought outright, the pack-and-charger premium is real and a consumer jacket costs less.

Spec sources: DEWALT — Heavy Duty Tobacco Heated Work Jacket Kit (five heating zones, three temperature settings plus preheat, 1-year limited warranty) · DEWALT — 20V MAX 2.0 Ah battery (DCB203)

DEWALT DCHJ092 Women's Heavy Duty Ripstop Heated Jacket Kit
#2 · The only women's cut DEWALT still has in stock

DEWALT DCHJ092 Women's Heavy Duty Ripstop Heated Jacket Kit

A ripstop canvas shell over Sherpa fleece, sold as a complete kit, and — when we checked the whole DEWALT women's heated range — the only one of fifteen listings that was actually purchasable.

$235.93View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

In the box
Jacket, 20V battery, charger and DCB092 USB adapter
Battery capacity
Not stated
Zones
Three, placement not stated
Sizes
XS to 2X per the licensee listing
Heat zones
Three zones; placement not published by DEWALT's licensee or the retail listing
Settings
Three temperature settings with a pre-heat function, per DEWALT's licensee
Care
Not published

On wattage: No runtime is published for this garment. DEWALT's licensee quotes "up to nine hours of core body warmth" against a 20V MAX XR 2.0 Ah pack as a LINE-level figure, not a figure for this jacket — at 36 Wh that would imply about 4 W, but we are not going to attach a line-wide claim to a specific garment. Three zones and three settings are the only specifications stated consistently.

On the pack: The kit includes a DEWALT 20V battery, a charger and the DCB092 USB power adapter. Neither DEWALT's heated-apparel licensee nor the retail listing states the capacity of the pack in the box, and the jacket runs on any 20V MAX pack, so no energy figure is assumed here. For reference, a 20V MAX 2.0 Ah is 36 Wh at the 18 V nominal DEWALT prints on its own packaging.

What we like

  • A genuine women's cut, which the tool-platform side of this category almost never offers
  • Complete kit — battery, charger and the DCB092 USB adapter in the box
  • Ripstop canvas over Sherpa fleece is a harder-wearing shell than the quilted women's jackets DEWALT has discontinued
  • Takes any 20V MAX pack, so an existing DEWALT owner already has spares

What we do not

  • No runtime, no pack capacity and no zone placement published for this garment
  • No care instructions published
  • The most expensive women's garment on this page, and DEWALT's cheaper women's models are all out of stock
  • DEWALT's own current catalog lists other women's models (DCHJ077, DCHJ084, DCHJ102) that we could not find purchasable — this line moves in and out of stock quickly

Who this suits

A woman already on 20V MAX, or anyone whose shoulders a men's small does not fit.

Who should skip it

You own no DEWALT tools. Buying into a tool platform for a single jacket is the most expensive route into heated clothing there is.

Spec sources: Radians — DEWALT Women's Heavy Duty Ripstop Heated Jacket, Kitted (DEWALT's heated-apparel licensee; three heat zones and three temperature settings; ripstop outer shell with Sherpa fleece lining; kit includes a DEWALT 20V battery, charger and the DCB092 USB power adapter; sizes XS, S, M, L, XL and 2X; zone placement not published) · Radians — DEWALT heated jackets knowledge base ("3 temperature settings with pre-heat function" across the line; "up to nine hours of core body warmth and continuous heat" quoted against a "DEWALT® 20V MAX XR 2.0 Ah battery"; no per-garment runtime and no zone placement published) · Amazon — DEWALT DCHJ092 Women's Heated Jacket Kit, Battery, Charger and Adapter

DEWALT DCHV095 Men's Heated Puffer Vest Kit
#3 · A complete kit, with the least published about it

DEWALT DCHV095 Men's Heated Puffer Vest Kit

Vest, battery, charger and adapter in one box — and a product page that publishes three settings, a shell fabric and a 90-day warranty, and not one figure you could check.

$187.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

In the box
Vest, 20V MAX battery, charger and adapter
Battery capacity
Not stated
Shell
Quilted polyester, wind-resistant, water-repellent
Warranty
90 days
Heat zones
Not stated by DEWALT on the product page
Settings
Three, per DEWALT
Care
Not stated by DEWALT on the product page

On wattage: DEWALT publishes neither a runtime nor a pack capacity for this vest on its own product page, so nothing can be inverted. Retailers circulate a nine-hour figure; DEWALT does not, and we have not borrowed it.

On the pack: The kit page lists a DEWALT battery, charger and adapter and never states the battery's capacity. The vest takes any 20V MAX pack, so we will not assume which one is in the box — which means there is no energy figure here, by DEWALT's choice rather than ours.

What we like

  • Everything in one box, so there is no platform to join first
  • Zips into DEWALT's DRW21-3 rain jacket for a hi-vis heated system, per DEWALT
  • Waterproof zippered pockets, which the older garments in the line do not have

What we do not

  • No zone count, no runtime and no pack capacity published — the least documented garment on this page
  • A 90-day warranty against 1 year on DEWALT's own hoodie and coat
  • No care instructions published
  • Puffer bulk, which is the wrong trade under a work coat

Who this suits

Someone who wants a DEWALT-branded vest as an outer layer and would rather buy one box than assemble a kit.

Who should skip it

You want to know what you are buying in energy terms. On this product page that is not knowable, and the hoodie on this page is the DEWALT garment that tells you.

Spec sources: DEWALT — Men's Heated Puffer Vest kit DCHV095BD1 (three settings; kit contents; 90-day limited warranty)

DEWALT DCHJ067B 20V MAX Heated Hoodie (hoodie only)
#4 · The one DEWALT garment whose claim names its pack

DEWALT DCHJ067B 20V MAX Heated Hoodie (hoodie only)

The only garment in DEWALT's current heated line that publishes a runtime and the battery it was measured on — which makes it the one you can actually check, and the cheapest way onto the platform.

$108.25View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
27.0 Wh
In the box
Hoodie and USB adapter — no battery, no charger
Zones
Three — upper chest and mid-back
Maker's runtime claim
Up to 7 h on low, on the named 1.5 Ah pack
Implied draw on that pack
About 3.9 W on low
Heat zones
Upper left chest, upper right chest and mid-back, per DEWALT
Settings
Three, plus a preheat function
Care
Not stated by DEWALT on the product page

On wattage: No wattage published, but the claim can be inverted because DEWALT names the pack: 27 Wh over 7 hours is about 3.9 W on low. That is higher than the 2.7 W Milwaukee's hoodie implies on its own low-setting claim — a smaller pack and a shorter claim that still lands on more draw, which is worth knowing before assuming DEWALT's bigger batteries mean longer days.

On the pack: Sold bare: the hoodie and DEWALT's DCB091 USB adapter, no battery, no charger. It takes any 20V MAX or 12V MAX pack. The 1.5 Ah compact shown here is the pack DEWALT's own runtime claim names, so it is the one the arithmetic uses.

What we like

  • The runtime claim names its battery, which nothing else in DEWALT's heated line does
  • Takes 12V MAX packs as well as 20V MAX, which no other garment here does
  • The cheapest entry to the platform, and a hoodie you can wear off site
  • Sizes S to 3XL documented on DEWALT's own page

What we do not

  • No battery and no charger in the box — a bare garment is the start of a bill if you own neither
  • Only the low setting has a published runtime; medium and high are unstated
  • Cotton-blend hoodie shell, so no real wind or water resistance
  • No care instructions published

Who this suits

Someone already on 20V MAX or 12V MAX who wants heat in a hoodie rather than a work coat.

Who should skip it

You do not own DEWALT packs. Bought bare, the pack and charger cost more than the garment.

Spec sources: DEWALT — 20V MAX heated hoodie DCHJ067B (three core zones; up to 7 hours on low using the 20V MAX compact 1.5 Ah battery; 1-year limited warranty) · DEWALT — 20V MAX 1.5 Ah compact battery (DCB201)

Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)
#5 · Anyone already on M12

Milwaukee M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL Jacket (204B-20)

Built like site clothing rather than outerwear, and the only jacket here whose battery you can swap in seconds because you already own four of them.

$219.99View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. How we are funded.

The numbers

Energy
21.6 Wh
Pack
M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0, 2.0 Ah
Voltage used here
10.8 V nominal (marketed as 12 V)
Heat zones
3
Maker's runtime claim
12 h low / 6 h medium / 3 h high
Heat zones
Chest, back and hand pockets
Settings
Three, plus a preheat cycle
Care
Machine washable with the battery removed

On wattage: Milwaukee publishes run-time, not watts — but it publishes all three settings, which is more than most of this category manages. The 12/6/3 pattern is a clean doubling of draw at each step. Milwaukee does not state which M12 pack those hours assume, so the resulting wattage is a shape rather than a fixed figure.

On the pack: Sold bare. The live listing title reads "Jacket Only" — no pack and no charger in the box. That is the right buy if you already run M12 and the wrong one if you do not. See [which garments include a battery](/battery/battery-included-or-separate).

What we like

  • Hot-swappable packs — the only real answer to a short runtime is a second battery, and you already have one
  • Genuinely durable shell fabric, built for work rather than for a catalog photo
  • The pack doubles as a tool battery, so nothing in the van is single-purpose

What we do not

  • The 2.0 Ah pack is small by heated-apparel standards once you convert it honestly
  • Jacket-only SKUs ship without a battery, which is easy to miss at checkout
  • Heavier than a soft-shell layer

Who this suits

A trades worker with an M12 kit already in the van, for whom a spare pack costs nothing extra to carry.

Who should skip it

You own no M12 tools. Buying into a tool platform for one jacket is the most expensive route into heated clothing.

Spec sources: Milwaukee Tool — M12 REDLITHIUM CP2.0 battery, 12V 2.0Ah · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated Jacket Kit (up to 8 hours on the REDLITHIUM 2.0) · Milwaukee Tool — M12 Heated TOUGHSHELL jacket kit

The one number DEWALT gets right, and nobody thanks it for

US lithium tool packs are labeled at peak charge voltage rather than nominal voltage. "20V MAX" is an 18 V battery; Milwaukee's "M12" is 10.8 V. Using the label voltage to work out watt-hours overstates the energy by about 11% for DEWALT and 11% for Milwaukee, and almost every article written about heated tool-platform jackets does exactly that.

DEWALT publishes the correction itself. In a footnote on both the jacket page and the battery page: *"Maximum initial battery voltage (measured without a workload) is 20 volts. Nominal voltage is 18."* That is the honest figure, stated plainly, by the company with the commercial incentive to leave the bigger number unqualified. It belongs on the credit side of the ledger.

Worked example

DEWALT DCHJ076A Heated Coat Kit (3XL)

Energy in the pack
(2,000 mAh ÷ 1000) × 18 V = 36.0 Wh
Most the pack can deliver
Not published — no output current stated, so the ceiling cannot be computed.
The draw at the advertised runtime
No runtime claim published for this product, so there is nothing to invert.

Source for the pack figures: DEWALT — 20V MAX 2.0 Ah battery (DCB203).

So the kit's compact pack holds about 36 watt-hours — slightly less than the 38.5 Wh a standard 7.4 V consumer apparel pack holds, which surprises people who assume a tool battery must be bigger. The appeal is not the pack in the box. It is that the next pack up the shelf is a 5.0 Ah at roughly 90 Wh, and the one after that is larger still.

Why the missing runtime matters more here than elsewhere

Most of this category publishes a runtime and hides the capacity. DEWALT does the reverse: the platform makes the capacity completely knowable — you can read it off whichever pack you own — and then publishes no draw figure and no hours to invert.

That is a strange place to end up, because it means the one thing a buyer can calculate is the thing that varies, and the one thing that is fixed is the thing DEWALT will not state. Milwaukee, its closest competitor, publishes a runtime for all three settings on every garment in its heated line — which is how this site's Milwaukee page can invert the whole range and DEWALT's cannot.

What we can bound rather than derive: five zones is the most on any jacket this site covers, and more zones at the same temperature target means more total element area drawing power. Across the garments here where a draw IS derivable, a three-zone torso garment implies roughly 2.7 to 4.9 watts on low and somewhere near 12 to 18 watts at the ceiling. A five-zone jacket with heated sleeves is not going to be at the bottom of that range. On a 36 Wh kit pack, a mid-range draw is a morning, not a shift.

Five zones, two of them in your arms

Heated sleeves are rare and this is one of the few garments at any price that has them. Whether that is an advantage depends entirely on what you are doing, and it is worth being specific rather than treating zone count as a score.

  • If you are moving — carrying, climbing, swinging something — your arms are generating their own heat and two of your five zones are being spent on the part of you that needs it least.
  • If you are standing still with your hands out — directing traffic, holding a sign, operating a control panel in the open — sleeve heating is reaching a surface a vest cannot, and it is the reason to choose this over the cheaper puffer vest in the same line.
  • If your complaint is cold hands, note that heated sleeves stop at the wrist. Warming the forearm does warm the blood heading for your fingers, which is a real effect and a weaker one than heated gloves delivering heat at the hand.
  • Zone count is not a warmth rating. Heating zones explained works through which zones are worth the energy they cost, and the answer is consistently that the core ones are.

The shell is the half of this jacket nobody converts

Every figure above is about electricity, and on a work jacket the fabric is doing more of the job than the battery is. DEWALT publishes a water- and wind-resistant duck canvas outer with a fleece polyester lining, which is a genuine work-garment specification rather than a catalog adjective — duck canvas is what workwear has been made of for a century because it survives being dragged across things.

Two consequences. The first is favorable: wind resistance is part of the heating system, because the element is fighting heat loss and a shell that blocks convection reduces the loss it has to replace. The second is not: this is a heavy coat. It is a work jacket with a tool battery in a pocket, not a layer, and the vest format gets more out of the same energy for most people most of the time.

DEWALT publishes no washing instruction anywhere on the kit page, which on a canvas work garment that is going to get filthy is a real omission. Washing heated clothing covers the general rules — battery out, cold, gentle, never the dryer unless the maker says so — but the general rules are not a substitute for the maker's.

DEWALT or Milwaukee

Mostly: whichever platform you already own, because the entire advantage of a tool-battery garment is that charged spares are already in your van. Buying into a platform for a jacket is an expensive way to get a jacket.

On the merits, though, the two brands have swapped strengths. DEWALT gives you more zones, heated sleeves, the bigger energy ceiling and no runtime disclosure at all. Milwaukee gives you three zones, a smaller pack class — 10.8 V nominal means an M12 2.0 Ah is 21.6 Wh against 36 for the DEWALT equivalent — and a published runtime for every setting on every garment. M12 or 20V MAX runs the comparison properly.

What we would skip, and why

  • Buying this if you do not own 20V MAX packs. The pack-and-charger premium is real and a consumer jacket on a 38.5 Wh pack costs materially less for a similar amount of heat.
  • Assuming the kit pack is the experience. At 36 Wh the included compact pack is in the same class as a consumer apparel battery. The reason to be on this platform is the 5.0 Ah you buy later.
  • Reading five zones as 67% more warmth than three. More element area at the same temperature target means more draw, on a jacket whose draw is not published. More zones is more coverage, not more heat.
  • Treating it as a layer. This is outerwear. If you want the heated garment under a coat you already own, the same line's vest is the right shape and heated vests for work covers the argument.

Who should buy it

Someone already on 20V MAX who works outdoors in cold that lasts all day, wants a shell that survives a job site, and is willing to solve the runtime question by owning four batteries rather than by reading a spec sheet. On that buyer's terms it is the strongest thing in this category, because the energy ceiling is not set by the garment at all.

Anyone who wants to know what they are buying before they buy it should look at Milwaukee's line, which publishes hours for every setting, or at Fieldsheer, which has the most complete garment spec sheet this site has converted.

Questions

Frequently asked

How long does a DEWALT heated jacket last on a battery?
DEWALT does not publish a runtime for any setting, so there is no honest figure to give you. What is knowable is the energy: a 20V MAX 2.0 Ah pack is about 36 watt-hours at the 18 V nominal voltage DEWALT itself states, and a 5.0 Ah is about 90. Without a published draw those cannot be turned into hours, and we will not estimate one.
Is the DEWALT heated jacket 20V or 18V?
Both, correctly understood. DEWALT's own footnote reads "Maximum initial battery voltage (measured without a workload) is 20 volts. Nominal voltage is 18." The 18 V figure is the one to do arithmetic with — using 20 V overstates the watt-hours by about 11%.
Does the DEWALT heated jacket kit include a battery?
Yes — the kit ships with a pack and a charger, which is why it costs more than the bare jacket. DEWALT does not state the pack's amp-hour rating on the product page; the kits in this line are built around a compact pack, which is roughly 36 watt-hours at 2.0 Ah.
Can you wash a DEWALT heated jacket?
DEWALT publishes no washing instructions on the kit page, which means we cannot tell you what it permits. The general rules for heated apparel are battery out, cold water, gentle cycle and no dryer unless the maker specifically allows it — but on a canvas work coat that will get genuinely dirty, the absence of a stated instruction is a real gap.
Does the DEWALT heated jacket heat the sleeves?
Yes. It is one of the few heated jackets at any price with heated arms — five zones at left chest, right chest, both arms and mid-back. Whether that helps depends on what you are doing: if your arms are moving they are generating their own heat, and two of your five zones are being spent where they are needed least.
DEWALT or Milwaukee heated jacket?
Whichever platform you already own, nearly always. On the merits DEWALT gives more zones, heated sleeves and a far bigger energy ceiling (90 Wh on a 5.0 Ah pack against 21.6 Wh on an M12 2.0 Ah), while Milwaukee publishes a runtime for every setting on every garment and DEWALT publishes none.

Sources

Read next